The Main Event - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Main Event Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ September 28, 2014
The whole premise is hookie and tripe so why the hell did I like this movie;well beats the hell out of me but I did anyway.
July 3, 2014
Guilty favorite. Technically not a great movie, but just fun and good chemistry between O'Neal & Streisand.
Super Reviewer
½ August 3, 2013
a reuniting of a previously classic screen pairing in the hopes of buffering a plain, mildly humoured script which couldn't be tempered by any director
September 2, 2012
Babs does Rocky strange film
February 19, 2011
Babs does Rocky strange film
Super Reviewer
½ January 18, 2011
This is like a modern version of Pat and Mike in a way, but slightly funnier. Still it's a predictable romantic comedy. Overall it's pretty good.
December 16, 2010
Hadn't seen this movie since the 80's
½ November 19, 2010
Barbra Streisand's answer to Rocky.
½ January 28, 2010
Barbra Streisand plays ryan o neils personal trainer He is a struggeling boxer trying to make it to the top and she is thefire in the cracker that he needed :) Great feel good Film.. Wanted to drop the Chips And Do a few crunches ;p
Super Reviewer
July 5, 2009
I saw this as a kid when it first came out in the theatres. Although having not reviewed it since, I remember it being a half decent flick.
terris85017
Super Reviewer
½ March 7, 2009
Delightful, charming comedy showcasing the talents of both leads.....impossible circumstances bring out the tough in both of these...what a reflecton of the 1970's!!! LOL
June 12, 2008
agian retarded. but i still enjoyed it.
½ September 17, 2008
Cute movie...I loved it years ago when I watched it...
½ September 15, 2008
Medium really... far from the previous screwball comedy that first united Ryan O'Neal & Barbra Streisand (What's Up Doc?).
June 21, 2008
Could have been more interesting
Super Reviewer
June 12, 2008
Even though it reunites the starts, it doesn't even compare to "What's Up Doc".
June 10, 2008
Extra! Extra! I wasted $ 3.11 on this!
May 26, 2008
brilliant. Quite possibly the finest film on '79.
½ February 6, 2008
Another star vehicle.
April 8, 2008
Streisand is all that is cruel and evil in this world. Her music is awful. Her movies are worse. She loves the sound of orgasms. Can you say weird? I can't without saying Striesand. I have smelt farts taht entertained me more than BABS ever will. Rosie O'Donnel's ever growing love for her sickens me. Vote libertarian.
Page 2 of 3