Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

The Girl Next Door Reviews

Page 1 of 566
KJ P

Super Reviewer

October 1, 2010
Aside from it feeling a tad long and having multiple conclusions, "The Girl Next Door" is a very funny coming-of-age story that is not your average way of telling it. Emile Hirsch is hilarious here as a high school senior who falls for the girl next door, whom he soon finds is a former porn star. Driven by morals he sets out to make her think she is more than she thinks she is. While giving some flavour to his boring life, he is also helping the people around him and those are the emotions to look for through all this hilarity. Overall, "The Girl Next Door" has some clever dialogue, some that may fall flat, but charming for the most part, a cast that is irresistible, and a story that anyone who has been through high school can enjoy, even if they never had these crazy adventures. It goes a little too far sometimes, but I really really like this film.
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

October 21, 2010
Just another teen comedy movie with a bit of twist in it. Funny and also stupid at the same time. Sometimes it wouldn't even make sense. Watch it at your own risk like I did. You may end up liking it like other reviewers.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

December 11, 2011
The Girl Next Door I thought a mediocre comedy with few decent laughs. However this is one film I just didn't enjoy. First off, I really don't like Elisha Cuthbert, though she's really attractive, she definitely can't act, and she's annoying. The film I thought was poorly plotted, with bad acting; directing and I felt that the actors chosen to play the parts didn't really fit. This film might have succeeded if it had a better cast and script, but it didn't, at least not for me. I laughed only a few times, and once the credits rolled, I thought that the film wasn't anything great. Basically this film takes ideas from the classic Risky Business film, and throws it around, and tries to create something new. But the fact is, is that this film doesn't do anything new. The film is poorly done, uses old ideas, and basically makes it more crude, and vulgar to try to appeal to viewers loving this type of comedy. I thought it was a mediocre comedy, with nothing new or interesting about it. Laughed a few times, and quite frankly is one of those films you only need to watch once. This film doesn't do anything to thrill you, and make you laugh with original ideas. The film uses recycled ideas, and adds those elements into a mediocre script. The ends result is a film that doesn't work, and is plagued with mostly unfunny gags that we've seen so many times before.
Albert K

Super Reviewer

November 27, 2011
It's been a ridiculously long time since I've seen "The Girl Next Door" but I remember a few things:
A) I was pleasantly surprised by how enjoyable the movie was
B) I got surprised by many plot points in the movie
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2011
A great teen chick flick!
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

August 3, 2010
The main thing that made this teen slated comedy a bummer for me, besides the fact that I'm all out sick of watching these depressing cultural abominations, was that all the things that make a decent comedy were missing, and were replaced by boobs, strange scenes of unnecessary violence, and a lot of Timothy Olyphant hissing. Not to say the movie doesn't have its funny moments, and the chemistry between Cuthbert and Hirsch isn't evident, but I couldn't get into the storyline without a bit of stomach upset. Yes, the message of triumphing over past behavior to start a new life is inspiring to a point, but Hirsch's behavior and "I don't give a damn attitude" after tossing his moral fiber is smug and petty. The filmmakers tried to dignify this with an ending that is blasé. Without the standard message of rebelliousness equals happiness shtick we're all so familiar with, this film crumbled fast. Oh, and there's a lot of nudity and epithets, because why not? Just throw some in to mask your disappointment. Not a complete waste of time, but still a waste of time.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

January 23, 2010
The Girl Next Door is easily the greatest teen comedy of the last ten years. It blends the greatest elements of Risky Business and The Graduate, along with it's own take on the genre and results in an amazing experience. While it undoubtedly deals with a lot of outrageous topics, it never forgets to stay in reality. There aren't really any cheese ball characters or annoying stereotypes, everyone acts like real people. The casting of people like Emile Hirsch, Elisha Cuthbert and Timothy Olyphant only helps make this movie more than just a clever written script. It also happens to look a great deal better than what you'd expect and has some really great techniques that aren't necessary for the desired storytelling; that's what makes it so surprising. I like that the story has real fears of real teens, rather than it just being about sex. Despite the marketing of this movie, this is nothing like Porky's or American Pie. It delivers its material and treats its characters with respect and doesn't cheap out with gratuitous nudity or language. It also avoids living in a fantasy land where there aren't consequences for risky moves and dating a porn star. I'm sure there are a lot of people that will just lump this into the raunchy teen comedy genre, but it's just nothing like that. You'd be completely missing the point if you just write this off as a goofball adventure. The Girl Next Door is actually saying something about the point in life where you really don't have any idea about what the real world is.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2010
I love this movie. if this is considered a teen comedy then it's one of my favorites. this movie is hilarious. has a great story and cool characters. it's also really sweet. A-
Dan S

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2007
A sometimes hard to watch, mean-spirited comedy that is completely miss-able but not overall terrible. Sporadically funny, although dipped in a rough and tumble script that shows no mercy to it's lead character. Hirsch (especially the scene when he's drugged) is perfect in the lead, and Cuthbert is appropirately seductive and sexy as the temptress next door. I had a hard time deciding if Timothy Olyphant did either a horribly over-the-top job, or just a good, solid job. I eventually landed on the latter.
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

June 11, 2009
this is basically parts of every teen comedy spliced together and disguised as one movie and its not very good but its decent when youre bored also makeout scene is the best
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2007
"Always know if the juice is worth the squeeze"

Boy meets girl who's already met all sorts of boys and girls in this teen-slanted comedy. Matthew Kidman (Emile Hirsch) is a straight-laced and highly ambitious high school student who plans to study at Georgetown University and dreams of a career in politics. While most of his classmates are in the throes of an epidemic of senioritis, Matthew is obsessed with schoolwork and has a hard time relaxing and having fun. But he finds himself a bit less focused on his future career when Danielle (Elisha Cuthbert), a beautiful 19-year-old blonde, moves in next door. Danielle is playful, spontaneous, and doesn't always remember to draw her shades, and before long Matthew is head over heels in love. Danielle soon finds herself taken with Matthew as well, but their relationship takes an unusual turn when he discovers that, before she moved to town, Danielle had a successful career as a porn actress. Matthew is able to convince Danielle that she's cut out for better things in life than appearing in porn videos, but his advice doesn't especially please Kelly (Timothy Olyphant) or Hugo (James Remar), two porn moguls who figure Matthew owes them big-time after convincing their leading lady to drop out of the adult industry. The Girl Next Door -- which, appropriately enough, shares its title with a 1999 documentary about adult film superstar Stacy Valentine -- also features Timothy Bottoms, Paul Dano, and Chris Marquette.

Review
The Girl Next Door is so full of clichés and just overloaded with cheesiness and yet, after all this I find it quite amusing. That isn't normal of me because I usually despise teeny bopper chick flicks (American Pie makes the cut among a few other classics) and surprisingly, this one makes it on top. Elisha Cuthbert exudes the eroticism and beauty of the character and yet, she didn't over do it, just the right mix. Emile Hirsch, a then unknown, equally shines as well.

As a huge fan of all that is John Hughes, it was no surprise to discover certain homages paid to its teen movie predecessors. Even in the score of the film there was the underlying beat of that Risky Business mood music (or something closely resembling it) in key scenes with Emile.

In a film that could have easily turned to garbage with boobs and butts galore, the filmmakers never forgot that what we were dealing with here, is simply two kids trying to be comfortable in their own skin. They discover a balance in each other and fall head over heels. And why wouldn't they? I can't remember the last time in any recent release where two characters were able to communicate so much through their facial expressions and eyes.

So what if the premise is far-fetched. We could all pick apart the logistics of such a scenario with its ridiculous improbabilities. However, the reason we all fork over our hard earned money at the box office or in rentals or in cable subscriptions is that we want to be entertained. This movie does just that and was in no way the predictable teen farce that Hollywood usually cranks out.
jagfire
jagfire

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2007
She's bomb
Lewis C

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2007
Sexy and funny.
Bobby H

Super Reviewer

June 14, 2007
I think they tried a little too hard at some points, but for the most part, it was pretty good.
CloudStrife84
CloudStrife84

Super Reviewer

June 4, 2007
Suprisingly good and even original in some ways. Would definitely recommend it.
Jose Z

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2007
this movie is funny and entertaining, nice plot and fine peformances from the cast.
Elisha Cuthbert is hot hot hot ¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2007
This is a great movie. It's really funny and slightly twisted.
Jennifer X

Super Reviewer

May 27, 2007
this is like a porno.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

May 13, 2007
Whooopps! Elisha Cuthbert looks very, very hot as a semi-retired female porn star, but too bad that's none of her real nudity scenes in this comedy film except her porn star friends.
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

May 12, 2007
Amazingly, I liked this one. Entertaining.
Page 1 of 566
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile