Metro Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Super Reviewer
November 6, 2011
Eddie! Eddie! Eddie! why don't you make hard ass flicks like this anymore!!!!? alas poor Eddie, thou maketh such crapeth these days.

The last adult action flick from Mr Murphy before he plunged into the 'children's TV' period of his dwindling career, its not a stunning action film but its certainly a pretty good attempt and much better than 'Beverly Hills Cop 2/3'. The thing that hits you first about this film is it looks sharp, the opening credits are damn nice and Murphy looks his coolest since 'Beverly Hills', its a slow builder for sure but with Wincott as the baddie with his raspy devilish voice it keeps you glued to the screen.

Another good impression maker is the excellent action stunts, most noteably a great car and tram chase with multiple wrecks which all look realistic, some good tense stand offs and none of it being watered down, a good step for Murphy although at times he doesn't quite nail the gritty realistic acting thing.
Super Reviewer
February 20, 2011
A classic good time. A wildly entertaining and outrageous action-packed thriller. A fresh, smart, very funny and explosively entertaining movie. One of the first flicks since Lethal Weapon and 48 Hours that balances seriousness and humor perfectly. Director, Thomas Carter crafts a fantastic and enjoyable movie with fast-paced dialogue and awesome action. Eddie Murphy is at his best, he's never been better or funnier. It works well as a cat and mouse thriller and action-packed buddy movie.
Super Reviewer
July 13, 2008
The big action scenes are cleverly staged and Eddie Murphy is back on his game again.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
December 4, 2007
underrated. michael rapaport was good and this was a decent eddie flick.
thmtsang
Super Reviewer
July 22, 2007
Doesn't he get tired playing a cop?
garyX
Super Reviewer
June 14, 2007
A typical dim-witted action movie that is actually much better than you'd think, especially considering the starring role is filled by Murphy who surely hasn't made a decent live action film since Beverly Hills Cop. The set pieces are well done, particularly a thrilling chase sequence involving a tram, and Michael Wincott is the best psychotic villain this side of Gary Oldman. Brainless but fun.
Super Reviewer
½ February 16, 2007
He was really trying to bring back the whole Beverly Hills Cop thing with this one and it just didn't fly.
Super Reviewer
December 6, 2006
I remember this being a lot better than I thought it would be. Haven't seen it in a while though.
Super Reviewer
April 10, 2007
Not quite Axel foley, but definetly Eddie Murphy.
KevinTheMovieManiac
Super Reviewer
November 5, 2008
average Eddie Murphy movie.I doubt that I wil watch it again.
Super Reviewer
½ February 28, 2007
good fun, good humor, good action... good old eddie murphy...
½ June 16, 2011
This maybe too overtly serious for some Eddie Murphy fans who are expecting this to be a action/comedy, but dude, I thought this movie was a fantastic way to kill 2 hours. This is not a perfect movie... like at all LOL but man, it does entertain. This is a mindless movie that has actually some great action sequences (The San Francisco ferry chase scene) and the menacing performance by the incredibly underrated character actor Michael Wincott.
July 11, 2010
I only watched this movie because Eddie Murphy is the man and Mike Rapport is funny as shit in War at Home. However, neither were funny in this movie. The story was boring and typical, and there was no real climax in the movie.
February 28, 2008
This isn't an awful movie at all.
Murphy gives an excellent performance but this movie is simply just a rental. This is the type of movie i put on while I'm tired, because i know I'll go to sleep faster...
May 16, 2007
This mpovie is great not because of Rappaport or Murphy,but for Michael Wincott. The villian. He's good in anything he chooses totake on,and it shows here. He is instantly recognisable when you see him.
½ April 25, 2007
sorry eddy but poor movie could of done better but he should of left beverly hills cop alone. well if your a big fan you will like this movie
½ January 11, 2007
No one saw this film and the folk who did HATE it, but it has some of the BEST ACTION including a great car chase through the HILLS of SAN FRANCISCO...
½ May 10, 2015
Has any good actor/entertainer made worse movies on a steadier basis than Murphy?Not his worst but it's up there.
June 3, 2014
Couldn't keep my attention. Some scenes were decent.
½ April 16, 2014
It tries to do a different take on the detective cat and mouse movie but falls flat in its attempt. Rapaport's character could have been left out of the final cut and it would have made no real difference in the movie. The sad part is, Eddie Murphy actually does a good job in his role but it can't make this movie worth a watch.
Page 1 of 16