The Time Machine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Time Machine Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
A good movie based on H.G. Wells' classic novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
A loud annoying movie with poor directing and plot holes galore...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
July 2, 2008
The Time Machine is harmless, if ineffectual fun.
Emanuel Levy
January 9, 2007
This remake of the 1960 sci-fi feature (based on Wells famous novel) fails to take advantage of the new technology to make the tale more effective.
| Original Score: C-
Mark Bourne
April 6, 2006
Dishwater: 10, Wells: 0
Brian Mckay
March 19, 2003
If I had a time machine that could take me back only four hours, I'd take my nine dollars, find the original movie at a video store, and spend the rest on an In N'Out Burger.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
...The computer-generated wizardry is certainly present and accounted for, even if the opportunity for social commentary or literary integrity has been left largely untapped.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
January 29, 2003
Entertaining, but missing a suitable point.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kevin A. Ranson
December 29, 2002
While this remake of the H.G. Wells' classic novel and 1960 film is indeed a stunning achievement in special effects, his great- grandson and director Simon Wells really needs to go back a year and get the sadly lacking script rewritten.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Chris Gore
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
I found myself glancing at my timepiece about every ten minutes of the interminable 96-minute running time of this latest tragic remake of a classic genre picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
James Rocchi
November 7, 2002
Modern take on H.G. Wells's sci-fi classic has great special effects but isn't especially affecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jeff Strickler
Minneapolis Star Tribune
November 6, 2002
If H.G. Wells had a time machine and could take a look at his kin's reworked version, what would he say? 'It looks good, Sonny, but you missed the point.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 21, 2002
This is a film to look at, not to feel --or care much-- about. It comes down to little more than another s/f flic.
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
This film is more interested in the flash and dazzle that emits from imaging computers than the ideas that inspired the story in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Eric D. Snider
September 18, 2002
A few pieces of the film buzz and whir; very little of it actually clicks. The thing just never gets off the ground.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Mark Palermo
Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
August 26, 2002
A catatonic B-schlock-Indiana Jones-video game (trust me, the result is less interesting than it sounds).
Full Review
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 16, 2002
After 30 minutes you'll pray for your own Time Machine so you go back to 5 minutes before you decided to see this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
July 23, 2002
...a spectacular disappointment and a colossal waste of...time.
| Original Score: 5/10
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
July 20, 2002
I love the opening scenes of a wintry New York City in 1899. Cinematic poetry showcases the city's old-world charm before machines change nearly everything.
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
July 20, 2002
One of those staggeringly well-produced, joylessly extravagant pictures that keep whooshing you from one visual marvel to the next, hastily, emptily.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 9