Movies Like Heavyweights (Heavy Weights)

Opening

17% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
55% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Heavyweights (Heavy Weights) Reviews

Page 2 of 93
March 3, 2014
Enjoyable family fat-camp comedy, mainly for Ben Stiller's over-the-top performance as the idiot owner where he showcases his talents better utilised in some of his future movies.
February 14, 2014
Tony Perkis', "Perkisize"
January 13, 2014
I liked it the first time I watched it. The second time, not so much. I guess "Heavyweights" is one of those movies you only like as a kid.
December 16, 2013
it was an amusing and a funny movie all the way around
SarfarazAbbasi
December 10, 2013
Heavyweights Walt Disney Pictures children's comedy film - direted by Steven Brill and co-written by Steven Brill and Judd Apatow. Starring Ben Stiller (in antagonist role), Aaron Schawrtz (child-actor), Tim Blake Nelson.

Gerry (Aaron Schwartz) is a fat young boy, his parents want to send him to camp called "Camp Hope" built for fat-kids to engage in weight-losing activities; which is owned by sweet elderly couple (real-life parents of Ben Stiller 1. Jerry Stiller and 2. Anne Meara), and good-doer camp-janitor (Tom McGowan). These kids are cared and not disturbed in their excessive eating-habit. But not until, Gerry arrives at camp to find out on 'Orientation Day' as announced by owners that camp has been sold to a new-owner Tony Perkins (Ben Stiller). Tony is harsh, crispy, bone-crusher with his ruthless team. He vows not to stop until he sees each one of the kids is slim!

Movie does have got its moments of fun, but it ultimately suffers from too much of too-much. Climax scene brings nothing special to it. I don't think, the audience will wait to see by the end of film, all that Gerry dreamt about 'Camp Hope'.
Meghan P.
October 1, 2013
This movie is hilarious!
EntertainMeOrDie
September 20, 2013
74%
A completely underrated comedy with an OTT performance by Ben Stiller, and it's hilarious.
September 7, 2013
I don't know I missed this one back in the day.

It's some of Apatow's earlier work.

Decent family fun.

[6/10]
September 4, 2013
While the ending is cheesy the movie is still freaking hilarious with a lot of funny performances!
August 16, 2013
Believe it or not, this is one of Ben Stiller's best performances. In many ways, it might be viewed as a prequel to DodgeBall, since the characters he plays are so similar. Yes, it is a Disney kids movie, but it's worth dealing with the overly sentimental moments to watch Ben Stiller go insane.
July 25, 2013
Interesting nostalgic 90's Disney film. Disney truly does not make films like this anymore; at times it is hard to tell if it is just bizarre, or ahead of it's time. Either way, I love it.
July 23, 2013
"Heavyweights" (1995) is not only one of the funniest summer camp movies of all time, but it's definitely one of my all time favorites! Everything from fat people jokes such as "Skinny Wieners", "Seymour Butts" (Originally "Peter Fitz") to a crazy and villainous fitness guru named "Tony Perkins". This has it all. Plus, it had three actors (who were previously in the "Mighty Ducks" movies) Aaron Schwartz, Shaun Weiss, & Kenan Thompson (who became a Nickelodeon star with "All That" and "Kenan & Kel", before joining the SNL cast). It's co-produced and co-written by Judd Apatow (Who would later became very popular with his TV shows and Movies such as "The 40 Year-Old Virgin", "Knocked Up".etc. and was directed by Steven Brill (Who was the creator and writer of "The Mighty Ducks" and his first debut as a director). The biggest star of the entire production belongs to Ben Stiller with his over the top performance as "Tony Perkins". Also, in the film are Allen Covert, Paul Feig, Tom Hodges, Tom McGowan, as well as Jerry Stiller & Anne Meara (Ben's real-life parents). This is one hilarious summer camp movie that never gets old, big laughs all around considering being a Disney film.
May 22, 2013
A cooky look at the beginning of America's obesity epidemic and the rise of self help gurus!
May 21, 2013
Friggin' Heavyweights, yeah!! This movie is awesome funny, I could watch it all day.
October 21, 2007
A classic comedy starring Ben Stiller as a health fanatic in charge of a fat camp!
Evans Scholar Speedy
April 13, 2013
Heavyweights is now more known for its historical significance than its moments on screen. It is here we can trace some of the most influential moviemakers of the 2000's. Heavyweights marks Ben Stiller's first film (his Dodgeball character is eerily similar to this one). The movie is also where Paul Feig and Judd Apatow met each other (Feig is a character, and Apatow is the producer). Those two would create Freaks and Geeks, and some of the best comedies of the new Millennium. It also now looks more like a 90's period piece as time goes on. Heavyweights is a very funny film about obese teens at a weight loss camp. It may not be deep, but it is one of the funniest films of the decade that set the stage for the comedy icons of a new generation of kids.

Gerry Garner (Aaron Schwartz), feels pretty great. School is out, and now he can just hang out for the summer. His father (Jeffrey Tambor) has other plans: he believes Jerry needs to lose weight, and thus he sends them to Camp Hope. At first Camp Hope seems like a paradise: Jerry can ride go-carts and be fast, and he is put in an awesome bunk with camp legends Roy (Kenan Thompson) and Josh (Shaun Weiss). However, the previous camp owner (Jerry Stiller) goes bankrupt, and in steps new owner Tony Perkis (Ben Stiller) son of the lighting fixture king of the Midwest. Perkis transforms the previously fun camp into a prison, not only running the camp with an iron fist, but demoting previous counselors Pat (Tom McGowan) and Tim (Paul Feig) to janitorial positions. Gerry, Pat, and the others must step up to stop Perkis before he makes them sick or hurts anyone with his extreme methods.

Heavyweights falls more in the silly comedy camp, but it is at least relatable to anyone who wants to lose some weight. Apatow, Director Steven Brill, and company know how execute a joke well, especially at the expense of a villain. In the more slapstick comedies, villains are so over the top they become narcissistic buffoons. As such, all their self-serious dialogue is purely tongue in cheek and usually generates uproarious laughter. In one scene, Ben Stiller says "Put the fruit trays away, the insects will be out soon" with the gravitas of Al Pacino in the Godfather. Because of the extreme seriousness of Stiller's delivery, this throwaway line kills, and Heavyweights is replete with dozens more.

The kids used in the film had previously been in other kids films and are seasoned comedy vets. Most importantly, they are not used as the butt of the joke, which makes them instantly sympathized by the audience. Much like a 90's kids movie as well, self-respect is treated with more importance than the initial goal of losing weight, making friends, etc. Self-respect is something all kids crave, making any of these kids relatable to the audience. Their personalities are fleshed out just enough to not make them types as well. Most of the kids get a moment to be more than the British one, the scientist, the cool kid, etc.

Heavyweights biggest failing is being too broad and surface-level as a comedy. Most of the rival sports camp kids are so obviously painted as the jerk jocks that the final competition between the camps feels less important than the stand off with Tony Perkis. Funny accents take too much precedence in some characters, and fart jokes are unnecessary because the dialogue is so good. Also, any deep thoughts on weight loss camps and the people who run them are pushed to the side in favor of a cheap gag. Fortunately the comedy well is deep and clever, but a little more ambition could have made Heavyweights into one of the all time great comedies.

The comedy talent alone in Heavyweights is worth the time investment. Most of these actors were really on the rise when this movie came about, and their jokes have a freshness and bite nicely fitting its 90's era. If anything, you will come out of this movie with some really great quotes. You'll get a laugh if you walk into a room with "Mmmm...can you smell it? There's a life force in here tonight!" or if you have a friend falling behind you can say "Leave him, he's a straggler!." Just thinking about them now makes me chuckle, and like Heavyweights, stay with you for a long time.
April 3, 2013
A farcical tale, Heavy Weights is a ridiculous film that features fun, family-friendly laughs as well as a brilliant performance from Ben Stiller. Though the story structure is flaccid as hell, I can't help but enjoy this film in particular.
March 24, 2013
The girl that dances with Gerry in the dance scene is now a playmate.
I end my review there.
May 9, 2012
Whoever rated this less than 4-stars, is obviously the most cold hearted person ever.
May 13, 2011
Low rank due to the diss on the Bills.
Page 2 of 93
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile