Next of Kin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Next of Kin Reviews

Page 1 of 10
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
November 20, 2007
Swayze returns along with the likes of Liam Neeson to kick ass Southern-style in the big city in this revenge tail.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2009
This is a vey predictable yet moderately entertaining story of a hillbilly family in a feud against a mob family. It really is as silly and ridiculous as it sounds, but the 80's camp and cheesiness factors and the fact that Liam Neeson is at his scenery chewing best as one of the hillbillies make this an ok movie to watch when nothing else is on.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ July 23, 2009
This action movie isn't too bad, but it is not particularly action-packed, director John Irvin does provide the expected gunplay and macho confrontations. However, despite a surprisingly distinguished cast (also including Helen Hunt and Michael J. Pollard), little distinguishes the film from numerous other revenge stories with a similar outline. This action film is full of action and has some great fight scenes. Daniel Baldwin is great as the villian and look for a young Ben Stiller before he hit his prime.
cancercapricorn2002
Super Reviewer
February 8, 2009
Director John Irvin must have a real passion for mob movies. He tries his best in both Schwarzenegger's Raw Deal and a few years later with Patrick Swayze's Next of Kin to create a violent, good action film but make it passionate and dramatic and all about crime family vs crime family. However with Next of Kin he must have fine tuned some of the mistakes from the rather slow moving Raw Deal. Next of Kin is a much better film and perhaps a big part of that is the strong cast of future stars Next of Kin carries. Liam Neeson, Helen Hunt, Ben Stiller, Bill Paxton, and even Patrick Swayze who was really at the height of his career in this film...between Dirty Dancing and Ghost.

Next of Kin takes a rather liberal view at a group of people not normally dealt with in films...mountain people...or hillbillies if you will. Swayze plays a former country boy who moved to the big city, became a cop, married his love, and is now urbanized himself. His little brother who aims to follow up in his footsteps ends up getting himself murdered by the crime family, Isabella. The rest of his "kin" want Swayze to avenge the death but Swayze is determined to let justice take it's course. Again, much like Raw Deal, Next of Kin is about vengeance and anger and it all bottles up until one big explosion of revenge in the end. The big difference is that Next of Kin stays interesting through the whole movie right up to and including the end and still has some really great action scenes to boot.

The cast as previously mentioned is very well done fortunately for Mr. Irvin. Swayze plays a convincing cop and mountain boy and him and Helen Hunt have decent chemistry for their brief on screen moments. Adam Baldwin as the blood thirsty villain does a good job (not as good his later performance in Joss Whedon's Serenity (aka Firefly) as Jayne but he is convincing as the bad guy. Ben Stiller's brief role is also quite good as the smarter villain but he doesn't last long. Overall Next of Kin is a decent entry in the eighties action genre. It has it's moments and is worth checking out for those full of nostalgia.
April 28, 2014
What do a director from England (John Irvin), an Irshman (Liam Neeson), and Ben Stiller know about being a redneck???

Skip this piece of garbage and watch Blue Ruin [2013] if you want a good ole down-home revenge story.
April 13, 2014
Embarrassed to say I like this movie even though the stereo types of Mafia and Hill Billy's is so ridiculous...
October 11, 2011
Great all around movie with a very strong message on family and what you will do to protect them. Excellent example of finding the limit and when and where to cross it.
August 12, 2007
Probably the finest hillbilly cop movie ever made. Pure 80's cheese going on here. Patrick Swayze is a big city cop caught between two worlds when his brother is murdered. This one has a great supporting cast of people who were kind've unkown at the time. Helen Hunt, Liam Neeson, Bill Paxton, and a really young Ben Stiller. Liam Neeson plays Swayze's hillbilly brother who comes to town to get revenge as well. You know you have a winner when we get a crossbow thron into the mix as a weapon. Next of Kin didn't win any awards but it is some mindless fun.
½ April 22, 2011
What is the best Patrick Swayze film that I've ever seen, Oh! It's "Ghost" with Demi Moore, well in that film he's dead. And speaking of dead, here we go again, an another super predictable and yet dead movie with intense action sequences plus some romance. So, what do you want from this movie, I think you will be only disappointed in what you will expect. Who cares? Still it has great cast, Patrick Swayze of course, Liam Neeson in his early role who is much better in Taken and Unknown, Helen Hunt, is that really Helen Hunt, and then Ben Stiller, who is I think should have been in a comedy film than in a film like this. And as the movie goes on, lots of killing, lots of plan, lots of dialogue, but wait where's the plot?
Well, I guess that's what the film can give to the audiences, another same old crap story that I'm always tired of watching and yet it is not good. And it could have been more a lot better.
½ July 18, 2009
You'd think that with a cast this good, the film might be on the same level, but unfortunately, it follows the path of The Spirit (a terrible film w/ a spectacular cast). This film is absolutely terrible, mostly because of Patrick Swayze's bad acting. Next of Kin is basically an even worse version of Roadhouse, which says it all right there.
June 5, 2009
Great family movie, this is how family should stick together!






Great movie, this is how family should stick together.
½ December 31, 2008
Hillbillies vs. the mob. Shows you where Patrick Swayze was in his career then. For Liam, this was a far cry from Excalibur.
December 23, 2008
Hillbillies take on the mob. That's really all you need to know in order to come to the conclusion this one of the best movies ever. Number two in the Swayze cannon for sheer brilliance.
June 10, 2007
Pretty boring actually. Not bad per se, but on the bottom part of the mediocre barrel. Just never entertains enough to warrant any sort of recommendation beyond you being half comatose, and it being on TV. The 'Mountain' accents are kinda annoying, but some of the dialogue is kinda funny, Liam Neeson has such a drawl you can't help but chuckle. It is weird to see Adam Baldwin as a villain, and it's also weird to see Ben Stiller show up in a bit part in a movie that isn't remotely a comedy. Swayze plays Swayze with a ponytail and a silly accent, but you should really just skip this one and watch 'Roadhouse' again.
½ January 15, 2008
If he wasn't in roadhouse he would never have had the idea he was a hard ass and could have been a blessing for us all... but they had to make this didn't they
½ January 6, 2008
Anything with Swayze as an action hero is worth seeing once. When Bill Paxton is his brother, it's worth owning.
November 12, 2007
This one I can understand the meaning when man kills his baby brother and the other brother from the south comes for revenge and he is killed, then you get the intire family, for me I have the same model cause I am born a southern and raised the same way..
½ September 2, 2007
liked this movie and the coming together of 2 families to settle their differences. It is truely a modern Hatfield and McCoy
August 20, 2007
A modern Hatfield, and McCoy, set in a big city, but this time, it's with an Italian Mafia, one of which murders a Hillbillie man, who happens to be a Detective's baby brother.
½ July 10, 2007
Great cast (including a younger Adam Baldwin!!!) and some cool scenarios. It's not great, but it's enjoyable and fun cheese. It has no gripes about what kind of movie it is, just does what it does. Also, Liam Neeson as a cajun....just let that sink in a moment. :)
Page 1 of 10