Always

Always

64%
  • Always
    2 minutes 4 seconds
    Added: May 9, 2008

Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Always Reviews

Page 1 of 35
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

December 16, 2013
You can see where Spielberg got his inspiration from, classics like A Guy named Joe and A Matter Of Life And Death spring to mind. Great films probably ready for a reprisal at that point but unfortunately it is Spielberg's heavy handedness that really takes away a lot of the enjoyment. It's so sentimental and sickly sweet that you actually give up caring. It's as if the aim to entertain was forgotten in the ambition to pull at the heartstrings, I wonder if this was intended as Oscar fodder following The Color Purple and Empire of the Sun missing out both times. The effects are good and the characters are likable but the script and story are just pap. Spielberg hasn't quite learn't his lesson I feel.
Jens S

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2006
Undeservedly somewhat forgotten Spielberg film that still has many wonders to offer, telling a great love story from beyond the grave. The great director's trademarks are there. Hints of the adventure film, great cinematography and just this certain feeling 1980s films can give you, maybe for the last time in a Spielberg film right here. Maybe a tad sappy at times, but with quite a few really memorable and touching scenes.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2011
This is Spielberg at his most Capra-esque. This is perhaps Spielberg's least well known feature, but that is, perhaps, because it's unfortunately not all that memorable.

As far as story goes, it is, in broad terms, Ghost a year before it came out. An aerial firefighter dies saving his best friend, but has to help his friends and lover move on before he can cross over. Very sentimental fantasy type stuff, but it is Spielberg, after all.

The film is a bit too long, and the script could be more compelling, but I actually liked this film (for the most part), which is why it's close to a pass, even if it doesn't quite earn it. Maybe I'm being kind because perhaps Spielberg was just in a rut between a good film (Empire of the Sun) and a great one (Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade).

The film has okay music (though it doesn't really stand out), a decent cast with good performances, and some pretty good work where the special effects, cinematography, and execution of the aerial stuff is concerned. This film is notable for being Audrey Hepburn's last screen appearance, and, while it is nice to see her, she deserved to go out in something a tad better.

This is lesser Spielberg, but it still has it's merits. Maybe you should be like me and give it a chance. Maybe this film isn't all that bad, but just needs a little love.
Ken S

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2007
While there are some really fun moments, Always feels like about 3 different movies mashed together. The first twenty five minutes are really enjoyable and then it starts to wander around it's story and never gets back on it's feet.
Summer W

Super Reviewer

September 19, 2010
There was Ghost, but first, there was Always.
It's actually Stephen Spielberg's loose remake of a 1944 film, but this movie is magical. It's funny, it's exciting, it's emotionally charged...it's Spielberg.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 23, 2007
sad but very good
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

October 17, 2006
Incredibly sad yet incredibly sweet. Love Holly and Richard's chemistry.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

March 15, 2007
Steven Spielberg's transcendent remake of 1943 film A Guy Named Joe is good touching, funny, life-affirming, and lightweight. And there goes the lastest film of my favourite idol, Audrey Hepburn, who appeared cameo.
Michael S

Super Reviewer

March 3, 2007
One of Spielberg's worst.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

February 12, 2007
Good flick with a great cast.
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

January 10, 2007
Dreary fantasy romance that sees Richard Dreyfus stalking fiancee Holly Hunter from beyond the grave. Tries to capture the magic of classics such as Its A Wonderful Life and A Matter Of Life And Death, but is far too forced and contrived. A rare misfire from Steven Spielberg.
Luke E

Super Reviewer

December 12, 2011
heartwarming drama, but slow moving and quite weak on the character development and setting. I recently heard its a remake of a 1943 film and Spielberg decided not to treat it like that. But I think this film is pretty watchable.
Marcus W

Super Reviewer

June 7, 2008
I've never thought very much of Ghost, but it's way better than this. Not even Spielberg is perfect.
Lee K

Super Reviewer

April 6, 2009
Pretty good as i remember it. Good storyline with quite interesting charectors.
Donna D

Super Reviewer

October 21, 2008
Another great movie by Steven Spielberg. This time, starring the ever wonderful actor Richard Dreyfuss, along with Holly Hunter and John Goodman as wonderful amusing supporting cast. A firefighter movie in the mountains, Dreyfuss portrays a pilot performing dangerous missions to assist with the Firefighters putting out dangerous fires. After a tragic accident, Dreyfuss is left on this earth to linger around his friends and help assist another pilot that is oddly the same as him only younger, played by Brad Johnson. A wonderful romantic comedy, and a tearjerker. Also, a great cameo by Audrey Hepburn herself. One of my favorites.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

December 10, 2007
A beautiful movie!
broadwaymo
broadwaymo

Super Reviewer

October 22, 2007
I began watching Always for three reasons...Holly Hunter, John Goodman and Steven Spielberg. When it was all said and done, I regret having started. Don't get me wrong, Holly Hunter and John Goodman were good in their roles and the movie definitely had "the look" of a Spielberg adventure film. But, I just found the story to be sappy, dull and predictable. Yawn...
jim222001us
jim222001us

Super Reviewer

August 7, 2007
An under-rated romantic drama that's just as good as Ghost but less people have seen this.
Christopher B

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2007
I remember this like it was yesterday (If I got amnesia today). Blech.
December 11, 2013
I loved this movie. It is not well known, but it is funny, poignant and the chemistry between Holly Hunter and Richard Dreyfuss is magical. A Happily Ever After that twists in the middle.
Highly recommend it.
Page 1 of 35
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile