Movies Like Much Ado About Nothing

Opening

64% Hercules Jul 25
59% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
—— The Fluffy Movie Jul 25
89% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
55% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
19% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Much Ado About Nothing Reviews

Page 3 of 134
July 24, 2013
an absolute delight!
July 22, 2013
It reminded me of a Diane Keaton movie.
July 10, 2013
I am reviewing this because , in my opinion, it is Shakespearian perfection. I can (and have) watched it again and again over the years. Guaranteed to make a Shakespeare lover out of anyone. And the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. Be patient when first watching, it is amazing how the brain eventually adjusts to the difference in syntax. By the end, you forget it's Shakespearian prose.
July 5, 2013
A delightful effervescent romp through Shakespeare's wonderful comedy. Branagh and Thompson are delicious perfection as Benedick and Beatrice.
April 2, 2008
Love, love, love this movie. Oh, and the place where they filmed it? I want to go to there.
July 1, 2013
Kate Winslet is so adorable.
May 25, 2008
Kate Beckinsale? Guess i have to see it :(
Al S

Super Reviewer

April 20, 2013
A total blast, it's an utterly delightful and wonderfully cheerful romantic-comedy that you will just fall in love with. A masterpiece. Director, Kenneth Branagh proves he is a true master of the interpretation of Shakespeare's work and has a wonderful all-star cast to back it up. It's extremely entertaining and tremendously enjoyable. The battle of the sexes has never been this much fun. Kenneth Branagh, Denzel Washington, Robert Sean Leonard, Michael Keaton, Kate Beckinsale, Emma Thompson and Keanu Reeves have sensational chemistry, they show great love and passion to the material and their characters, showing they are having a blast. Branagh and Thompson are excellent. Washington is magnificent. Leonard and Beckinsale are a revelation. Keaton is hilarious. A hilarious and heartfelt movie. A true classic. Shakespeare has never been this much fun. A real gem.
April 17, 2013
A great adaptation. The performances were the most impressive.
April 14, 2013
Confusing movie. Probably because I didn't understand most of the vocab. The romance was great though.
March 10, 2013
Delightful to revisit. Shakespearean whimsy wrapped up in a visual feast.
July 5, 2007
Perhaps I was too clueless about Shakespeare too appreciate it. I just found it boring.
March 8, 2013
couldn't watch it from the beggining, so
February 4, 2013
Just love this film, apart from Keanu Reeves obviously!!! Kenneth and Denzel, wallop!!!
January 22, 2013
Really well done, mostly because of great acting from Beatrice and Benedick, and really fun because everyone was so ridiculously jolly the whole time. Also, ... Keanu Reeves! Ahahaha! ... Okay, I'm done now.
January 13, 2013
"There was a star danced, and under that was I born. "
Carl gave me this one for Christmas, and we watched it again last night. I love the stellar performances, humor, and wit of Branagh's adaptation.
January 9, 2013
Watched this way back in Intermediate school and absolutely loved it.
December 28, 2012
lol... we watched this in English... it was great!
Stefano L.
December 24, 2012
Dopo il successo di pubblico e critica di Henry V, Branagh torna a rivisitare il territorio shakespeariano con Much Ado About Nothing, una delle opere più frizzanti ed predilette dell'illustre drammaturgo britannico. Lo sfondo storico si sposta dal periodo rinascimentale ad un'ambientazione italiana di metà ottocento, ambientata a Messina ma ripresa nelle campagne toscane, con un'intro che addirittura potrebbe richiamare alla memoria anche le quinte della vecchia tradizione western. Niente paura però, perchè il regista riesce a combinare due contesti molto differenti senza inabissarsi nel cattivo gusto della modalità stilistica, ed offrendo anzi una curiosa e piacevole cornice agrodolce compassata da un gruppo di attori di ottimo livello, caratterizzato dai migliori interpreti dei libri di casting europei e statunitensi. Il controllo sull'apparato scenico è esemplare, e nonostante la natura plateale del testo sia di difficile assimilazione in alcuni frangenti per via della velocità chiaramente teatrale della sceneggiatura, l'allestimento dell'effige drammaturgica viene gestita con grande misura ed una presa sicura nella successione di intrecci comici e scellerati, dando una prova di grande avvedutezza nella maniera del suo autore. Branagh e la Thompson sono ovviamente i chiosatori più suadenti dell'intera riproduzione dell'impianto rappresentativo, riuscendo contemporeaneamente a realizzare un'intercapedine perfetta con i ruoli primari e secondari degli altri caratteristi: le loro presenze sono infatti le più pregiate e gradevoli; sembra però non aver ottenuto una completa compiutezza descrittiva l'immagine cinica e perversa del perfido Don John (Keanu Reeves), così come stona leggermente il visetto poco espressivo e da spot pubblicitario di Robert Sean Leonard, rispetto ad espositori del calibro di Richard Briers e Denzel Washington (da segnalare anche la parte di un'appena ventenne Kate Beckinsale nei panni di Hero, ed un curioso ingresso di Michael Keaton nel ruolo del grottesco guardiano Carruba). Ad ogni modo la corpatura strutturale della pellicola, particolarmente degna di nota per il virtuosismo della sua elaborazione, non può che essere la prova di come Branagh sia uno degli artisti più sagaci e fidati nella consegna di una libertà reinterpretativa, bilanciata ed ingegnosa, dei più noti componimenti storiografici.
December 16, 2012
I loved the engery of the entire cast. It brought to life what can often be a boring and poorly acted play with a wonderful excitement.
Page 3 of 134
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile