Eaten Alive (Mangiati vivi!) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
½ April 14, 2011
The film begins in Canada and New York, with an Asian hitman killing his victims by blowing poisoned darts at them. He is then run over by a truck and killed. The police find some film on him, and wouldn't you know, the film contains scenes of a cannibal ritual, which includes a woman named Sheila's(Janet Agren) missing sister. A professor tells Sheila that the ritual is from a tribe in New Guinea, so she travels there and finds Vietnam war veteran Mark Butler (cannibal film regular Robert Kerman) and pays him to find her sister.

The film then goes off into the usual cannibal film thing. The odd animal is killed, they find parts of bodies etc. It turns out that her missing sister is part of a religious community in the jungle lead by a character named Jonas. He brainwashes all his followers, and has strict rules, like no drinking of alcohol. The version I watched was sadly cut, and some gory scenes that were about to be shown then quickly jumped to another scene. The music deserves mention too, a catchy tune plays during the opening credits. The other music during the film is ok. It's not nearly as good as Cannibal Holocaust, or even Lenzi's other cannibal flick Ferox, but if you like cannibal films it's worth checking out.
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
April 12, 2007
Lazy attempt from Umberto Lenzi to make a quick bit of cash. The majority of the gore scenes in this have been ripped straight from other Cannibal movies like 'Deep River Savages' and 'Mountain of the Cannibal God'! Apart from this it's not too bad as a Jungle Adventure movie, but expect your usual quota of sexual violence and animal violence which is standard for these types of Italian exploitation.
Ariuza k.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2011
Not my favourite by Umberto Lenzi frankly I am leaning on his Giallo Paranoia or his exploitation classic Cannibal Ferox. Eaten Alive proves to be nothing shorty of a classic Jungle Adventure don't be put off by its ridicules looking cover nothing like that happens in the film and of course this is one of my all-time Italian classics and in this movie a big thumbs up to actor Robert kerman. This is the 2nd part in his jungle trilogy first being the Inspirational movie Man from Deep River and then the last movie notorious for being the most violent movie ever made Cannibal Ferox. This however is not violent I picked it up on DVD for 900yen cheap and it only holds a 15 rating the only warning is that is contains intense scene for people under 15.

Of course the movie is inspired by the Jones town massacre even using the same names as some of the victims and story, but it moves from that and goes into somewhat of a different direction.

A man is assassinating people in New York City but he himself gets hit by a car and in his pocket were photos of Sheila sister who disappeared 5 months ago. So she travels to the jungles of Malaysia to look for her while she is there she hires Mark a travel guide and promise to pay his $80,000. Across the way they ran into a savage tribe they feast on peoples flesh and find her sister who has joined a Cult. But unlike many cults this place is nice and lovely but Mark soon discovers Jones is drugging people for them to be under his control.
And Sheila and her sister are falling under the power of Jones.

I must say I really liked the story its better then your average Jungle adventure and you feel the suspense of them and all the people at the town.
It's also funny and humours I Laughed at the ending scene were Mark Finds out that the 80g's her was getting is not going to happened because Jones has all her sisters money
"See its funny we go throw all that and you check did nothing but bounce"-Mark
"So who is going to pay for your expanses?"-Sheila
"That's what I would like to find out"-Mark
So her tear's up the check and throw's it out the window in NYC pissed off.

Must give Robert Kerman a big thumbs up in his role as Mark Butler an ex vitamin veteran who is our hero if the story. I really do think Kerman is an underrated actor who had so much talent in this film. I like the action scenes with him where he is hanging of the helicopter while the natives are attacking him so they fly off and he looks back to see they are leaving the area were everyone died.

Janet Agren as Sheila I was a bit mixed on not the best performances I have seen unlike Kerman I don't think she has had much to do with these films. Again my favourite scene with her is when there crossing the river to get to the helicopter and both her and Mark are hanging into it while there flying throw the jungle and the natives throwing spears and rocks at them.

Ivan Rassimov is one of my all-time favourite Italian actors him as Jones was just frighting, First parts of the movie he is this kind leader of this jungle town then he turns into this insane Lunatic bent on creating the perfect town built on drugs and greed. He himself is model after the real Jones only he is not that Cruel. But he ends everything the same way with the drugs and cyanide. So overall he is just perfect.

The special effects are extremely good indeed but there weren't much of them because there weren't many scenes needed to use them, some killing scenes but that's it. The music is composed by buddy Malodour and I love the late 70s score with the City scene and the credits.

I think I come to a close and not much more to say over then one of my all-time favourite Jungle Adventure movies. With an awesome story and cast as well as scene and ending.
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2013
The italian canibal genre had it's fair share of bad, tasteless, offensive exploitation trash. But Eaten Alive took it into a whole new level, for not just being a really bad movie, but for introducing way too many rape scenes that last forever and are obviously not doing anything into the whole overall arch of the picture.
Super Reviewer
January 31, 2007
Robert Kerman takes a break from porn to play an awesome hero who kicks cannibal ass. Well, not before the cannibals have dinner. Plus. Ivan Rassimov as the Jonestown-like leader makes a great foil for our xxx making hero.
May 1, 2011
Maybe one of the most brutal jungle-cannibal films (even more than Cannibal Holocaust or Cannibal Ferox). This one follows an American searching for her tripped-out hippie cult-member sister in New Guinea. The woman hires a guide (yeah, kinda like Romancing the Stone, Firewalker, King Solomon's Mines, etc) to search the jungle for the cult's headquarters. After their canoe is destroyed by crocodiles, they walk the jungle only to find some stone-age cannibals munching on a boob. The primitives chase the pair, but they are saved when they run ino the cult's village. The cult has strange practices like watching a chick whose husband dies get gangbanged by her brothers-in-law. One of the few of this style which takes place in Asia. Not to be confused with the same-named movie from three years earlier.
January 7, 2009
This flick has one of the funniest openning sequences I have ever seen. Other than that, it's pretty unremarkable cannibal exploitation fare. You've got your animal gore and your scads of naked women. I particularly like how every male's instinct when he gets a woman alone is to rape her... Anyways, I got tired, the cannibals finally showed up and the first piece of flesh they ate was boobie. Now, I'm no cannibal, but I question that selection. Cannibal Ferox is better as far as Lenzi goes, watch that instead.
½ September 13, 2006
More cannibal sleaze directed by (as Joe Bob Briggs called him) "the Lee Harvey Oswald of directors" Lenzi.
January 7, 2015
The common consensus is that Cannibal Holocaust is the best Italian cannibal movie. Some hardcore fans say that the best is Cannibal Ferox, but either way it's safe to say those are the top two. So what is the third biggest movie of this subgenre? Look no further than Umberto Lenzi's other cannibal movie: Eaten Alive.

So how good is the distant third? Well, not that good. It's funny to watch these cannibal/native movies and see the filmmakers rip off of other big movies. This movie takes a stab at Apocalypse Now! And it fails spectacularly!

Actually, that's not fair. It's not that bad, but I was just sort of bored by it. There's some gore, sure. There's a lot of stupid dialogue, bad acting, and ridiculous editing, but it just didn't have the charm a bad movie should have. Maybe that's because there was just so much rape. I'm not put off by a movie that has rape, but I don't find it funny so it's harder to enjoy these bad movies when I'm not really laughing.

It has everything you would expect from cannibal movies: stock footage, locals being dressed up ridiculously, gore, and a kickin' disco soundtrack. I wanted to like it, but I just didn't. Didn't despise it, just won't remember it.
January 21, 2014
Nonostante i cannibali rivestano un ruolo abbastanza marginale, si rivela comunque un film onesto.
Dovrebbe essere ispirato al suicidio di massa del Tempio del popolo, suppongo. E in caso un bene.
Una scena strizza l'occhio a Il Cacciatore, e questo un bene.
Le musiche sono, al solito, una figata. E questo un bene.
Almeno un paio di scene sono sfacciatamente copincollate da precenti cannibal movies, e questo non un male, peggio, proprio la tristezza infinita.
In generale s, ok, propone lo shock con tante immagini forti, ma speravo in un film con un po' pi mordente.
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2013
The italian canibal genre had it's fair share of bad, tasteless, offensive exploitation trash. But Eaten Alive took it into a whole new level, for not just being a really bad movie, but for introducing way too many rape scenes that last forever and are obviously not doing anything into the whole overall arch of the picture.
½ February 8, 2011
I must admit, I do have a soft spot for 70-80's horror films. They had rubbish music, little to no proper dialogue, they tended to be sexist, degrading, poorly shot flicks.

Eaten Alive is no different, and you know what. Its just great.

Its Gory, its degrading, its great.
½ January 30, 2011
How am I going to start on this guilty pleasure? I'll give it a go and will try to be brief, but will probably get carried away. There is so much to say about this atrocity of an Italian exploitation cannibal film, that I could write a whole book. Okay ... here we go.


Plot: An Asian man is killing people with blow darts all over Canada and the USA. While fleeing from the police, he is run over by a truck and instantly killed.

Investigators discover super 8 film reels in his pockets and view the footage. A reverend Jonas is running a purification cult sect in the depths of the New Guinean jungle, as the footage reveals.

Followers from all over the world have joined the cult, including a young American woman who has not been seen since emigrating to the jungle far away from modern corrupt society. Her sister in New York is contacted by the authorities and agrees to find her lost sister who is supposedly brainwashed by the Reverend Jonas.

She travels to the village known as Shakir with a Vietnam veteran familiar with the area. The only problem is that the village is surrounded by a flesh eating cannibal tribe in their path.



I know it sounds quite dumb, and it is. Why would a Cult ever choose a location in the middle of the jungle surrounded by cannibals in the first place? Who cares, or else there would be no Eaten Alive.

Eaten Alive is everything you would expect from a third world cannibal flick. Filmed in 16mm full of mediocre acting, rough editing, shaky photography, tons of graphic violence and unjustifiable animal cruelty. Full frontal nudity throughout the entire film, and women are portrayed as useless and pathetic.

Crocs are stabbed to death, and reptiles eat monkeys ... stuff like that. Humans are mutilated and Eaten Alive. A Cannibal is castrated as the hungry cannibals proceed on a feast of live reptile soup. A female follower has her breast sliced off and eaten.

This is pure exploitation. The director used footage from other cannibal atrocities and edited them into this one due to financial problems. The recycled footage is from the director's own film "Man from Deep River", Ruggero Deodato's "The Last Cannibal World" and Sergio Martino's "Mountain of the Cannibal God".

Eaten Alive is indeed a guilty pleasure of a film that was directed by Umberto Lenzi. He had previously made "Man from Deep River" staring Ivan Rassimov and Me Me lai. Starring in this one as well, Rassimov is the cult leader Jonas, and Me Me a cult follower who has just lost her husband. The husband is burned, and the young woman is forced to have intercourse with the husband's 3 brothers. Of course this is all part of a ritual to be witnessed by the entire community.

Robert Kerman from "Cannibal Holocaust" is back in this one, as the Vet promised a healthy amount of 80.000 dollars if he finds the lost sister, dead or alive. Mr. Kerman was a porn star that later went on to bigger productions, and had a small part in Sam Raimi's "Spiderman.

If you like trashy films with funky music, gore and bad dialogue, you will be pleased. "Do you like Rock?" "No, I like whiskey."

If you want to see this in a hurry, watch the US trailer that practically summarizes the whole film and shows most of the violence.
Ariuza k.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2011
Not my favourite by Umberto Lenzi frankly I am leaning on his Giallo Paranoia or his exploitation classic Cannibal Ferox. Eaten Alive proves to be nothing shorty of a classic Jungle Adventure don't be put off by its ridicules looking cover nothing like that happens in the film and of course this is one of my all-time Italian classics and in this movie a big thumbs up to actor Robert kerman. This is the 2nd part in his jungle trilogy first being the Inspirational movie Man from Deep River and then the last movie notorious for being the most violent movie ever made Cannibal Ferox. This however is not violent I picked it up on DVD for 900yen cheap and it only holds a 15 rating the only warning is that is contains intense scene for people under 15.

Of course the movie is inspired by the Jones town massacre even using the same names as some of the victims and story, but it moves from that and goes into somewhat of a different direction.

A man is assassinating people in New York City but he himself gets hit by a car and in his pocket were photos of Sheila sister who disappeared 5 months ago. So she travels to the jungles of Malaysia to look for her while she is there she hires Mark a travel guide and promise to pay his $80,000. Across the way they ran into a savage tribe they feast on peoples flesh and find her sister who has joined a Cult. But unlike many cults this place is nice and lovely but Mark soon discovers Jones is drugging people for them to be under his control.
And Sheila and her sister are falling under the power of Jones.

I must say I really liked the story its better then your average Jungle adventure and you feel the suspense of them and all the people at the town.
It's also funny and humours I Laughed at the ending scene were Mark Finds out that the 80g's her was getting is not going to happened because Jones has all her sisters money
"See its funny we go throw all that and you check did nothing but bounce"-Mark
"So who is going to pay for your expanses?"-Sheila
"That's what I would like to find out"-Mark
So her tear's up the check and throw's it out the window in NYC pissed off.

Must give Robert Kerman a big thumbs up in his role as Mark Butler an ex vitamin veteran who is our hero if the story. I really do think Kerman is an underrated actor who had so much talent in this film. I like the action scenes with him where he is hanging of the helicopter while the natives are attacking him so they fly off and he looks back to see they are leaving the area were everyone died.

Janet Agren as Sheila I was a bit mixed on not the best performances I have seen unlike Kerman I don't think she has had much to do with these films. Again my favourite scene with her is when there crossing the river to get to the helicopter and both her and Mark are hanging into it while there flying throw the jungle and the natives throwing spears and rocks at them.

Ivan Rassimov is one of my all-time favourite Italian actors him as Jones was just frighting, First parts of the movie he is this kind leader of this jungle town then he turns into this insane Lunatic bent on creating the perfect town built on drugs and greed. He himself is model after the real Jones only he is not that Cruel. But he ends everything the same way with the drugs and cyanide. So overall he is just perfect.

The special effects are extremely good indeed but there weren't much of them because there weren't many scenes needed to use them, some killing scenes but that's it. The music is composed by buddy Malodour and I love the late 70s score with the City scene and the credits.

I think I come to a close and not much more to say over then one of my all-time favourite Jungle Adventure movies. With an awesome story and cast as well as scene and ending.
August 31, 2010
Hmm you must have already seen the poster and be thinking why would I watch something like this of course I am not 18 it?s because I like Italian exploration films or Cannibal films but this has to be the sickest one I have seen so far. So I was going to download Santa Sangre but after downloading Cannibal Ferox I decide to get another one of Umberto Lenzi?s films. This movie is pretty much a Rape and revenge film or AKA porn.

A woman is searching for her missing sister and she finds hope in the folly of a dead hit-man who has a film on him. The film shows some sadistic torture and a brief cameo by her sister taken by a documentary film crew who obviously didn't make it out. She then leaves for the jungle joined by cannibal film regular Robert Kerman (playing Mark Butler), where they meet up with the standard Cannibal tribe and a Jim Jones like cult leader. Of course escape is next to impossible with the always-hungry cannibals waiting them out and the crazy followers of the suicide cult leader ready to eat them on command.

Trust me the film does way worse then what I wrote it?s a cannibal film of course you are going to see Animal murders, scenes of graphic nudity, castration, rape, beheading, and impalement. The acting is really nothing but average but Robert Kerman does put on a good performance. The special effects are a major praise but a lot of the footage in this film was lifted from other cannibal films. The music was okay in some parts it made it feel really exotic. In a way this was based on the Johnstown massacre.

Here are some facts I fond on this film

Scenes originally from the movies The Man from the Deep River (1972) (crocodile being killed with a small knife, and a woman being killed and eaten by cannibals), Last Cannibal World (1977) (Me Lay's death sequence), and The Mountain of the Cannibal God (1978) (castration scene, footage of a snake eating a monkey, and a man being pulled into the water by a crocodile), were edited into this movie.

One of the most heavily censored films ever made.

Overall it was an okay but if you must know I did watch this film Uncut only because I hate censored films but lucky for me the animal murders were cut out. I admit it was enjoyable and I can recommend if you like these kinds of films but don?t watch it if you don?t. The only main reason I am giving this a 60% because a ton of other films are edited into this.
August 1, 2009
This is the best Cannibal Movie no other show that kind of Violence the Cannibals really anatomize their Victims in a disturbing Atmosphere also a great Perfomance of Ivan Rassimov
April 19, 2010
Better than Cannibal Ferox, but definitely no Cannibal Holocaust. Should at least satisfy the gorehounds with several explicit scenes of cannibalism.
June 2, 2008
Again, as in other films dealing with cannibalism, we discover that someone has gone missing deep in a primitive, hostile and wild place. This time (for a change), it's not the Amazon, but rather New Guinea. What can be done about this missing person? What has become of them? Like so many before it, "Eaten Alive" sends it's protagonists alarmingly under-prepared into the jungle.

Robert Kerman, a cannibal-film lover's Harrison Ford, takes us again on another adventure through the Green Inferno, (as Deodato might say!). He is a hired-gun (not literally), and is offered US$80,000 to recover Sheila's sister. That's about it, really. Why he is the man for the job we're never really told, but we soon see that he's pretty helpful, if not strangely emotional at points.

It's not until things progress through some rather trying dramatic scenes that we finally get to see some hard-core gore. And, I must say, they do not disappoint much. Sure, the make-up effects may be a little basic (I hate when blood looks like paint), but the intention behind the acts of cruelty are really blood-curdling. One scene, where a woman's rib-cage is pried apart like a chicken-breast really is gruesome. Another scene treats a woman's breast like a side of beef - which is a shame because you get used to seeing them throughout countless of lead-up scenes!

Musically, this film is mixed. The slower-tempo tracks are really effective, eerie, and catchy. However, the strangely up beat music (a cross of funk and disco) used in the urban scenes is really quite tasteless and confusing. Anyone who has seen Lenzi's other work, ("Cannibal Ferox" for one) will have heard this soundtrack before.

There is a startling resemblance to a real event featured heavily in this film. For those who know of the Jonestown Massacre, watching this film will fill you with a severe case of dj vu. The film's villain, a man called "Jonas", is a direct reference to Brian Jones - the founder of Jonestown in Guyana. The cult-like activity and suicidal tendencies are paralleled within the film significantly. Such details as mention of "outsiders", the drinking of drug-laced water, and overall stigma pervaded by Jonas is strikingly similar. And, without giving too much away, things end remarkably similarly to the real events at Jonestown.

Eaten Alive has it's problems, but it is by no means worth ignoring for fans of gore or cannibal films.
Page 1 of 5