Night of the Living Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Night of the Living Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 111
Super Reviewer
June 1, 2012
Mediocre remake of a zombie classic. There is nothing really to say about this remake aside that it is very much like the first, shot for shot, and doesn't do anything good whatsoever to try and break new ground where some remakes do, or at least try, this one doesn't. Sure it changes a few things around, but overall, it doesn't do anything thrilling that will appeal to the viewer. If you've seen the original, then there is no need in seeing this version. Directed by veteran horror special effects artist Tom Savini, this updated version of George Romero's classic film does feature well done special effects. But that's the only good thing about this film. This film relies way too much on the first film to create its tone, like I said it's shot for shot. Thus it becomes predictable, and uninteresting. The cast are decent, nothing ever good. However they don't make this film good or decent. Since this film is way too close to the source material to the original, it's clear that there was no other reason to remake the Romero classic to try and do something refreshing to the story. The only reason they remade the film was to make it for a new type of audience. This film simply doesn't do it for me, and I felt that it was quite unnecessary to remake it. Stick with the classic film, as you're not missing out on anything with this film. This film is just the same old carbon copy that we've seen such as Gus Van Sant's Psycho. Do yourself a favor and avoid this film.
Super Reviewer
½ June 26, 2011
Night of the Living Dead (1990), just like the original, have a very good screenplay, and show more action and scary moments with the special effects, Tom Savini's direction help, a lot too this fun remake from George A. Romero's 1968 classic. Fresh.
Super Reviewer
½ May 3, 2007
Reasonably good remake of the influencial original from '68. Manages to achieve the same atmosphere as the first and attempts to out-do it in terms of the gory content, which it just about manages despite it being cut to please the MPAA. The film also features some of the best looking Zombies ever to appear in the genre. It may be a pointless remake but still a solid little film.
Super Reviewer
½ January 25, 2007
really an average remake. tony todd was the only great casting decision, and most of the cast was guilty of some horrible overacting. tom towles played cooper like a caricature of the original version. most of the changes made from the remake were for the worse, and the only reason to see this is for comparison. the original is much better.
Super Reviewer
November 28, 2010
4 stars
Super Reviewer
May 25, 2010
25/05/2010 (ONLINE)

I watched this back to back with the original that was made in "1968".

It was interesting and fun to notice and compare the tweaks and adjustments they made from the original. I was also amused to see the cast of actors and actresses who would play the roles of the original casting.

It probably doesn't compare to the original but I enjoyed watching both versions evenly.
Super Reviewer
½ December 10, 2006
This remake of George A. Romero's 1968 classic zombie chiller is getting much better with full-colour and more effects than the black-and-white original film.
Director Tom Savini creates a great atmosphere. The characters feel real as well. The cast is perfect even Patricia Tallman is an engaging lead performance as a tough,independent heroine.
Horror remake of George A. Romeo's 1968 Night of the Living Dead.
Super Reviewer
½ March 4, 2006
I used to think that I loved this remake. It turns out its dialogue and acting are at a high school level. I'll stick with the original.
Super Reviewer
January 6, 2009
Less atmospheric and more commercial than the 1968 original. This 90's remake has the advantage of a larger budget and better effects but only a fraction of the gruesome ambience.
Super Reviewer
½ February 2, 2008
a nice companion piece in the Romero cannon of zombie films
Rewatched over the net outage. The question I have to keep asking myself is would I be so biased to liking this if it weren't Savini's feature directing debut. And I've concluded this - if it weren't Savini's, I'd want to know whose it was because it's a damn good movie especially compared to what it has to live up to. I love the character/plot modifications. This movie allows you to more openly and loudly hate Cooper, and also to examine Ben as a full character, faults and all, and not just "the hero of the day". This Barbara is way more interesting than a shell shocked one , and the end of this movie stands on par with the end of its original (though they are complimentary of each other - boosting both endings to better dramatic heights than if there were just one ending).

It gets that extra half star (beyond the four) just because it kicks ass enough to have, for me, near infinite replay value.
Super Reviewer
April 25, 2008
A really good remake and it follows the original movie almost shot for shot. This is a creepy one and the kind of horror flick that has gone the way of the dodo as the torture porn has taken over the industry.
Super Reviewer
April 19, 2008
A remake done with an actual sense of time and place. Gorier than the original (Tom Savini is in charge here, so...) but also with some nice twists here and there. Tony Todd is seriously a very underrated actor.
Super Reviewer
½ April 10, 2008
Was this needed?
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2007
Fantastic update. Surpasses the original in almost every facet.
Super Reviewer
December 20, 2007
A pretty good remake of the original, executive produced and scripted by George A. Romero. Of course, it's inevitably tempting to wish he'd directed as well, but make-up man turned director Tom Savini does a decent job on the whole, surprisingly abstaining from excessive gore effects. Much of the pleasure for fans of the original derives from the clever confounding of our expectations. Though nothing can match the shattering final irony of Romero's version, Savini's climaxes with its own effective clutch of ironies.
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2007
Despite this being an okay remake watching it still felt a bit like pissing on a van Gough.
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2007
A remake of the original "Night of the Living Dead" with enhanced gore effects, tweaked characters, full-color scenes, synthesized music and effective direction. It's powerful in its own right and does not diminish or insult the original. I liked it. The only sad thing about it is the ugly DVD cover.
Super Reviewer
½ December 26, 2006
Kind of pointless, really. Didn't dramatically improve over the original, but it didn't completely suck.
Super Reviewer
½ June 6, 2007
I loved the remake of Dawn Of The Dead, and as this was scripted by Romero himself, I thought I'd give it a shot. And seriously wished I hadn't. It's directed like a bad Stephen King TV movie by Savini, and even the usually reliable Tony Todd was hamming it up embarrassingly. All the elements that made the original work were diluted horribly, and the effects were actually more rubbery and unconvincing than the original. All there was to this was a bunch of straight to video actors shouting/whining at each other while doing DIY, with no tension or drama to speak of. But worst of all was the score, which sounded like two inebriated cats running up and down an 80s home organ keyboard. Basically, it's awful.
Super Reviewer
½ February 17, 2007
Quite a good film, with a blessedly more hopeful ending than the downbeat conclusion of the original.
Page 1 of 111