The Brave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Brave Reviews

Page 3 of 24
February 3, 2011
I have only seen this movie twice and am making a point of not watching it again unless absolutely necessary, or at least after a few months at a time. It is a beautiful story but also rathe tragic if you've read the book already and know what it's about. The ending to this movie however is much easier on the stomach. But the tears still flow like there's no tomorrow.
½ November 6, 2009
Yes, Iggy Pop can be spotted chomping on a giant turkey leg in this film.
December 27, 2010
the director of this movie is johnny depp.....it is vry different movie of johnny depp.....bt i like thiz movie
½ December 12, 2010
The main thing you notice is just how much the director (Mr J Depp) is clearly in love with his main actor (Mr J Depp) - there's a LOT of lingering shots of him looking broody amidst the junkyard shanty town in which his character lives. Which is fine - though also the pace drags a bit and the plot is ultimately pretty bleak. Mr M Brando has five minutes and as usual delivers a turn which is either brilliant or laughable, though I did enjoy the sinister henchman (Marshall Bell - the guy you get when you can't get Dennis Hopper!). For hardcore Deppheads only.
½ December 7, 2010
The film starts with some promise, a Kafkaesque proposition made by an inflated and scenery chewing Brando but then the films dark David Lynch like moments get lost in a 'poor but decent' people run of the mill story line. Running at over two hours the film has more flab than Brando and itâ(TM)s at least half an hour longer than it should be. I'm left wondering what Depp could have accomplished with his directorial debut if he'd been a bit more selective in the cut.
September 23, 2010
I will never see it again, but i thought it was brilliant. It stays with you and makes you think.
September 1, 2010
It was slow at times, but Johnny Depp was really good. Brando of course sucked, because he got bad in his old age. Still was quite interesting.
½ August 15, 2010
Johnnyn kannattaa jatkaa vaan näyttelemistä =D mut ei tämmösissä leffoissa
½ November 13, 2009
watching depp's film is one of my whims and caprices so i decided to watch this..
Depp as a director of this film as well as the protagonist.
a heartbreaking story of a desperate man who sacrificed himself for the sake of his family's future. ( he will be paid for being tortured and killed )
a preposterous story over money and poverty. very realistic.
because of this ilove him morrreee...
April 27, 2010
No guts . No glory. Hoot Hoot!!!
½ April 20, 2010
Wow is this one unrelentlingly weird. I mean even by my standards it's weird. It's also massively flawed with a good movie burried in there. Too bad it's one step foward two steps back. It's interesting though. Especially since it's an elaborate Jesus metaphor yet seems determined to deny it at each step. Think of it as the left-wing version of the overly fleshy Clint Eastwood Jesus of Gran Torino. I can't recommend it but I wouldn't stop you from wathcing it.
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2007
An early film starring and directed by Johnny Depp. It's a rather slow tale about the length someone is prepared to go to give their family a better life. Starring Marlon Brando as well briefly it's an interesting tale but the film is too long. There aren't many scenes that stand out either and it kinda feels like a made for TV film. For Johnny's die hard fans only really.
July 28, 2006
Johnny Depp also directed this!! Yay!!
January 2, 2010
This movie stays very true to the book and is one of those movies that seems to stick with you long after it is over. It is very hard to find on dvd as it was never released in the US and copies are hard to come by.
December 29, 2009
Just bourght it off HMV!
SO can't wait to watch it
March 11, 2009
Good thing Depp didn't continue do direct films as this film could have portrayed its message more effectively. Depp as an actor was good as always, but the character could have been made more interesting rather than a loser with a few strong and understandable ideals. Meh, in the end it was just an average drama with good acting.
½ December 10, 2009
not bad, talking about a man is very poor, but sell his body( coz he need to die) to excahnge his family $ & happy. He's brave, but does it mean he loves his family ? anyway, johnny really a fashion legend, even nowaday, the dress of the role still very modern..
November 7, 2009
Great soundtrack. Deep and dark.
October 25, 2009
El final es malísimo, le resté una estrella por eso (?)
June 4, 2008
Johnny Depp directed this himself. It was great!
Page 3 of 24