Mammoth (Mammut) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mammoth (Mammut) Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Super Reviewer
½ August 5, 2009
Good movie. Have been seeing this going cheap on Blu ray for a while now. Was tempted to buy it, but glad I watched it on tv instead, as I don't know that it is a movie I would want to watch again. (though I did like it).
It's pretty much a movie about unhappy people. I could see what they were aiming for with the parallels. Ie, Michelle Williams plays a working mum who doesn't have enough time to spend with her family. Meanwhile the Filipino nanny is working for her, practically raising her daughter, while she misses her own little boys at home in the philippines. I found both these women sympathetic. Less so the husband.
The story about what happens to the young son of the nanny is horrific. I think the stories were a comment on life today and priorities, but I couldn't get the point about the husband. So he cheats with a young girl and gets away with it. Were we meant to pity him in some way? I certainly didn't!
Overall a good movie which maybe I didn't quite get, but good acting and great soundtrack.
Super Reviewer
½ September 16, 2011
Fragmented, but coherent, Mammoth comparatively narrates domestic drama in different social-cultural settings. Heaving with stereotypes, Mammoth concluded in accomplishment of imparting a definite set of emotions with the audiences.
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2009
'Where do all the children play?' Disregard the film synopsis. These interwined stories, from varying cultural standpoints, confront and question post-modern values. The pursuit of money to better our lives and childrens' exacts a high price. Each character determines if the cost is worth it. This film's direction, symbolism and 'message' is far from subtle.
Super Reviewer
June 23, 2010
The film is gritty, with all the characters interrelated, yet somehow all unrelated. A thought provoking film from Lukas Moodysson in his first English piece as writer and director.
mvieaddict
Super Reviewer
February 13, 2010
Mammoth was the story of a rich New Yorker couple and their daughter and their nanny and her family. The one thing the woman, the man, and the nanny all have in common were the sacrifices they made for their kids. The couple, both had very successful jobs, and the nanny worked in the US to earn money for her kids in the Philippines. Each of the actors were superb, Gael García Bernal was simple marvelous in his role as Leo and Michelle Williams portrait a successful surgeon who was very sentimental active in her job. The story sounded a bit like in the style of Babel and Crash,but this movie was in some ways a more intimate version of that kind of storytelling.
August 13, 2014
really great character studies that keep you interested in their lives..it also has great performances.
December 9, 2009
This is a slow and completely useless movie. The cast was great,but they just didn't have a story worth telling.
½ September 24, 2012
Amazing. A tragic film with powerful perspective.

Great performances by the actors, but the story is what makes this film so great.

Don't miss it.
½ February 22, 2012
What can I say? This film is an extreme emotional experience. A mammoth of one, even. Some moments are extremely sentimental, sure. But the characters are all so real and alive that these overly sentimental moments hit you really hard. And it helps that Michelle Williams, Gael Garcia Bernal, and Marife Necisito all deliver quality performances. Really, the biggest strength is in the intricacy of the writing, as Lukas Moodysson has written an extremely complex story about attachment and the relationships between parents and children. Sure, this isn't perfect, but damn it if I'm not man enough to admit that this is the first film in QUITE a long time to actually bring me to tears!
January 31, 2010
The trailer for this movie sucked. I didnt want to see it but because of Gael I gave it a shot and it wasnt bad.
January 25, 2012
It's not so bad as many have said and written about. Yes it does resemble Babel, but it's the film style but the writing from which a film begins from (aren't most movies a copy of another? and Babel is not the one that started this style, it's just the most popular today).

The film is well structured, balanced and connected in the formulaic 3.

It's a story about sacrifices and those we sacrifice because of said sacrifices. Everyone kills something within themselves. Children and motherhood are the main characters. At the end we can see that the cycle restarts once again.

Overall it's an OK film... depressing, well produced and chuck full of details that the spectator must stay aware of.
November 30, 2011
This movie has absolutely no point. Its basically about random ppl doing random things for no reason. Theres no central conflict nor is there a conclusion. In fact its kind of a fatuous, self-serving and fantastically dishonest exercise in pseudo-compassion. I still gave it three starts but i will never watch it again.
November 29, 2011
A beautifully acted, beautifully shot, poorly edited film about the fucked upness of life today -- pretty much everwhere. Every child is being raised by the wrong person, every parent longs to be with her child, larger social forces keep everyone on an unsatisying grind. Overly long for no good reason.
½ July 2, 2011
If you want a film with extremely emotionally isolated characters then this is the film for you! It gets sadder with every scene until the climax when the eventual salvation of the characters is only deemed complete when they have hit their emotional bottom. Its two hour length will make this film seem like 4 hours for many.
February 14, 2011
For Fans Of: Gael Garcia Bernal, Michelle Williams
Date Night: Nope
Art Factor: Medium
Fun Factor: None
Emotional Factor: Low
Intelligence Factor: Medium
Essential Viewing: No

The Plot: A portrait of the strain distance, work and loneliness in the modern world place on family.

10 Quick Hits
1) This was my fist time seeing Swedish director Lukas Moodysson at work. Very impressed. Nice touches with the ability to make intamcy look so fleeting and distance seem like an inescapable abyss.
2) Oh yeah, Moodysson also wrote the script. While there were moments that felt forced, I never felt that he intentionally or unintentionally became preachy with his subject matter as some "top" critics have argued. No, the subject material just happens to be of a weighty natur that lends itself to more message than most films choose or care to deliver.
3) The score never overwhelms the scene, but instead chooses to dance just outside the picture as almost a shadow to the images.
4) Let it go on the record that I consider Bernal to be one of the most talented male actors of his generation. It's so rare to find a young male actor who can convey such vulnerability while never appearing soft. One day I hope the stars align for Bernal to recieve the general population acclaim that he deserves.
5) As for Bernal's performance in this particular film, he brings enough depth and range to his performance to avoid any trappings of cliche. If you have never seen him work, this would be a good starting point. That being said, I would still recommend starting with one of my favorite movies of all time, The Motorcycle Diaries.
6) While on the subject of elite acotrs of thier respective generation, Michelle Williams clearly fits into that group.
7) Williams has yet to make one acting misstep since beginning her "adult" film career. Much in the same way as Bernal, the versatility that she brings to each of her projects is something worth making note of.
8) I know that I am not the only person to review this film and feel some similarities to the wonderful film Babel. Both are continent hopping looks at the modern human condition through the eyes of very different humans in very different modern human conditions. While I do agree that Babel is a superior film, I would hate for that films greatness to in any way steal any sunshine from Mammoth.
9) Indie music makes up the non score parts of the soundtrack. Cat Power makes an appear which is always a treat. If deep women with touches of grief in there voice float your boat, pick up one of her albums. The particular song of hers that is featured prominently in the film is off her near perfect album, The Greatest.
10) I have no clue why this film did not get more press and wider release. I guess there were just to many great films out there. That was a joke.

Final Thought
While it would be easy to find easier digested material to watch, Mammoth is a brilliant look at what we give up to gain the things we believe are essential. These questions are nice change of pace from the usual redundant questions most films ask of us. Do try and find this. Thank you for reading and enjoy.
½ October 2, 2010
Lukas Moodysson's lastest film, Mammoth, is surely a lot better than A Hole In My Heart, but it doesn't quite compare to films like Show Me Love and Lilja-4-Ever.
July 10, 2010
the sense of displacement experienced by each of the characters is actually palpable. i love gael garcia bernal, and i really liked this movie. quietly brilliant.
April 29, 2010
I did not find this at all engaging. Acted and technically good enough that I kept waiting for something to happen. The businessman does not change his life, nor even have a significant quandry about it. Some bad things happen but the only message I got is, "well, life sucks." so, what's your point?
April 28, 2010
I make no bones about the fact that I love Lukas Moodysson's heart and films. I think I even understand why he made A Hole in My Heart, as utterly disgusting a film as it is. And while Lilya 4-Ever grabbed a spot in my Top 10 of last decade, I also found great delight in Fucking Åmål (Show Me Love).

Moodysson has always been nothing less than ambitious. Like a Swedish Gaspar Noé, he's unafraid of sticking the truth as he perceives it right up in your face. That truth may have gotten a little out of hand with the emotional, sensory and pornographic overload of A Hole in My Heart, but Moodysson's point about man's depravity was made. He never shies away from his socialist, vegetarian, humanitarian, or maybe even Christian values.

I have a soft spot for the directors that are characters, unafraid to let it rip into you and burn out your eyeballs if need be.

Mammoth, unfortunately, doesn't do that. And it barely feels like a Moodysson film. But if you've seen Babel and you want a little more of the intersecting lives and the social construct of that story, Mammoth might be a place where you can get it.

Two things are easily mentioned as excellence in Mammoth: Gael García Bernal (speaking of Babel!), who has simply gone off the charts in everything he's touched since Cuarón's 2001 film Y tu mamá también. Bernal is becoming one of my favorites.

The other quality that's wonderful about Mammoth is the cinematography itself, created from film crews around the world. But again this reminds me of Babel, and Babel might still have the edge here.

The film does question the global economics of how various cultures are surviving and raising their kids in this age, and no matter the country, no matter the culture, a home without a dad in it is a home in crisis. These are all good points, and Moodysson brings examples from New York, the Philippines and Thailand to make sure we understand his position.

There were scenes in it that I will remember -- especially those of the host mom who finally connects with her child's nanny, just before emergencies separate them both forever. But overall, it is the most dull film in Moodysson's oeuvre. (Having said that I must admit that I still haven't seen his art-film Container.)

I'm still a big fan, and even though I'm less impressed with Mammoth than I've been with his works in the past, I love his values and his social efforts in the film making process. Here's to hoping for more great stuff in Moodysson's future.
October 18, 2015
Moodysson clearly overreaches, packing his movie with so many ideas and stories that could all be fleshed out into interesting movies on their own, but here come off as undercooked and disconnected from one another. Which, sure is part of his point, but it's that tired "Westerners are emotionally distant and detached" point that movies have been making for decades now. If you're gonna be fatalistically cynical, at least be original about it.
Page 1 of 15