The Bachelor Reviews

Page 2 of 5
Sue Pierman
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
January 1, 2000
For those of you who seek cerebral wit, don't break any previous engagements to attend.
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Los Angeles Times
January 1, 2000
O'Donnell and Zellweger are easy on the eyes, but we're asked to take it on faith that they have other qualities that would make a person care for them.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Kevin Maynard
Mr. Showbiz
January 1, 2000
Desperately unfunny.
Top Critic
Betsy Sherman
Boston Globe
January 1, 2000
Probably the best that can be said about The Bachelor is that it gave a lot of work to female extras.
Jeffrey Huston
Jeff Huston's Believe Me
January 1, 2000
The Bachelor is the worst romantic comedy I have ever seen. Ever.
Widgett Walls
Needcoffee.com
January 1, 2000
All in all, it's a decent date movie if you require one. Otherwise, catch it on the small screen for the sake of those character actors who we're glad to see working.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Maitland McDonagh
TV Guide's Movie Guide
January 1, 2000
In all honesty, it's not very funny.
Sandra Ramani
Citysearch
January 1, 2000
A throwback-in mentality-to another era, without any of the charm or intelligence of the actual screwball comedies of the time.
Gary Mairs
culturevulture.net
January 1, 2000
It's a rare comedy that is so painfully unfunny that it earns not a single laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Rob Blackwelder
SPLICEDWire
January 1, 2000
The brilliance of Buster Keaton deserves a better homage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Business as usual.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
January 1, 2000
Ultimately light and cute, the middle had me checking my watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4

E! Online
January 1, 2000
Stay home.
Francesca Dinglasan
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
While O'Donnell's anxious groom-to-be is likable enough, his lack of comic timing does little to improve Steve Cohen's unimaginative script.
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
The Bachelor doesn't generate enough laughs or sighs to hold together.
Scott Renshaw
Scott Renshaw's Screening Room
January 1, 2000
The problem are a beginning and middle that are equally warm-n-fuzzy -- there's no spark, no energy, no humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Its satire is too broad to carry much of a sting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Sharon Pian Chan
Seattle Times
January 1, 2000
As much as I hate to admit it, The Bachelor is funny.
George Meyer
Orlando Weekly
January 1, 2000
The Bachelor makes for a fine date movie.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
January 1, 2000
An old-fashioned comedy that shouldn't work but does.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 2 of 5