• PG-13, 1 hr. 50 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Nick Cassavetes
    In Theaters:
    Jun 26, 2009 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 17, 2009
  • Warner Bros. Pictures

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

My Sister's Keeper Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

My Sister's Keeper is a committee-approved nerve-snapper that, much like its main character, has been genetically engineered to MAKE! YOU! CRY!

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 0.5/5

October 27, 2010
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

You may cry at the film's designated crying times, approximately every 10 minutes, like the traffic and weather. Or you may not, and wonder instead why some high-gloss weepies treat their source material quite so shamelessly.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum

Two hours later I felt as if I was heartless, as all this film did was make me wish I had the last two hours back even after all the melodramatic pain and suffering.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Spectrum | Original Score: 2/5

June 26, 2009
Simon Weaving
Screenwize

What starts as an exploration of the ethics of organ-donation and genetic selection, rapidly disintegrates into a sloppy, unstructured, tear-jerking mess.

Full Review Source: Screenwize | Original Score: 2/5

July 30, 2009
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net

Like an amalgam of every "ABC After-School Special" ever made ... makes most Lifetime Channel movies seem competent by comparison.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 4.5/10

June 25, 2009
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru

A mostly contrived and uneven drama that lacks nuances and fails to pack an emotional punch, but at least it's mildly engaging thanks to warm, heartfelt performances and exquisite cinematography.

Full Review Source: NYC Movie Guru | Original Score: 5.85/10

June 26, 2009
Robbie Collin
News of the World

This movie cheapens the experience of a family struggling to come to terms with the impending loss of a loved one. Cry? I very nearly did. Just not in the way Cameron probably hoped.

Full Review Source: News of the World | Original Score: 1/5

July 3, 2009
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Where restraint might have raised up My Sister's Keeper, a heavy hand has brought it down.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 1, 2009
Jenni Dawes
FILMINK (Australia)

[Cassavetes] refuses to let the material speak for itself, putting a famous-for-making-women-cry song behind almost every scene, and lingering on every sentimental moment.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

July 31, 2009
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I have a heart. I just don't want schlock.

Full Review Source: At the Movies

June 29, 2009
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?

My Sister's Keeper demands nothing less than a tidal wave of tears.

Full Review Source: What Would Toto Watch? | Original Score: 2/4

November 28, 2009
Katey Rich
CinemaBlend.com

Wailing and screaming and fighting with everyone else onscreen, Cameron Diaz is giving a powerhouse performance her character doesn't warrant.

Full Review Source: CinemaBlend.com | Original Score: 2/5

June 25, 2009
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

Once the bizarre premise is established, all the movie can do is wait for the story to play out -- it has a beginning and end, but no middle.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: C

June 25, 2009
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)

Though the motives of My Sister's Keeper will seem dubious to some, there is no denying the performances on display keep everything in the realm of the watchable.

Full Review Source: Herald Sun (Australia) | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 29, 2009
Charles Koplinski
Illinois Times

A shamelessly manipulative film that proves insulting rather than moving.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4.0

June 25, 2009
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A shameless attempt at manipulation that wants but doesn't earn audience tears.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 2/5

June 25, 2009
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com

For every instant of genuine tragic ache within this dubious feature, there are two served up right behind it that drip with obnoxious manipulation and creaky execution.

Full Review Source: BrianOrndorf.com | Original Score: C

June 25, 2009
Brian Orndorf
Dark Horizons

The obnoxious calculation smothers what should've been a pure articulation of melancholy and a potent debate of morality.

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons

July 27, 2009
Allan Hunter
Daily Express

My Sister's Keeper ducks some of the bigger moral dilemmas, which may have added more grit. There again this is not a film with grit on its mind, just how quickly it can have you reaching for a handkerchief.

Full Review Source: Daily Express | Original Score: 2/5

July 3, 2009
Claudia Puig
USA Today
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper takes a compelling ethical dilemma and turns it into formulaic pap by trying relentlessly to ensure an emotional reaction with sentimental exploitation and plot contrivances.

Full Review Source: USA Today | Original Score: 2/4

June 26, 2009

Urban Cinefile
July 24, 2009
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile