Save Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Save Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Emanuel Levy
July 21, 2011
Interesting, provocative film about one of the most polarizing issues in our culture.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Don Willmott
January 31, 2009
tough, tight, and thought-provoking, a small-scale indie success for everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
December 19, 2008
Allen brings such conviction to the part that it's almost possible to look past the gaps in Mark's development. In the end, you may not buy each step he takes, but you respect Allen's attempt to make the effort seem genuine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
November 7, 2008
The first release from the gay-oriented Mythgarden production company, Save Me still bodes well for its evenhanded approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Stan Hall
October 31, 2008
While Save Me does seem like a TV movie, it is refreshingly honest and heartfelt.
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
October 13, 2008
Here after a long dry spell is an example of queer filmmaking at its best. Hallelujah my gay brethren!
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 9, 2008
This earnest, well-acted melodrama has compassion for all of its characters, who include gay men and the Christians dedicated to healing them of their 'brokenness'.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ruthe Stein
San Francisco Chronicle
October 3, 2008
Save Me doesn't poke fun at anyone's beliefs. It takes a more nuanced humanistic approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
October 3, 2008
A film that stands the best chance of winning the hearts and minds of those who now embrace the gay 'recovery' movement.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
September 19, 2008
This is a modest, thoughtful, independent production of exceptional insight and quietly devastating power.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Chuck Wilson
L.A. Weekly
September 18, 2008
Light, best known for her TV-sitcom work, turns a cliché -- the zealot with a secret pain of her own -- into an achingly sad woman; it's one of the year's best performances.
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
September 13, 2008
An emotionally powerful drama with the potential to build bridges of understanding between gays and the Religious Right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter T. Chattaway
Christianity Today
September 5, 2008
Where other films would have demonized Christians outright, Save Me presents a world where gays and Christians can go their separate ways while wishing each other well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ken Fox
TV Guide's Movie Guide
September 5, 2008
A solid performance by the often underrated Judith Light lends considerable weight to this melodrama's controversial subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 5, 2008
Even those of us who find anti-homosexual 'deprogramming' to be hideously intolerant and naive may find ourselves oddly relieved that Mark is there.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
September 4, 2008
There are heroes, battles and triumphs -- but no villains -- in Save Me, a thoughtful, nuanced drama about guilt-stricken gay men trying to fix their 'sexual brokenness' at a Christian recovery house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Armond White
New York Press
September 3, 2008
Screenwriters Robert Desiderio and Craig Chester build empathy without the usual partisan demonization or martyrdom, and the actors are intensely committed to that end.
Prairie Miller
September 1, 2008
As disagreements continue to heat up between red states and blue states, and liberals and evangelicals in this country, Save Me makes its debut as a story that may be in search of unlikely middle ground.
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
March 25, 2008
With a sensitive, intelligent screenplay and extremely honest performances, this drama goes far beyond its issue-of-the-week premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Boxoffice Magazine
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

Denver Post
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 2