Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
52% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
84% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
72% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1
24% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
59% Red Band Society: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Untraceable Reviews

Page 1 of 520
John M

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2008
Im not a big gan of the Saw type movies as one of my friends compared this too but being that i work in fraud and i see a lot of cybercrime this perked me up. Diane Lane is awesome as alwasys and it was a good plot. Not horrible as some have said but not unwatchable either.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

February 10, 2008
Perhaps not quite as impressive on the second viewing of this film, due to the high number of films created around similar scenarios, the online killer has perhaps struck far too many times. Having said that this was slightly more Thriller than Horror and Diane Lane was a likeable lead, plus there was more of a believable background story than most of this genre.
Stuart B

Super Reviewer

August 12, 2010
its ok in a thriller by the numbers kind of way.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2010
Untraceable was seen as one of the worst films of 2008 when released. I do not understand why this is so. Diane Lane makes the film what it is with a decent enough performance to keep you interested in watching. Untraceable though not flawless is still a strong enough thriller to keep you guessing til the end. Some parts of this film were indeed creepy, and Hoblit's direction adds the right amount of tension to the mix. Untraceable is highly underrated, though definitely not the best thriller it has a decent enough story. It's not as bad as what many reviews have said. If you want the worst recent thriller rent 88 Minutes. Untraceable mixes elements of a crime thriller with creepy parts seen in horror films. But as far as a good thriller is concerned, Untraceable is a decent enough film to watch.
familiar s

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2010
Untraceable: Wish this movie had remained so for me!!!
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

July 22, 2008
i really enjoyed this movie although a bit predictable towards the end, it is actually a good movie thats enjoyable to watch!
from the makers of fracture they bring another thriller that is exciting , and a good storyline that is cool to watch! Some of the torture scenes are pretty gross but make for good viewing i guess in a non-weird way!!
the suspense and clever/sophistication of the movie is brilliant to watch and this movie is well worth the watch!!

A good movie wwith a brilliant storyline and good actors you dont want to miss az good thriller like this really worth the watch!!
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

April 26, 2009
Billy Burke, Colin Hanks, Diane Lane

This is the story of a technology-savvy serial killer who displays his graphic murders on his own website. The FBI Internet Crimes division must work quickly to track him down.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Really enjoyed watching this movie. I thought it was a really good thriller. A psychopath devises ways to kill people online, in live streaming video. How horrifying is that? Whats even more grotesque is the more hits he gets, the further he goes with his sick experiments.
The cast was great. It's a well acted movie. Definitely a movie I will watch again.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2009
Unpleasant thriller/horror show not for the faint of heart. Diane Lane is a fine actress and deserves better films than this.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 22, 2008
although the end of this thriller was far too predicatable, it did well in most other disciplines and carried the intrigue very well. a very good and fun flick for escapist drama or fans of shocking cinema.
maxthesax
maxthesax

Super Reviewer

January 15, 2009
this film was like watching a better than normal made for TV movie. The story has some interesting devices, but falls into standard conventions about 2/3 of the way through.
Diane Lane is plausible as a cyber cop working for the FBI, and her pander with her fellow cyber geek is one of the film's high points. The juxtaposition between "normal" everyday life and the slimy internet world where people can anonimously log on and watch what amounts to a snuff film is well done here, and should have sufficed as the film's message - unfortunately, the director decides to hammer it to death with charactors bemoaning "what is wrong with people" over and over.

similarly, the charactor of Lane's boss is a curiousity. Several times I wondered just what the heck he was doing in the film to begin with. There seemed to be no rhyme or reason for him to even be in any of the scenes he was involved in, and the side story about using the NSA's mainframe was just wasted celuloid.

In the end, all the good pacing and wondering who done it and why that occures over the first 2/3 gets wasted - having the romantic (I guess) interest be centrally involved in the effort to save Lane, is just lazy writing; as was the excuse that the killer used to vary from his killing pattern and chase after cops and FBI agents.

The potential was here, and the tone sufficiently creepy - but in the end a weak script pulled it into the undertow.
DerekA101
DerekA101

Super Reviewer

December 8, 2008
Untraceable, in the spirit of good psychological crime thrillers, attempts to rejuvenate a genre with the addition of a new element: torture porn. Where others have succeeded, this film fails miserably...

Essentially what the director attempted to do was mix two cult classics in Saw and Silence of the Lambs, but instead the end result is a convoluted crapfest of FearDotCom and Twisted (both god awful films).

Everything is wrong with this film... I love Diane Lane, she is absolutely gorgeous. But this was not a good role for her. These stereotypical crime thrillers always have a headstrong, stunning female protagonist (i.e. Twisted, Silence of the Lambs, Bone Collector, Kiss the Girls, etc). Lane's character fails due to predictability and trite cliches. For instance, the pointless opening scene shows us just how smart Lane's character is by tracking down and nailing an elaborate internet scam artist who steals identities and credit cards... all while she leans back cozy in her spinning chair smiling and winking at her co-worker (Colin Hanks) gingerly whisking her hair around and talking sarcastically seductive as if she were sharing a margarita with a handsome stranger. Somebody gag me.....

On to my main quarrel with this film... However, BEWARE THIS PARAGRAPH CONTAINS SPOILERS. The mysterious killer is actually revealed in the middle of the movie! I couldn't believe my eyes! This film was some what intriguing when the killer was a mystery. It completely took the edginess out of the film. Imagine knowing who the mastermind in Saw is at the beginning of the film... that's right, the rest of the film would have SUCKED! That's what we have here... then to top it off, the killer is 20 years old! The director really assumes the audience is completely ignorant and void of all sense of reality. This kid isn't old enough to buy beer, yet he is smart enough to develop elaborate schemes in a short amount of time? And is strong and smart enough to abduct predetermined victims, while staying one step ahead of the FBI? C'mon.... I'm not THAT stupid. I was annoyed by this film's lack of realism.

The only redeeming quality of this pathetic little film is it's overall message, and the eye-opening revelation that we as humans are entertained by other people's misfortunes.

Good message... horrible execution...
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2008
"A cyber killer has finally found the perfect accomplice: You."

A serial killer with a sickening knack for showmanship and a keen sense of technological know-how sets up a graphic website to taunt the FBI and display his gruesome handiwork in this dark thriller directed by Gregory Hoblit (Primal Fear and Frequency) and starring Diane Lane. As a cybercimes investigator on the frontline of the war against virtual criminals, Special Agent Jennifer Marsh (Lane) thought she had seen it all. She realizes just how wrong she is, however, when she learns of a technologically advanced psychopath who has set up the world's first-ever snuff website. Audience participation is key on the ingenious killer's website, because the more hits his page gets the quicker he is to dispatch his victims. But how does one catch a killer who has covered their cyber-tracks with the web-savvy skills of a world-class hacker? Now, as the hunt becomes personal, Marsh vows to use every resource at her disposal in order to catch the killer before he logs on for another round of cyber slaughter.

Review
Didn't like it, didn't hate it either. Untraceable is right smack in the middle. Some points through out the movie, I couldn't help but fall asleep because the movie doesn't even try to entice the viewers. Untraceable is a slow paced thriller movie that has some striking similarities to Saw and a bad episode of CSI.

On the other hand though, it does have some strong points. The movie didn't rely on shock value, which is the current trend in the horror genre nowadays and the story isn't far-fetched. Also, the ending didn't drag out to pointlessness and it concluded right where its supposed to be.

Couldn't say anything more about the acting, Diane Lane delivers, Colin Hanks rocked the Morse Code and the villain what's his name is effective.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

February 21, 2008
A pretty good thriller as a killer creates a website with Saw like contraptions that mean the more hits the site gets the quicker the victims die. A good idea and quite well done. Well worth checking out.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

December 19, 2007
The final scene is much thrilling by seeing a female FBI IT expert caught the site's macabre webmaster who progresses to human torture and muder. Diane Lane is good as the harried cop so is Colin Hanks impresses by walking the fine line between sinister and sidekick.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2007
Wildly exciting.
Drew S

Super Reviewer

July 17, 2008
Untraceable is just Funny Games for people who aren't pretending to be intelligent. The BIG STATEMENT that it's trying to make is, in effect, the same - people (Americans, exclusively) are sick fucks and we enjoy violence and murder. Okay, I'm down with that, but the big fatal flaw here is that the message is deeply hypocritical. It undermines itself by showing horrible, graphic murders and then castigates us for enjoying depictions of brutality. Thanks, movie!

Not that I mind a message movie every once in a while, but this one delivers with the subtlety of a jackhammer. I can't really get into it without discussing some details of the plot, so here's a SPOILER warning.

Basically, the killer's father committed suicide, and it was highly publicized and a bunch of people watched in on the Internet. This pissed him off and he decided, as some divine act of retribution, to do something very similar to people involved with the incident (the cameraman, etc.) So basically, the movie is asking us to side with the killer's skewed-ass moral pole, shaking its finger at us through the guise of this delusional sociopath. Fucking horrible.

Even without this massive fundamental issue, the movie is just not very good in other terms. Diane Lane is probably playing the most boring character ever: hyper-generic female cop. She's strong, but she cries in the shower sometimes! You know, because she's a woman. Also, she has to skip her daughter's birthday party. Anyway, the only movie characters more boring than her are her cast mates. All of the men around her are whitewashed and ineffectual, leaving everything up to her. This shit is basically made for Lifetime, were it not for the fairly graphic killings and occasional "shits."

Uh...this really sucks. Less insulting than Funny Games, but more ineptly made. An all around waste of time.
Dan S

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2008
An all-around dumb movie. The premise is interesting, but Joseph Cross is the biggest miscast for a bad guy that I've seen in a long time. Nothing he says is either convincing or intimidating, and the formulaic ending that I called from the freaking very beginning of the movie is disappointing. Instead of being "original" and "thrilling" like its being advertised, it just looks like a cheap "Saw" ripoff by the end of it.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

January 24, 2008
A pretty good thriller. Predictable but a good watch. The killer of the story is pretty creepy and the story behind him is interesting.
It makes you wonder if this ever happened in real life... how fast would it tke to kill someone in this fashion.
Roy G

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2008
On the surface the film is a solid thriller, but there's more thought here than in the average serial killer flick.
Page 1 of 520
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile