• R, 1 hr. 41 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Larry Clark
    In Theaters:
    Dec 30, 1997 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jun 5, 2001
  • Trimark Pictures

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Another Day In Paradise Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 23, 2009
Not bad but not great. I found Vincent Kartheiser & Natasha Gregson Wagner really annoying but James Woods & Melanie Griffith make up for it. Hell of a punch at the end!
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

October 17, 2006
What a weird-ass film. But it was better than some movies I've seen.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

November 28, 2006
Really sickening of darker group of a drug addicts and bit explicit sex scenes of young junkie couples that filmmaker Larry Clark made including "Bully". (Really disappointed with DVD didn't work with use English substitles properly because that still has shown at the back cover - that gotta be kidding!)
John B

Super Reviewer

July 22, 2007
I always want more Larry Clark despite the fact that his films tend to reveal the rather disturbing underbelly of America. This isn't "Kids" but it is a still a great pic.
Mike T

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2008
Larry Clark's second film is more conventional than his controversial debut (Kids), but it's still intensely watchable and well-made. When walking us through the typical crime-drama routine, this film is interesting, but it is the character dynamics and the dark revelatory moments that stick. Aesthetically it's a sleek picture, infused with Clark's trademark documentary-style photography. The script has minor issues, especially with its ending, but the performances are what stand out and make it so exceedingly powerful. James Woods got all the praise from critics, but it also features top-notch acting from Vincent Kartheiser, Natasha Gregson Wagner and Melanie Griffith. It's a film that consumes its audience throughout the duration of its runtime, and leaves a lasting impression despite its shortcomings. Very well-directed by Larry Clark.
Christopher B

Super Reviewer

January 31, 2008
The one Larry Clark movie that it's a stretch to call it kiddie porn. Though it's nothing special at all, a generic story of a bunch of small time criminals with the leaders being mother and father figures to the younger members, it's still very watchable and at moments, shocking. I was having a very bad year at TIFF when I saw this one, so I probably give it more praise than it deserves, but at least it wasn't boring.
tmannamt
November 21, 2010
Larry Clark's most "mainstream" film that's gritty and filled with memorable dialogue and great acting.
MarilynsDisciple
October 6, 2007
Ok, has anyone seen this? It stars James Woods, Melanie Griffith, Vincent Kartheiser, and Natasha Gregson Wagner. Vinnie and Natasha are runaways who do alot of drugs, and steal to provide for their addiction and their food. When Vinnie nearly dies from a security guard attack, a fellow runaway calls his uncle (James Woods), who nurses Vinnie, and takes him and his girlfriend on a criminal joyride with Melanie Griffith.
RickandorAndy
January 21, 2008
I thought I was liking this movie a couple times but then each time I started enjoying it everything was ruined by the messy story and the very ineffective acting by everyone except maybe Woods.

Melanie Griffith just did nothing for me in this movie. Her whiny voice gave me a headache and made me wish her character would disappear from the script. I will say that James Woods is a hell of an actor at saying the "F" word.

And the soundtrack... well the soundtrack did not help this movie along. I found the songs distracted me from the not so great flow of the film. One song even ruined an almost good scene once.

So to sum it up, I did not like it completely or dislike it enough to fall asleep since I watched it at 3am in the morning on HBO. I do however wish I went to sleep instead.

Last Watched: 1/21/2008
steve c

Super Reviewer

July 16, 2007
disappointing larry clark flick. james woods was terrible. he hasn't pulled off a good gangster role since once upon a time in america.
May 29, 2007
Vincent Kartheiser's got game!!!! He puts in a meorable & praise worthy preformance alongside the likes of Melanie Griffith & James Woods!!!
jamescastle
November 23, 2006
okay i didn't watch the end of the movie because it made me really anxious. suspenseful, in that predictable don't-do-it-something-bad-is-obviously-going-to-happen way. it was a good movie.
dreamno9
October 4, 2006
Grim and depressing look at the pathetic existence of a group of drug addicts. It's well acted, just a not upliftng in any way at all. That said, I still kind of liked it. I dont know if "liked" is the right word really, but it was well done and it kept my interest.
flynnparadox
September 15, 2006
Story has been done to death but the actors are great. Natasha Gregson Wagner's character is rather side-lined in the theatrical cut. Check out the deleted scenes for a lot richer take on her character. She's an underrated actress.
February 23, 2006
Kind of pointless and hard to watch all the way through. I'm a big James Woods fan; but even that didn't really do it for me.
KevinRobbins
May 30, 2014
I can kick your ass as soon as I can fuck it!

Bobbie and Rosie are a young couple with heavy drug addictions including heroin, acid, and any other drug they can get their hands on. They live a life of crime and desperation. They meet up with an older couple, Mel and Sid, that agree to take them under their wings. Initially, they have money, success, and enough happiness to last a life time, until their fortunes take a turn for the worse.

"You never fuck with a man's money, you never fuck with a man's dope, and you never fuck with a man's pussy."

Larry Clarke, director of Kids, Bully, Teenage Caveman, Wassup Rockers, 42 One Dream Rush, Marfa Girl, and the upcoming the Smell of Us, delivers Another Day in Paradise. The storyline for this picture is actually quite compelling and well delivered. The characters are fascinating as are the situations. The acting was better than I anticipated and the cast includes James Woods, Melanie Griffin, Lou Diamond Phillips, Peter Sarsgaard, James Otis, Vincent Kartheiser, and Natasha Gregson Wagner.

"If you don't like the risk, maybe you should change professions."

This had received fairly positive reviews on Netflix so I decided to give it a shot. I will say that I enjoyed watching this film unfold. There were definitely some predictable sequences; but as an overall film, this was well done and well executed. I do recommend seeing this film at least once.

"I'm a doctor shooting you up with heroin. No kid, I'm just a junkie and a real good thief."

Grade: B
May 14, 2014
Generic from a screenplay standpoint, but Clark's gritty direction give it another element.
3568 C.
November 30, 2012
A lot of the subject matter is hard to stomach, nonetheless, this is why James Woods is one of the most respected actors in Hollywood.
September 6, 2012
Decent performances lift a film that ultimately leaves a bad taste in your mouth.
March 4, 2012
The most impressive thing about this film is how the makers aren't afraid to shock the audience by putting Woods and co. into a story that gives a more truthful look into drugs, whilst continuing to be entertaining at the same time.
Page 1 of 9
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile