Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Heavy Metal Reviews

Page 1 of 76
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2012
Oh boy, does this movie have a reputation. That reputation varies from person to person. Whether it's its slammin' animation, the plethora of female nudity, or the amazing metal heavy soundtrack, this film appeals to many different people (mostly men) who either love it for all it is or love it despite its obvious flaws. The film was made in Canadian, is completely animated, and boasts the voices of famous Canadians including Harold Ramis, John Candy, and Eugene Levy. The film is made up of various segments and utilizes a diverse amount of animators. The styles are different throughout, but they are all connected by a glowing green orb that travels the universe and makes trouble for humans, aliens, and inter-dimensional warriors alike. The orb itself has a voice, and is relating these stories about the universe via a conduit that looks like a young girl. The stories are sometimes far too short to make any sense, and most of them revolve around the cult of man or space travel. There is also a very niche sense of humor, relating mostly to teenage boys who like to see robots mate with humans, or stoned alien pilots pull into a port. That's just one short, but there are usually some stagnant bits to each one, or else it only appeals to the male sensibilities. Still, the film overall is pretty great, boasting some interesting animation, ideas, and characters that aren't utilized in animation all that much. The last animated short, where the last warrior in an extinct race takes down the original orb, all while bedecked in skimpy armor and not saying a damned word, was actually empowering and awesome. That last short makes up for a lot, because it's long, paced correctly, and gives us a truly cool female hero, which just doesn't happen enough.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2013
The epitome of cult. It's an odd blend of so bad it's good sci-fi, tongue in cheek amnie and 'crumb' style pornography. Add to the mix an 80's rock soundtrack, popular 80's voices (John Candy, Eugene Levy, Harold Ramis) and some of the funniest dialogue in cinema history and you're on to a winner. Believe everything you've heard, it's as good/bad as it sounds and very much worth a watch!
Luke B

Super Reviewer

September 13, 2012
Heavy Metal is a bizarre animated anthology that doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Which is probably why it's pretty awesome. Based on a series of stories from a magazine of the same name, Heavy Metal takes a number of different animated styles and creates some science-fiction tales that are loosely connected thanks to a big glowing green thing called the Loc Mar. The tales range in absurdity and quality, but most have time to strip a woman naked for very simplistic reasons, such as thanking a man or tricking a man. SOme stories are very Twilight Zone-esque, such as the tale of Zombies in a bomber. But others are just weird, such as the woman taken into space, where she has coitus with a robot and the pilots of the ship are doing drugs. It really did feel like a long bizarre music video, with a bunch of stories that never really concluded properly. Some fantastic designs, good soundtrack, and things you are bound to not see anywhere else, means this is a strange curiosity you should definitely see at least once in your life.
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

April 26, 2007
Giving Ralph Bakshi a run for his money, the Canadian filmmaking team of Ivan Reitman, Harold Ramis, Eugene Levy and John Candy (among many others) got together to create Heavy Metal. Based on the graphics magazine of the same name, this rock and roll animated orgy of sleaze and science fiction is a feast for the senses. Carrying one of the greatest hard rock soundtracks in the history of cinema, it's filled to the brim with killer licks from the likes of Black Sabbath, Blue Oytster Cult, Devo, Sammy Hagar and Nazareth. The animation is stellar, the voice acting is superb and the stories are intriguing enough depsite the genre they originate from. Sure it leans more heavily toward male appeal, and perhaps that's mostly why it appeals to me, but I enjoy it every time I see it. It's still just as filthy and engaging as it was in 1981.
Jacob E

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2011
This movie is bad. Seriously, it's really not that good at all. The animation hasn't aged very well, the voice acting ranges from good to terrible, and the plot is about as existent as the clothing on females in this film (and if you look at the poster, that should give you an idea of how thin that really is). So why give it even 3 stars then? Simple, the soundtrack. Seriously, the soundtrack saves this movie and gives it a pop art/music video vibe that almost makes sense. With Sammy Hagar, Journey, Blue Oyster Cult, Black Sabaath and Dio, Grand Funk Railroad, Devo, and more. One other benefit of watching this film is that watching the 1997 film "The Fifth Element" becomes a lot more interesting, considering that its practically a live-action adaptation of this film. Watch this, but only once.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

April 2, 2011
I'm glad I saw this, but I'm not in a huge rush to see it again. I'm not usually one to rip on a movie for being puerile (I am after all a big fan of Drop Dead Fred), but there was little except boobs and monsters holding this movie together. I had heard the soundtrack to Heavy Metal 2000 before, and I was expecting much more from the score of this movie. Watching this though, it seemed like they just played the same song over and over. The animation is quite beautiful, but it pales in comparison to other examples of the era. I don't really understand the story here; they're six separate tales that seem to centre around a glowing extraterrestrail orb that seems to exist only to fuck with people's days. I really wanted to get on board with this movie, but I just never could. Oh well.
Cameron S

Super Reviewer

March 19, 2011
After the 2 hour search for this film with my uncle I was hoping that it would live up to my expectations, it of course, did. I feel that there are a few great little stories in this film, mainly the WW2 fighter pilot one and the future cab driver one. The rest of the stories, for me, are a bit hit or miss, I found myself enjoying some but in others I thought everything went on a bit to long. Overall an enjoyable film full of sex and violence.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

February 14, 2011
I had heard many things about this film. The film had been recommended to me by friends who told me that I would really enjoy this film to the fact that I have a passion for Horror, Sci Fi and heavy metal and rock music. They were right. But I would never get around to watching it. I was showed the B-17 segment, and I was sold. As a matter of fact, the B-17 story is one of my personal favorites of the entire film. One of favorite things about the film is of course the rock and metal soundtrack. Heavy Metal is a film that combines different genres of cinema into one film (Sci Fi, Fantasy, Horror and comedy) into one film. The films multiple genres gives it an awesome edge to the medium and it works incredibly well, due to the fact that each segment has the Loc Nair plot device to jump from one segment to the next. Heavy Metal can also be seen as an anthology of stories very much like Creepshow. The vast genres this film covers is truly remarkable and simply brilliant. The films flaws are so limited that you can forgive its imperfections due to the strong story segments. Watching Heavy Metal is a unique experience. I was stunned at the artistry and how well everything was drawn. I've always loved art, and this is sublime work. Even if it's got excessive cartoon nudity, who cares? I actually didn't care much for it, I thought it was cool of course, but the aspects of the film that really stood out for me was the art, soundtrack and the talented voice cast. Plus the the intricate plots were very good. Heavy Metal may seem as a child's cartoon at first, but it definitely isn't.
Heavy Metal is a multitude of difference Sci Fi, fantasy and horror plots, laced with comedy, this is a phenomenal film. A well drawn adventure, the art is sublime and the segments have something for fans of Sc Fi, fantasy and horror. Heavy Metal is an intense, unique film going experience that I can only recommend to true cinema buffs with open minds.
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
A fantastic animated sci-fi horror adventure movie with awesome heavy metal music. One of my favourite adult animated films. An awesome movie.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

December 18, 2009
I can't believe it took me so long to finally see this. I had been wanting to see it for quite some time in general, having read and enjoyed a few issues of the magazine, and being a fan of hard rock and heavy metal, but the South Park episode "Major Boobage" really got me wanting to see it. The big push that finally led to me tracking down a copy and watching it though is the unfortunate death of Dan O'Bannon, who was reported dead earlier today (12-18-09).

The animation is top notch- maybe slightly dated by today's standards, but great looking nonetheless. The music (both the score by Elmer Bernstein and the soundtrack by Black Sabbath, Sammy Hagar, Devo, et al) are fantastic. I heard shades of what would later become parts of Bernstein's score for Ghostbusters, and there's nothing wrong with that. While I'm not really into the rock music from the era in which this movie came out (being more of a fa nof stuff before and after this era), which is the stuff on the soudtrack, I liked it. In context, it fits the mood, spirit, and atmosphere perfectly.

This is a wild, fun, and funny sci-fi and fantasy anthology collection featuring lots of sex, violence, gore, and nudity. The voice acting is awesome, with John Candy, Harold Ramis, and EUgene Levy stealing the show. Everything is over the top, and extremely entertaining. As much as I enjoyed it, I can't help but wonder if seeing it in an altered state would add to the greatness...perhaps I'll have to try it sometime.

Bottom line: this is a high water mark for adult oriented animated films that deserves to be seen.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 18, 2009
Outrageous, yet perfect; I never thought I'd see so much nudity and gore/disintegrations in an animated movie. The stories are all really cool in their own way and keep you entertained. It's just 90 minutes of insanity. The animation is great, even now, I only wish they'd use this style more. I feel that this is the best adult animated movie ever.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

October 13, 2007
Got pretty darn bored, and pretty darn tired of cartoon boobs.
James A

Super Reviewer

May 21, 2006
2 stars just for the use of Mob Rules and Sammy Hagar song Heavy Metal. The lack of 3 stars will be due to horrible animation and really bad story.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

February 27, 2009
This is a good music based anthology movie but not all of the segments are great.
middleeasternfilms
middleeasternfilms

Super Reviewer

May 7, 2008
I remember being a kid and loving this film as it included graphic violence and a shitload of T&A! Can't ask for much more than that, except for the voice talents of a slew of future stars. Incredible animation and interesting storylines make this one of the best animated features ever. Too bad the magazine went to shit.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

July 9, 2007
When I was a wee-lad, I wanted to see this movie badly; when I finally did, I found it boring, sexy, badly drawn, and not my kind of music. I preferred "Rock and Rule"!
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

February 28, 2007
Not bad episodie animation which is wild based on the adult comic.
Dann M

Super Reviewer

January 31, 2013
Demented, pointless, sophomoric...all fair descriptions of Heavy Metal, an atrociously poor science fiction/fantasy anthology. Though the cast is fairly impressive, the animation is crude and drab. And just as problematic are the stories, which are juvenile, sexist, and incoherent. Heavy Metal is gratuitous tripe that has little to no redeeming value.
Fascade F

Super Reviewer

August 3, 2008
Whoever read the sci-fi magazine already knows the imminent wealth of this cartoon classic...Harry the cab driver is here.....just don't get into his cab and piss him off ! LOL! See this classic...it is an sci-fi anime jem.
Danny R

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2010
A animated cult classic based upon the adult fantasy magazine of the same name, with a innovative mixture of different animation styles. An anthology of stories which are very original and very entertaining. The central premise of the film is that of good vs. evil, the story concerns a green orb called the "Loc Nar" which holds a super powerful entity of pure evil, which is involved in each of the six vignettes beginning with "Harry Canyon" about tough N.Y.C. cabbie in a dark distant future, full of gangsters, corrupt cops and femme fatales, "Den" about a nerdy teenager transported to another world of big-breasted women and monsters, as a hulking muscleman, My personal favorite is "Captain Sternn" which is a hilarious story full of wit and chaos, Captain Lincoln F. Sternn is a sleazy scoundrel who is on trail for his life, for his many heinous indiscretions, and has the perfect plan to win, a character witness named Hanover Fiste, "B-17" is a creepy segment that captures the flavor of the old E.C. comics, it concerns a flight crew of a bomber in World War II who encounter the evil power of the "Loc Nar" in the form of the living dead, "So Beautiful, So Dangerous" is full of juvenile humor, it is about a couple of wacky, stoner aliens that pilot a gigantic smiley face spaceship, they abduct a sexy hot jewish secretary, that befriends a little horny robot, and finally "Tarrna" about a stunning voluptuous and lethal mute warrior woman who is mankind's last hope to vanquish evil. Elemer Bernstein's lush score is superb, the film also has a amazing 80s rock soundtrack that includes music from Black Sabbath, Blue Osyster Cult, Cheap Trick, Devo, Donald Fagen, Journey, Nazareth and Stevie Nicks. There is much inspired imagination here, robustly entertaining. Highly Recommended.
Page 1 of 76
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile