Mammoth (Mammut) Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Super Reviewer
½ August 5, 2009
Good movie. Have been seeing this going cheap on Blu ray for a while now. Was tempted to buy it, but glad I watched it on tv instead, as I don't know that it is a movie I would want to watch again. (though I did like it).
It's pretty much a movie about unhappy people. I could see what they were aiming for with the parallels. Ie, Michelle Williams plays a working mum who doesn't have enough time to spend with her family. Meanwhile the Filipino nanny is working for her, practically raising her daughter, while she misses her own little boys at home in the philippines. I found both these women sympathetic. Less so the husband.
The story about what happens to the young son of the nanny is horrific. I think the stories were a comment on life today and priorities, but I couldn't get the point about the husband. So he cheats with a young girl and gets away with it. Were we meant to pity him in some way? I certainly didn't!
Overall a good movie which maybe I didn't quite get, but good acting and great soundtrack.
Super Reviewer
½ September 16, 2011
Fragmented, but coherent, Mammoth comparatively narrates domestic drama in different social-cultural settings. Heaving with stereotypes, Mammoth concluded in accomplishment of imparting a definite set of emotions with the audiences.
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2009
'Where do all the children play?' Disregard the film synopsis. These interwined stories, from varying cultural standpoints, confront and question post-modern values. The pursuit of money to better our lives and childrens' exacts a high price. Each character determines if the cost is worth it. This film's direction, symbolism and 'message' is far from subtle.
Super Reviewer
June 23, 2010
The film is gritty, with all the characters interrelated, yet somehow all unrelated. A thought provoking film from Lukas Moodysson in his first English piece as writer and director.
mvieaddict
Super Reviewer
February 13, 2010
Mammoth was the story of a rich New Yorker couple and their daughter and their nanny and her family. The one thing the woman, the man, and the nanny all have in common were the sacrifices they made for their kids. The couple, both had very successful jobs, and the nanny worked in the US to earn money for her kids in the Philippines. Each of the actors were superb, Gael García Bernal was simple marvelous in his role as Leo and Michelle Williams portrait a successful surgeon who was very sentimental active in her job. The story sounded a bit like in the style of Babel and Crash,but this movie was in some ways a more intimate version of that kind of storytelling.
December 9, 2009
This is a slow and completely useless movie. The cast was great,but they just didn't have a story worth telling.
½ February 22, 2012
What can I say? This film is an extreme emotional experience. A mammoth of one, even. Some moments are extremely sentimental, sure. But the characters are all so real and alive that these overly sentimental moments hit you really hard. And it helps that Michelle Williams, Gael Garcia Bernal, and Marife Necisito all deliver quality performances. Really, the biggest strength is in the intricacy of the writing, as Lukas Moodysson has written an extremely complex story about attachment and the relationships between parents and children. Sure, this isn't perfect, but damn it if I'm not man enough to admit that this is the first film in QUITE a long time to actually bring me to tears!
January 31, 2010
The trailer for this movie sucked. I didnt want to see it but because of Gael I gave it a shot and it wasnt bad.
January 25, 2012
It's not so bad as many have said and written about. Yes it does resemble Babel, but it's the film style but the writing from which a film begins from (aren't most movies a copy of another? and Babel is not the one that started this style, it's just the most popular today).

The film is well structured, balanced and connected in the formulaic 3.

It's a story about sacrifices and those we sacrifice because of said sacrifices. Everyone kills something within themselves. Children and motherhood are the main characters. At the end we can see that the cycle restarts once again.

Overall it's an OK film... depressing, well produced and chuck full of details that the spectator must stay aware of.
November 29, 2011
A beautifully acted, beautifully shot, poorly edited film about the fucked upness of life today -- pretty much everwhere. Every child is being raised by the wrong person, every parent longs to be with her child, larger social forces keep everyone on an unsatisying grind. Overly long for no good reason.
April 29, 2010
I did not find this at all engaging. Acted and technically good enough that I kept waiting for something to happen. The businessman does not change his life, nor even have a significant quandry about it. Some bad things happen but the only message I got is, "well, life sucks." so, what's your point?
February 13, 2015
It's a good movie but i'll never watch it again. It's a masterclass in feel bad cinema.
August 13, 2014
really great character studies that keep you interested in their lives..it also has great performances.
½ December 2, 2013
Like Babel, but not as engaging...
September 22, 2013
Make no mistake, those who didn't like this didn't get it. Moodyson has moved on from the obvious references to Bergman, Bergman, Sjöström et al in " Fucking Amal" to surpass his hero. Let this film break your heart, but not your spirit. Collective guilt with your food porn, any one ?
September 4, 2013
With themes of "the wrong time" and family priorities, "Mammoth" follows two families and their struggles to create normalcy, better lives for their children, and connections that mean something. While they see points of clarity, we are unsure if it is enough to help them become better parents or better providers. The struggle to survive means something different to each person, and this film shows nicely the continuum of struggles found around the world.
July 20, 2013
Mammoth may be less thrilling than the oryginal Babel but still the movie is so true you want to indulge in every single moment of it. Spellbinding.
½ February 5, 2013
About 2 hours too long.
December 7, 2012
A magnificent, hantung, beautiful masterpiece. Unmissable, sublime...sheer poetry on screen. It may not always make sense to those who do not travel, but to anyone else it captures the tyranny of distance beautifully.
½ November 7, 2012
Another film about how self-absorbed wealthy Westerners mess up the lives of people in the developing world.
Page 1 of 15