Ben X

Ben X

68%
  • Ben X
    2 minutes 40 seconds
    Added: Aug 4, 2008

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
72% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Ben X Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile

From the opening moments, as the graphics of the Archlord online game intercut with the world of Dutch teenager Ben (Greg Timmermans), we know we're in for something special

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

August 29, 2009
Brian Tallerico
HollywoodChicago.com

There is a lot to like about this daring drama but the final act pushes the suspension of disbelief to the extreme.

Full Review Source: HollywoodChicago.com

March 26, 2009
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews

Greg Timmermans gives an exemplary performance as the title character, making his withdrawn loneliness a palpable thing.

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: B+

March 12, 2009
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews

Writer/director Nic Balthazar, adapting his own novel, would fool most as a first time filmmaker, as "Ben X" compellingly pulls one into Ben's world...

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: B

March 2, 2009
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer

There are lessons to be learned, but rarely have such lessons been transformed into such vivid and emotionally affecting drama.

Full Review Source: Seattle Post-Intelligencer | Original Score: B+

February 26, 2009
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

In adapting his novel and subsequent stage play, first-time writer-director Nic Balthazar seems more intent on impressing World of Warcraft gamers than honestly exploring the inner life of the mildly autistic boy at the center of his story.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 2/4

February 26, 2009
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope

This is a movie specially made for viewers who like a surprise ending.

Full Review Source: Laramie Movie Scope | Original Score: B

February 24, 2009
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The film is harrowing, if maybe a bit melodramatic, until it crashes and burns in a feel-good ending.

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 2/4

December 29, 2008
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A provocative, exultant stunner.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 4/5

December 5, 2008
Brian Miller
L.A. Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The best movie I've seen about teen angst since Donnie Darko comes from Belgium?

Full Review Source: L.A. Weekly

November 26, 2008
Stan Hall
Oregonian

The Flemish dialogue is not the only distinction of Belgian Nic Balthazar's confident, fearless directorial debut.

Full Review Source: Oregonian

November 21, 2008
Chad Greene
Boxoffice Magazine

Undeniably a high-level achievement.

Full Review Source: Boxoffice Magazine | Original Score: 3/5

October 24, 2008
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

There's not a moment of warmth or ease in Ben X, Nic Balthazar's punishingly cacophonous debut.

| Original Score: 2.5/5

October 24, 2008
Anna King
Time Out New York
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The ending is a letdown, as high-tech media mingles with old-school Christian imagery.

Full Review Source: Time Out New York | Original Score: 3/6

October 22, 2008
Brian Miller
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The best movie I've seen about teen angst since Donnie Darko comes from Belgium?

Full Review Source: Village Voice

October 22, 2008
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Balthazar's aesthetic is ugly, aloof, maddeningly literal and unimaginative.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 1.5/4

October 19, 2008
Denis Seguin
Screen International

Ben X boldly melds virtual reality with live-action vérité style and docudrama to create what may be a new film grammar.

Full Review Source: Screen International

October 18, 2008
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall

There's an especially important central theme to this striking teen drama that gives the film a potent urgency.

Full Review Source: Shadows on the Wall | Original Score: 4/5

August 29, 2008
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon

In short, Ben X is a well made, superbly acted drama with an emotionally engaging script and an important message. Recommended.

Full Review Source: ViewLondon | Original Score: 4/5

August 29, 2008
Derek Malcolm
This is London

It is based on a successful play and has won festival awards. But its convoluted plot and an ending which we are not sure is real or fantasy prevent it striking home as well as it might.

Full Review Source: This is London | Original Score: 2/5

August 29, 2008
Page 1 of 2
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile