Opening

66% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
87% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
44% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
87% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— Left Behind Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
67% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
55% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
55% Forever: Season 1
94% Gotham: Season 1
35% Scorpion: Season 1
100% Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

True Crime Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

November 6, 2013
True Crime is full of pointless sub-plots that I can only imagine are there to distract from the fact that a) The story isn't very good B) The story isn't very believable and C) The conclusion is completely ridiculous. Clint Eastwood often forgets to tell the story at hand, we get that his character is busy but did we really need to see him go to the Zoo with his child on fast forward, did he need to hurt said child in order to escape the Zoo or sleep with his boss's Wife to show us that he is unhappy? How the hell did he even do all these thing in one day, especially as he makes a point of getting into work late? We are then supposed to swallow the fact that he can solve a crime in 5 minutes that a whole legal team couldn't manage in several months. All because Clint isn't racist? (even though he is) Because he can see through stereotypes better than anyone else? (even though he is the worst stereotype on film?) Because he is an expert in Potato based snack product placement? So past its sell by date you can almost smell it. The only redeeming feature is James Woods and Denis Leary's shouty bits, which are actually very entertaining.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

December 5, 2010
A really powerful story about fighting to the very end and never giving up. Clint Eastwood of course does a great job as a womanizing hot shot reporter, but it's funny that he does it so well at 70. I really liked the draw in to the story, it wasn't sappy at all. They established a really great character with Isaiah Washington and made him seem like a true victim of circumstance. The redemption was really more for Clint Eastwood, who desperately needed to fix the mistakes he had made in the past.
Chris G

Super Reviewer

March 12, 2008
A distant relative of His Girl Friday, True Crime is about a reporter (Clint Eastwood) at the bottom of his career writing for a small news paper after botching a story. That's not his only problem, though. Steve (Eastwood) is a bit of an asshole. He lives for himself and his work, stopping to think about the consequences only after the deed is done. A set of circumstances leads to Steve being assigned a human interest story abut an inmate (Isaiah Washington) sentenced to death at midnight. While doing research for the piece it comes to light that the condemned man may be put to death for a crime he did not commit.


This is a well made film that runs at a nice pace. The beginning and the middle run smoothly as Steve goes through his day. It's intriguing at how a story materializes for the reporter. Even the prison interview scene, the obvious cheese in a film like this, is actually well written and acted. The problem with the film is that the ending, though giving the audience the obvious tension, seems a little bit of a cheat and plays out a bit to cliched. Not on the part of the actual execution, but in the way the case is broken open. It soils a film that runs at a great pace through its first and second acts.


It's not a typical Eastwood masterpiece, but it is an above average film that Eastwood tends to make when taking a break from his truly great works. It's a nice little thriller if you don't expect too much in the end.
Jason O

Super Reviewer

August 16, 2009
Very enjoyable drama about an innocent family man who's on death row. Can Eastwood interject and save the man's life or is he already too late?
Lady D

Super Reviewer

March 25, 2007
An easy watching film, but certainly not one of Eastwood?s best - Acting wise or Directing. There are many other films that share the theme of this one and in fact come across much better. The plot is predictable and I feel Eastwood tried far too hard to come across as the womanising anti-hero here. There was little emotion shown from the character on death row, which made the film lack any real punch.

Wished it had a little more angst or power and a few twists and turns, it could have been a good film.
Drew S

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2007
True Crime is flawed but still largely enjoyable, with an ending that confirmed my deepest suspicions: that the movie would end up as Hollywood formula. It is really, really bad, surely the darkest hour of what is otherwise a well-composed movie.

The plot isn't always great, but the people moving through it are the centerpieces. All of the key players are incredibly interesting, and their respective actors offer great performances. Eastwood himself is an odd pick, because he is far too old to be playing the woman-stealing lothario. Fuck my wife? Sure, if you can find the Viagra first! And I'm aware that there's a touch of narcissism in this, as I'm sure there is in Eastwood himself. Remember how he was constantly running around in his underwear in Play Misty for Me? Clint Eastwood thinks he's got it and is not afraid to flaunt it, even if he's like 200 years old.

So perhaps casting himself as the protagonist was a flaw, but all it really gets from you is a derisive chuckle or two. The rest of the movie's pretty tight. Certainly a little formulaic, and a little implausible, but the human aspects of it really shine. For whatever reason, it kept reminding me of Zodiac, but it doesn't take a film critic to see that Zodiac was far more absorbing. It's not a knock on Eastwood, so much as the material he chose to work with.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

October 29, 2006
Brilliant and thrilling with Eastwood as a reporter who believes a San Quentin Death Row prisoner is innocent and scramble to save him before the clock is ticking.
stevetheman1236
stevetheman1236

Super Reviewer

August 14, 2011
Clint Eastwood had a string of self-directed run-of-the-mill thrillers around the turn of the century and this was one of them. There's nothing we haven't seen here before, folks.
Steven V

Super Reviewer

September 4, 2008
True Crime is a fairly engaging movie that has some good performances. Clint Eastwood as the director stages the action well and moves the plot forward. The supporting cast is well rounded and helps advance the narrative. What could've made this movie better is a brisker pace, but Clint Eastwood the director chose a more laid back style. After thirty years in the business, Clint Eastwood can do whatever he wants with his films. He's earned it.
Stephen E

Super Reviewer

November 29, 2011
Clint Eastwood had a string of self-directed run-of-the-mill thrillers around the turn of the century and this was one of them. There's nothing we haven't seen here before, folks.
Chosen 7

Super Reviewer

March 14, 2008
Good film, great performances all around. Good direction by Clint Eastwood.
DrLappos
DrLappos

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2007
Brilliant as you would expect.
Anthony V

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2007
Lame ending.
sage8595
March 23, 2013
Absolutely love Clint's mystery crime thrillers and True Crime delivered. A powerful story about fighting to the end and never giving up. You could feel the emotions in the actors and the humor was well placed. One of my favorite Eastwood films.
Ida K

Super Reviewer

January 12, 2008
I love Clint Eastwood but this was not one of his best. I've seen movies of similar subject matter that were much more interesting.
moviefan68
August 1, 2010
great movie, kept me on the edge of my seat to see if he could prove the man's innocence before he gets executed.
jam233
January 11, 2010
Well done by Clint Eastwood in both directing and acting. It always held my interest, believably done, well written and a fascinating plot. Good acting from everyone. A solid thriller.
April 6, 2008
I thought this movie was pretty good. While some may have thought that the plot was simple, I think the movie shows how our views are clouded by prejudices (not necessarily a race thing). I thought the exchanges between Woods, Leary, and Eastwood were pretty entertaining, too. There were just minor flaws in the movie which were a bit bothersome... like when Woods was yelling at Eastwood about having an affair with Leary's wife, you would think they would at least close the door. Anyway, the movie was long but didn't seem long. (I did fast forward during the injection scenes since I knew nothing of significance would happen and they were there just for drama.) Anyway, I would imagine the story (about injustice) had some significance to Eastwood for him to pick doing it...
terris85017
terris85017

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2009
(1999 Director: Clint Eastwood) Some greats in this one!! James Wood, Denis Leary, and Bernard HIll!! MUST SEE!!
manly500usa
March 13, 2007
Can an over-the-hill journalist uncover the evidence that can prove a death row inmate's innocence just hours before his execution?
Page 1 of 14
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile