Navy Seals Reviews

Page 1 of 22
Super Reviewer
½ August 11, 2009
This is probably one of the best over the top kick ass gung ho testosterone filled alpha male fests. You want ice cool shade wearing showing off with ridiculously dangerous stunts then this is it. The cast is what really rocks here with a classic list of 80's action stars...Sheen, Biehn, Paxton and Rossovich, can't get much better than that right.

The plot is pretty much one set piece after another with little plot in between which normally would be poor but this film is practically a late entry in the 80's action genre so its easily forgiven. The plot tends to circle around the good guys trying to pick up these missiles before the bad guys (Middle Eastern chaps) can get a hold of em. A few hostage rescues in there too of course...God bless America etc...Its gloriously silly in places clearly leaning more towards a hyped up action man vibe over simulated realism...this film has a high popcorn count, no thinking required.

Well I say that but there is a small amount of semi realism here, these guys aren't totally inflated versions of SEAL's. The film does attempt to bring some real life issues into the fold from time to time, family problems etc...barely touched on but its there. There is of course the obligatory tension between certain members of the team at one point, Biehn being the by the books leader where as Sheen is his typical rebellious self.

Again this also leads to the obligatory death of a fellow team member due to Sheen's reckless actions in the field, its all very predictable and we've seen this type of thing before. Here its cheesed up to the max with Sheen getting out of control and becoming a loose cannon whilst the others must all band together and be even more macho and stoic than ever before. Watch those tanned jawlines clench as they bare the weight of their high profile responsibilities.

Plenty of flashy stunts, many witty one liners and quips and a suitably kick ass finale as the guys run around in war torn Beirut. Its not over the top with blood or profanity which shows you don't need that to be cool (Expendables take note), but it isn't for the younger viewers that's for sure (everything modern take note).

The films gives you exactly what you'd expect with a cast line up like this, pure slick action with extra man nipples. Think of this as the 'Top Gun' of cliched special forces macho porn, but its oh so good at the same time, undiluted awesomeness fuel.
Super Reviewer
½ January 4, 2007
I've been meaning to watch this for years, had some of the big names of actions films from the 90's and 80's even. It has a very simple plot and to be honest doe's look a bit dated compared to more recent action films, not bad for the time it was made.
deano
Super Reviewer
March 20, 2007
The desperate search to find another branch of the services to undergo a Top Gun Treatment settles on naval commandos. American response to Middle Eastern terrorism is to send this bunch of larger louts in, knowing that whichever side ends up.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
½ January 24, 2007
decent flick
Super Reviewer
½ December 6, 2006
Every time I've seen this I've been drunk or stricken with some form of grief. So with a straight mind this review may be lower.
whosinthenews
Super Reviewer
July 5, 2009
If you watched Top Gun and thought hey, I really enjoyed the "playing with the boys" volleyball scene, I wish there was a similar film that features rowdy, greased up military men on a golf outing...
spaulsson
Super Reviewer
August 23, 2008
A few good dialogs and action scenes but overall a terrible and ridiculous script. Could work as a comedy when drunk though.
Super Reviewer
½ June 26, 2008
I love charlie sheen to death and always enjoy when he puts out a movie now and then. This was ok, michael biehn was also cool
October 3, 2014
Starts off okay but just gets really dumb. This movie believes that it's still totally in the 80s, and tries to be Top Gun so hard. But Top Gun, despite it's dumb scenes, had some pretty cool moments, which this film lacks.
February 26, 2010
The red headed step-child of Top Gun. I like Charlie Sheen as an actor but he is no action star. When the two best acting jobs you get in a movie are from Dennis Haysbert and Rick Rossavich then you might have a problem. This movie went for two gun trading in top navy pilots in for top navy soldiers and the story just is not there. You lose all the cool shots of planes and that camera work of Tony Scott. This is a C- version of Top Gun.
September 13, 2009
High-powered action film that is positively relentless. The action keeps coming at you and you won't get a breath in edgewise. The cast is first rate, although the ndialogue in most parts is just elaborate enough to move the story forward. There are a few dramatic non-violent moments, but this film is about Seals in action. It's wild.
January 5, 2009
This has to be one of my favorite films..
You just cant beat Charlie Sheen and of-course Michael Biehn..
January 8, 2008
Great cast - realism is non-existant from non-regulation haircuts to holding mission briefings on a runway. Ever heard of consultants? If they paid one, he should give a refund
½ July 25, 2007
why not 5 stars? because aside from some weird homo stuff, it's a boring piece of shit. Plus, Bernie Casey's not in it.
½ May 23, 2007
Not sure what's more absurd. This movie's over the top dialogue or Charlie Sheen as a Navy Seal. Those guys are harder than a coffin nail. The hardest thing Charlie has ever done was recover from a hangover with two hookers.
½ March 25, 2007
This movie isnt fantastic by any means but its entertaining. The best part in the movie is when the Seals call apon "GOD"
February 28, 2007
i really like this movie cause my uncle was in the marines........i was really young at the time too
October 6, 2006
These guys could never make it in the Navy Seals as they are some of the most professional military men around and not loose cannons like Sheen's character.
October 3, 2006
Entertaining story about Navy SEALS going to Lebanon looking for a cheap nuclear device. Lots of screaming and shooting and explosions. Charlie Sheen grimaces atleast 3 times.
May 18, 2015
I loved this film and though Charlie Sheen was brilliant.
Page 1 of 22