High Fidelity Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
L.A. Weekly
February 10, 2014
Cusack has ineffable charm, but he keeps it tuned at the lowest possible frequency.
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
January 1, 2000
Uniformly shallow and vapid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 2, 2002
It contains too many repetitive scenes.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
...the plot could have been better explored if it was discovered what the plot was.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Susan Wloszczyna
USA Today
January 1, 2000
Isn't all that romantic and is only half as funny as it thinks it is.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
January 1, 2000
There's not much to convince you that High Fidelity isn't a vanity production with some good tunes.
Mac Verstandig
Moviereviews.org
January 1, 2000
I didn't see this movie because I was miserable that evening, I was miserable that evening because I saw this movie.
| Original Score: 5/10
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
January 1, 2000
So much care has been contributed to the soundtrack that director Frears has forgotten about the importance of the film itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
February 10, 2014
When happiness does arrive in this movie, it has the air not of something that you reach, like your top speed, but of something that you give in to, like baldness or old age.
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
January 1, 2000
Instead of burrowing into Rob's life, we feel like we're skimming across it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
The insistent verbal nonsense among them wears thin very fast for folks who don't keep their vinyl collection in plastic sleeves. Absolutely, this is a romantic comedy that preaches to the converted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Steven Rosen
Denver Post
March 6, 2001
It's got great music -- and great music trivia -- but a shaky soul.
Top Critic
Bob Thomas
Associated Press
March 6, 2001
Stephen Frears ... seems on unsteady ground converting an essentially British story (the novel was set in London) to the American idiom.
Jeffrey Huston
Jeff Huston's Believe Me
March 6, 2001
Other than those rare giggles or guffaws, High Fidelity is strictly analogue.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 31, 2002
... a bright entertainment that doesn't insult its audience ...a romantic comedy built on a determinedly limited scale
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Movies this wry and likable hardly ever get made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Stands out as a 'small' motion picture that deserves wide exposure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
Funny, neurotic, and charming, but not for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
February 10, 2014
As for Mr. Cusack, there's nothing potential about his stardom any more. He's the self-doubting, self-flagellating, self-ironic soul of "High Fidelity," and he's great.
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
October 11, 2011
Easily makes it onto my top 5 John Cusack movies list.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
January 1, 2000
Ray Pride
Newcity
January 1, 2000
Page 1 of 9