Pearl Harbor Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
May 28, 2014
The best way to see the movie is as I did: expecting nothing and being pleasantly surprised, and strangely moved, by Mr. Bay's audacity in filming his lovers in end-of-the-world close-ups, however briefly.
Top Critic
Jeff Strickler
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 27, 2014
The centerpiece is the attack. For 50 minutes, the filmmakers unleash nonstop eye candy.
Dennis King
Tulsa World
May 27, 2014
Go for the rousing flag-waving, for the sense of experiencing a terrible and profound moment in history, but be prepared to swallow it all with a huge dose of treacle.

Total Film
May 27, 2014
Watch, enjoy, and then forget about it entirely.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 27, 2010
This violent movie is worth seeing, but only once.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ellen Kim
Hollywood.com
January 23, 2004
The filmmakers would like you to know that this isn't typical action fare yet they've still created the most spectacular action scene in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
It's just a bit unfortunate that such an incredible, noble story, one which turned a nation around and galvanized a generation into action, should be told by such weak storytellers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rebecca Murray
About.com
December 17, 2002
I'd recommend this to anyone who isn't looking for an exact retelling of history but is interested in a gripping fictional account of the months leading up to the start of America's involvement in World War II.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
Sure, some twists are forced (I didn't buy the way the love triangle was set up nor how it was resolved), but for the most part, the movie worked me like a puppet. I laughed, I cried, I shuddered, I was thrilled... The works, basically.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 10, 2002
Wallace and Bay aren't striving for gutsy realism. "Pearl Harbor" isn't so much about the start of WWII as it is about Hollywood perceptions of WWII.
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
November 27, 2001
The cast has the right stuff to meet the requirements set forth by director Michael Bay and producer Jerry Bruckheimer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
November 16, 2001
For my money a much better heartbreaker, thrillmaker and tear-tweaker than Titanic.
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
June 25, 2001
As spectacle, the second half of Pearl Harbor deserves a medal, but there's far less craft apparent in its 4F script.
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
June 25, 2001
Arrive late, leave early, go home satisfied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
June 3, 2001
"Pearl Harbor" isn't anywhere near what it could have been as a movie, but the battle scenes are astonishing and it has a passable love story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 1, 2001
No one in their right mind goes to a Bay/Bruckheimer film expecting to be touched by the story. This is a damn good ACTION movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
June 1, 2001
It's safe to say that the battle scenes are terrific, while the love story is not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Adam Smith
Empire Magazine
June 1, 2001
A thoroughly well-built dramatic actioner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Easterbrook
Matt's Movie Reviews
May 29, 2001
"Why is everybody so determined to hate this movie???"
| Original Score: 5/5
Neil Smith
BBC.com
May 28, 2001
For sheer eye-popping spectacle, makes Titanic look like a kiddies' bath toy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
May 25, 2001
Page 1 of 10