Tron Legacy Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered
November 11, 2013
If you choose to see TRON: Legacy, leave your brain at home, and be ready to watch what boils down to a great dramatic Daft Punk music video.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
June 29, 2011
The sequel's filmmakers haven't managed to solve the problem that blighted the original - namely once we get our characters on the grid, then what?
Mike Edwards
What Culture
February 1, 2011
I'm not saying don't bother seeing it, because there's still some fun to be had from the swaggering, fragmented plot, I'm just saying that we deserved much better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Aaron Yap
Flicks.co.nz
December 20, 2010
Legacy's upgrade only amplifies the lameness of the original minus its time-capsule likeability.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
December 17, 2010
There are two great potholes all sequels face and must avoid if they have any hope of succeeding. TRON: Legacy doesn't stumble into them so much as jump head first without a parachute.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
January 10, 2011
Disney may be looking for a merchandising bonanza with this long-gestating sequel to the groundbreaking 1982 film, but someone in the corporate offices forgot to add any human interest to its action-heavy script.
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
December 15, 2010
To say that belated sequel Tron: Legacy looks amazing is both to praise and to condemn it; 30 years from now, it will probably seem just as dated as its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
December 15, 2010
TRON: Legacy does not deserve to be written off as empty spectacle but it really does miss the magic of the original film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
December 6, 2010
There's nothing to like.
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
December 17, 2010
...the story's filled with cardboard outlines of characters plodding their way through a series of chase and action scenes that don't add up to anything resembling an original idea
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 13, 2010
Tron: Legacy could get away with a script as stupid as the one it has if the movie crackled, if any of the actors popped or if any of the action scenes felt truly next level or groundbreaking.
Tom Seymour
Little White Lies
December 16, 2010
A wash of light, colour and sound that forgoes the most basic elements of cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly
December 21, 2010
Legacy is sort of a one-trick pony. After you get past the neon-glow costumes, whizzing Frisbee weapons and cyberspace backdrop, there really isn't much to get excited about.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
December 16, 2010
They had 28 years, and this is the best they could come up with?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
December 17, 2010
TRON: Legacy proves once again that movies can be incubators for exciting technological and F/X advances... while leaving our need for narrative unsatisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
December 16, 2010
It's a sullen affair, dominated by a grim visual palette that intrigues for about 30 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
December 16, 2010
It's dispiriting to see how little attention the filmmakers have paid to the dramatic -- read human -- possibilities of the original, or how much they've been overwhelmed by technology's demands.
Adam Lippe
Examiner.com
December 17, 2010
Kosinski was probably so excited about getting the opportunity to attach his name to something he enjoyed as a kid, he forgot that the original film is infantile, a show-off for early CGI, and that trying to take infantilism seriously is a major mistake.
Leo Robson
Financial Times
December 15, 2010
There have been a number of technical developments in the intervening years, but none of them does the new film any good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express
December 21, 2010
As hard as I tried to enjoy Tron: Legacy I kept wondering how much longer I would be trapped in the computer world on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 15, 2012
James O'Ehley
Sci-Fi Movie Page
July 5, 2012
Page 1 of 12