Daddy Longlegs Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Bill D 2007
Super Reviewer
½ June 15, 2010
"Daddy Longlegs" (aka "Go Get Some Rosemary") is a hand-made, ultra-New York film reminiscent of Azazel Jacobs's "Momma's Man" (2008). Both films are extremely authentic, capturing astonishingly well the feeling of living in Manhattan. But both films suffer from an aimless and flaccid quality. There's just not enough drama or insight to keep "Daddy Longlegs" interesting. Watching ordinary people struggle with ordinary things is simply not exciting after about 30 minutes.

Ronald Bronstein does give an unforgettable performance as the Dad who is overflowing with love but can't quite become a grown-up. From what I've read, Joshua and Ben Safdie made the film as a tribute to their real-life father, who had custody of them for just two weeks a year. I could see why the Safdie boys would find those two weeks with their crazy Dad so memorable.

The film starts beautifully, with actual footage of them dancing in the living room with Dad during one of these visits. But you immediately get the sense of how Dad was a bit unhinged. Why did he have to be nearly naked while dancing with his young sons? The dancing is adorable. And the boys are obviously enraptured by their Dad. But why do it in only a pair of thin boxers?

As we later learn, Dad also had boyfriends and girlfriends sleeping over during their two-week stays. Why couldn't he put his dalliances on hold just for the two weeks when the boys were visiting? I'm sure Josh and Ben Safdie have been asking themselves such questions for years.

There is a harrowing scene involving sleeping pills, the details of which I won't give away. But for the most part we watch Dad struggle to do things like get a babysitter so he can do a late-shift at work or go out on a date. As remarkable as Bronstein is as an actor, the tedium does start to wear thin.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ January 2, 2013
In "Daddy Longlegs," Lenny(Ronald Bronstein), a film projectionist in New York City, is given custody of his two sons(Sage & Frey Ranaldo) for two weeks. So, he takes them to play racquetball and his unstable girlfriend Leni(Eleonore Hendricks) brings them a lizard. In return, he cheats on her with Roberta(Dakota Goldhor) who he met in a bar and then follows her and her boyfriend(Aren Topdijian) upstate, bringing the boys along for a little waterskiing.

Overall, "Daddy Longlegs" is as aimless as its anti-hero, never being able to make up its mind about whether he is reckless or just irresponsible, nor what kind of movie it really wants to be without really the kind of energy to even be cringe inducing. What is true about him is what I am fond of saying in general in that some people should never have kids, especially Lenny who has trouble taking care of himself, much less two of them. As harsh as it may sound, one imagines him making the boys' future mother(Leah Singer) laugh before she wisely came to her senses.
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2011
*INDEPENDENT SPIRIT AWARD NOMINEE - BEST ACTOR and JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD*

This is a deeply unsettling film about a manic, terrible father who thinks it's more important to be your child's friend instead of a parent. Constantly in motion, always late, never thinking clearly, making awful choices, Ronald Bronstein gives a fantastic performance in a part that would be unforgivable is less-able hands. Think Modern Family's Phil (Ty Burrell) if he were divorced from Claire, moved to a New York studio apartment, and had custody of the kids for only 2 weeks a year. Even for that short period of time, he still can't get it together.

One sequence in particular, when he devises a terrible solution to leaving the kids home alone, goes so wrong, I was filled with a horrible feeling of dread. This is a Dad with the worst decision-making process EVER! Worse than DeNiro in THIS BOY'S LIFE. Worse than Darth Vader! Worse than the Godfather!

Shot verite-style, the movie hurtles you along with Bronstein's ADD character as he juggles a girlfriend, a movie projectionist job, a justifiably enraged ex-wife, a trick, and weary neighbors, all while trying to take care of his two boys. Although he has a light spirit, which proves sweet and funny at times, he just seems like a guy who should NEVER be allowed unsupervised around his kids. Obviously that's the point here, so I don't mean to get all pedantic about it. Some people are just this desperate and crazy, and this movie tells us this in all it's crazy, loopy, fly-on-the-wall glory.
Super Reviewer
½ May 17, 2010
With an engaging and disquieting mix of charm and unease, this mublecore-ish indie is the antidote to every Hollywood feel-good dad-learns-how-to-be-a-parent movie. Dad, in this case, is kind of a lovable loser, and he seems simultaneously madly in love with his kids and absolutely unequipped to spend a single moment with them. What separates this flick from its like-minded cohorts is its total refusal to make it easy or resolve it for our comfort. At turns funny and squirmy, by the time it inches to its conclusion it's hard to pinpoint your feelings for it (or, more to the point, to him; because this is a character study, and it's not the kids under the microscope). Its entertainment value depends on how much you can keep up with those shifting feelings.
½ December 8, 2011
Sad tale of a father who loves his kids, gets custody for only two weeks a year, and fails miserably at being a father during those two weeks. He doesn't do anything to intentionally harm them or put them in danger but almost every choice he makes does so just because he is incapable of considering consequences or of putting their needs ahead of his own desires and impulses. The film proceeds along a low tech near-mumblecore path which suits the subject well.
½ March 8, 2014
Really quite good, absolutely nails the NYC divorced dad who doesn't have his shit together and all that. And there's a lot of great moments. But there's continuity stuff that's annoying, and the resolution doesn't feel important enough. Too lukewarm, which I know is 'the point' and a trope of movies like this, but still, it's an unsatisfying end. Definitely worth watching though. It's so accurate it's ridiculous.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ January 2, 2013
In "Daddy Longlegs," Lenny(Ronald Bronstein), a film projectionist in New York City, is given custody of his two sons(Sage & Frey Ranaldo) for two weeks. So, he takes them to play racquetball and his unstable girlfriend Leni(Eleonore Hendricks) brings them a lizard. In return, he cheats on her with Roberta(Dakota Goldhor) who he met in a bar and then follows her and her boyfriend(Aren Topdijian) upstate, bringing the boys along for a little waterskiing.

Overall, "Daddy Longlegs" is as aimless as its anti-hero, never being able to make up its mind about whether he is reckless or just irresponsible, nor what kind of movie it really wants to be without really the kind of energy to even be cringe inducing. What is true about him is what I am fond of saying in general in that some people should never have kids, especially Lenny who has trouble taking care of himself, much less two of them. As harsh as it may sound, one imagines him making the boys' future mother(Leah Singer) laugh before she wisely came to her senses.
½ February 28, 2012
I really don't care about this idiot and his stupid point of view
December 18, 2011
Lenny takes fatherhood to new lows.
½ May 21, 2010
The film's grungy, ultra-low-budget look, thanks to the Safdie's handheld camera, is just right for catching the crummy, hardscrabble, rat-infested milieu.
½ September 3, 2011
This reminded me of The Room only I laughed less. If you don't find this movie completely boring, you're probably extremely boring yourself.
July 4, 2010
I think if I wrote this when I first saw it, I would have bashed it. After waiting a few hours, I begin to understand the film. It really just shows how Lenni, faces the problem parent's today face. Do I be friends with my kids, or bosses? Do I act like a kid with them or an adult? We saw both, and how both ways did not work out. The movie was very well acted but left me with a lot of unanswered questions. I also do not like movies who have very random and just "waist-of-time" scenes. Their were quite a few. I don't want to spoil it for you, but for the people who have seen it....the ending? I just don't know. Are we, the audience, just supposed to make up in our heads what happened? I was very confused. Are we supposed to just see a pinpoint of a few days with a horrible parent with no beggining or end...no plot? Was that the point of the final scene? This movie is not about closure or a father getting what he has coming? No scene where Lenni looks at his mistakes and apologizes. No. We see a human being for who he is...and that's it. It for the audience to judge if he is a good or bad father? THIS FILM is not an easy watch...it will leave you really thinking. I'm still thinking...I still can't decide if I LOVE IT or HATE IT. It's one of "those" movies. LOVE or HATE. Watch it and decide....
Bill D 2007
Super Reviewer
½ June 15, 2010
"Daddy Longlegs" (aka "Go Get Some Rosemary") is a hand-made, ultra-New York film reminiscent of Azazel Jacobs's "Momma's Man" (2008). Both films are extremely authentic, capturing astonishingly well the feeling of living in Manhattan. But both films suffer from an aimless and flaccid quality. There's just not enough drama or insight to keep "Daddy Longlegs" interesting. Watching ordinary people struggle with ordinary things is simply not exciting after about 30 minutes.

Ronald Bronstein does give an unforgettable performance as the Dad who is overflowing with love but can't quite become a grown-up. From what I've read, Joshua and Ben Safdie made the film as a tribute to their real-life father, who had custody of them for just two weeks a year. I could see why the Safdie boys would find those two weeks with their crazy Dad so memorable.

The film starts beautifully, with actual footage of them dancing in the living room with Dad during one of these visits. But you immediately get the sense of how Dad was a bit unhinged. Why did he have to be nearly naked while dancing with his young sons? The dancing is adorable. And the boys are obviously enraptured by their Dad. But why do it in only a pair of thin boxers?

As we later learn, Dad also had boyfriends and girlfriends sleeping over during their two-week stays. Why couldn't he put his dalliances on hold just for the two weeks when the boys were visiting? I'm sure Josh and Ben Safdie have been asking themselves such questions for years.

There is a harrowing scene involving sleeping pills, the details of which I won't give away. But for the most part we watch Dad struggle to do things like get a babysitter so he can do a late-shift at work or go out on a date. As remarkable as Bronstein is as an actor, the tedium does start to wear thin.
½ May 14, 2010
Watch This Movie Free at Movies27 d0t c0m
Page 1 of 2