Appaloosa - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Appaloosa Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
November 9, 2008
The film's subtle humor and detailed character studies reflect careful attention to detail and superb craftsmanship.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 8, 2008
No ordinary oater.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 7, 2008
It was at times incredibly slow and even poorly edited, and I've never understood the appeal of Renee Zelwegger.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 7, 2008
Ed Harris does it better than anybody.
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
November 3, 2008
A fine cast produces a surprisingly low-key outing. It sports a plot like a Western from 45 years ago, but pacing familiar from LONESOME DOVE.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
October 31, 2008
Viggo Mortensen's brilliantly cool performance engenders enough good will to see "Appaloosa" through its pokey meandering to an intriguingly philosophical conclusion: a look at modern outsourcing, capitalism and progress through a Western prism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mike Goodridge
Screen International
October 18, 2008
A gentle, warmly human and quietly compelling western with a wry sense of humour and some engaging performances from a group of fine actors.
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
October 18, 2008
The first hour bored me nearly to tears, but I'm glad I stuck it out, since the last half hour is fresh, diverting and original in the context of a neo-Western. Or a neo anything.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 18, 2008
It isn't a bad film, but the pacing drags it down to the level of just another horse opera when it could have been so much more.
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
October 16, 2008
The film is more trenchant character study than thrilling showdown, and it confounds as many generic expectations as it fulfills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Charles Koplinski
Illinois Times
October 13, 2008
A welcome return to the roots of the western genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
October 10, 2008
Appaloosa takes the traditional notion of a lone lawman fighting injustice and turns it successfully on its head.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
October 10, 2008
Sometimes Appaloosa seems bent on exploiting the standard cliches of the western genre ...while at others it seems striving to be a modernist update full of ambiguity ...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
October 10, 2008
For those of you who yearn for Westerns like "3:10 to Yuma" and "Tombstone," here's another one you should reach for.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
Frank Wilkins
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 9, 2008
The chemistry of Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen makes 'Appaloosa' a huge film in the way it gets under your skin and into your heart.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
October 8, 2008
Harris and Mortensen radiate a rugged integrity...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
October 8, 2008
Very disappointing ---- I was so in the mood for a great western!
Full Review
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
October 8, 2008
We just want the movie to ride off in the sunset to rest among all the other disappointing westerns in Boot Hill.
Full Review
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
October 7, 2008
If it feels a bit like an old Howard Hawks western (no slacker with the subtext himself) -- that's not a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Matthew Sorrento
Film Threat
October 7, 2008
Plays on conventions so smoothly that we're never distracted from the ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 9