• PG-13, 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Peter Segal
    In Theaters:
    Apr 11, 2003 Wide
    On DVD:
    Sep 16, 2003
  • Sony Pictures Entertainment

Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Anger Management Reviews

Page 1 of 861
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

July 24, 2013
Anger Management is too boiled up and ultimately doesn't strike a chord. The film has its moments, especially from the addition of Jack Nicholson, but it stumbles from being merely a one-trick-pony of comedy films. 3/5
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

October 9, 2012
Very irritating movie with a good ending.
Directors Cat
Directors Cat

Super Reviewer

December 30, 2011
There's no doubt about it that Nicholson and Sandler have great chemistry and they are probably the best actors for a movie bearing this title. But there's a feeling that they were both put on a leash by the studio writers and restrained from doing so much more that could have bettered the movie. It's also very predictable. But it is funny in a screwball kind of a way.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

December 10, 2011
Anger Management had the potential of being a great comedy. Instead, the film fails and is virtually laugh free and really is more boring than entertaining. Adam Sandler is definitely not funny here, and he uses the one trick he's got up his sleeve, which is getting tiresome. His use of comedy is strained, and Sandler relies on his usual comedic antics, and after a few films, it's getting predictable and you end up bored watching Sandler on-screen. Jack Nicholson is great on the other hand; unfortunately he can't save this film from sinking faster than the Titanic. Anger Management is a poorly constructed comedy with one good comedic performance, unfortunately like I said, not even that can redeem this dreadful film. This is a boring film that tiresome and it's a shame because this could have been a good comedy. Unfortunately Adam Sandler is past his prime, and he's plainly horrible, and really isn't funny anymore. Anger Management falls flat halfway through and the film lacks anything remotely engaging to thrill and suck the viewer into the film. This film fails to deliver, and aside from Nicholson's performance, this film isn't funny and fails as a comedy. The screenwriters try too hard at making a comedy, and they ultimately fail in their goal. This is one comedy that doesn't cut it, and if you actually want to laugh, then watch a better comedy than this. This film misses the mark, and a potentially good idea for a film is wasted on-screen because the filmmakers didn't how to develop proper comedic bits.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2007
Sandler cynics beware, this is one Romantic Comedy I love and have watched over and over, perhaps because I am the "implosive person".

A frustrating story that worsens before it gets better, you just have to love to hate Nicholson in this role, a person can only take so much!!!
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

August 15, 2011
Anger Management is a funny movie, mainly because of Nicholson, but the problem is the film is predictable and boring. The plot is ver long and boring, and it wasn't great. The cast was good, Jack Nicholson is amazingly funny, and Adam Sandler is well... Adam Sandler. The comedy was just okay, I see what they were going for but they executed it poorly. Overall a funny but boring movie with a good cast.
theunknownhobo
theunknownhobo

Super Reviewer

August 25, 2011
Although this movie had its moments, I did not think it was all that funny. Jack Nicholson began to grate on me after awhile which was surprising as I don't think that has ever happened before and Adam Sandler just needs to do a movie where he doesn't do the ridiculous angry man routine. Funny, but nothing particularly side splitting or memorable.
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

July 16, 2011
Dr. Buddy Rydell: Dave, there are two kinds of angry people in this world: explosive and implosive. Explosive, which is the most common, is the type of individual you see screaming at a grocery store cashier for not taking his coupon. Implosive, the least common, is the cashier at the store who remains quiet at his job day after day until he then finally loses it and just shoots everyone in the store. You're the cashier.
Dave Buznik: No, no, no. I'm the guy in the frozen food section dialling 911. I swear.

Most people are polarized by Adam Sandler; they either love him or hate him. I'm not one of those people. I don't love or hate him. I'll watch all of his movies as a find a majority of them to be watchable entertainment; not great movies, but ok. There are a few of his movies that I do really enjoy though; like Punch Drunk Love and Funny People.

Anger Management is just an ok movie. It's laugh-out-loud funny or insightful in anyway. It's just an entertaining movie. The movie features a great cast that surrounds Sandler and that always helps his movies go down a little easier. Jack Nicholson and Marisa Tomei are fun to watch like always. Then there's John Turturro who makes for a good percentage of the laughs that do come out of this movie. There's also just an endless amount of star studded cameos. Heather Graham, John C. Reilly, Woody Harrelson, Bobby Knight, Derek Jeter, Roger Clemens, etc. all make appearances in Anger Management. They help to keep the movie flowing and entertaining.

I'm not saying that this is a great movie or that Sandler is a great actor. I'm just saying there is a lot that can be enjoyed here.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2011
Nothing short of hilarious! A must see!
aSpaceCowboy
aSpaceCowboy

Super Reviewer

March 20, 2008
While I don't like Adam Sandler or most running gags and editing errors this movie had, I could not resist Jack Nicholson and John Totorro. They were a laugh riot! I still give this a low rating because as a whole, this movie was bad and just not all that funny.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2010
C+
Conner R

Super Reviewer

January 17, 2010
It's not a terrible movie, it's just rather mediocre. If it weren't for Jack Nicholson's completely eccentric character, it would've been worthless. It's funny, just not good enough to consider that there was any real deep thought put into the script or characters. It seemed like Adam Sandler was playing the same character he always plays.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
Not fantastic!
EightThirty .

Super Reviewer

April 23, 2007
This movie makes you wonder what the heck? And then the end of the movie makes you wonder what the heck?
ha ha ha really, what the heck??

www
(.^_^.)
Dean !

Super Reviewer

December 31, 2006
A so-so comedy with a few good scenes. Very good cast line up and Jack Nicholson can play crazy like no one else!
Chiefilms
Chiefilms

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2009
Another movie that should have been reviewed a long time ago. Plot is kind of lackluster and pointless. But Sandler vs. Nicholson is interesting and there are some good lines in the movie.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

December 4, 2008
"Let the healing begin"

Dave Buznick (Adam Sandler) is an even-tempered businessman who, after a series of strange misunderstandings on an airline flight, finds himself accused of air rage. A judge sentences Dave to undergo anger management therapy, and he soon finds himself in the care of Dr. Buddy Rydell (Jack Nicholson), a celebrated therapist. However, Dave's group therapy sessions with a handful of truly disturbed individuals -- among them jumpy ex-con Chuck (John Turturro), obsessive sports fan Nate (Jonathan Loughran), slow-burning Lou (Luis Guzman), egocentric Andrew (Allen Covert), and bisexual porn stars Gina and Stacy (Krista Allen and January Jones) -- leave him far more unsettled than when he arrived. Later, when Buddy decides to move into Dave's home for intensive therapy, he soon discovers Buddy has more than a bit of his own anger to resolve, and that no one brings out Dave's deeply buried inner rage quite like Buddy.

Review
Anger Management is one of those movies that wants to serve you on some smart witty and intelligent humor. Jack Nicholson's performance is great though it can't be placed on the same level in the movie "As Good As It Gets". Nevertheless as you can beat some of the ever-returning clichés in this movie you're in for some fun moments. Certainly the every living happily ever after cliché is a tough one to beat. Not a masterpiece at all, more a film with an overall average of everything. I wouldn't recommend it, instead I say the must see is "As Good As It Gets".
Cory T

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2008
Disappointing doesn't begin to describe the participation of Nicholson in this scattershot, juvenile dross that mongrelizes a potentially uproarious examination of male id and retrogresses it to Sandler's hallmark of rash stupidity
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2006
Actually, I'm hoping more on this movie... Jack Nicholson teams up with Adam Sandler, which in my opinion, should be a great movie... But what I thought after I saw this movie, that is this movie weren't that great, not particularly funny... Maybe they have some funny scenes, but overall, it's bad and a little boring... I thought this movie would have something different just because of it's theme which is anger management, but I'm just wrong... It just a general comedy movie using some unique themes but the story anyway just a general comedy movie... After watching about half of this movie, I'm just not interested anymore... I'm just curious to know how will this movie end... And the ending itself didn't end brilliantly like the movie told, it just the same as another Adam Sandler movie that he has a speech to someone which is important for him, and in this movie is his girlfriend... Yet Adam Sandler himself just didn't fit for the role he played in this movie... He just really have 'too nice' face so that thinking that Adam could end up like a rhino maybe when he gets mad, it just weird... But they got the good one by picking Jack Nicholson for his role in this movie... Even he is too old, but he still has the bad boy face...
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 13, 2007
Adam is a businessman who is wrongly sentenced. He goes on an anger management programme, where he meets the very unconventional instructor - Jack. Great characters but the plot is very weak.
Page 1 of 861
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile