The Girl Next Door - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Girl Next Door Reviews

Page 2 of 567
½ April 10, 2016
This isn't one of the best high school comedies out there, but it's plenty entertaining. There are a lot of strong scenes, especially in the first half, between Danielle and Matthew. Some of the plot is pretty out there (like the whole filming of the movie during prom), but there are enough laughs to make it worthwhile. I kept trying to figure out who Eli (Chris Marquette) looked like, and finally near the end I realized he looks a lot like a young John Cusack. Look for Olivia Wilde in a very small role.
½ February 25, 2016
This is a really interesting take on a rom-com. I really enjoyed Elisha Cuthbert's portrayal of 'bad-girl-gone-good' finding her redemption in true love. It's a fun idea and Hirsch adds to the innocence. Quirky, interesting.
½ January 17, 2016
Once again this is a movie I like but the critics didn't like so much. The film is about this smart high school student whose life is turned upside down when he meets this very interesting neighbor next door. It's a mild raunchy type comedy that is never boring from beginning to end. The Girl Next Door is a fun watch! 3.5/5 OR 7/10
½ January 14, 2016
At first, this looks like a generic 'American Pie' rip-off. A bunch of horny nerds with a super hot girl. At the start, it feels like every other teen movie you've ever seen. But since the lead, Emilie Hirsch, is very likeable and his chemistry with Elisha Cuthbert is actually believable... A little bit. Then it goes on a turn that I've never seen in a teen movie. The characters enter the porn world when Elisha Cuthbert's character turns out to be a pornstar. The story goes in so many directions from there is pretty refreshing. A funny late night movie with a surprisingly heart-warming ending
August 24, 2008
Mas romantica de lo que pudiera parecer
½ November 12, 2015
I wished this girl lived next door.
October 10, 2015
It's so cutesy it's believable. Coupled with terrific performances and chemistry between its main cast, aswell as a haunting soundtrack "The Girl Next Door" gets a hall pass.
½ September 30, 2015
I loved this movie as a kid looking back I see its faults but the movie isn't all to bad
April 28, 2014
A mildly entertaining remake of risky business.
½ June 12, 2015
The Girl Next Door is a film that I just can't help but coming back to again and again. Essentially a modern telling of Risky Business meets John Hughes teen comedy sensibilities.

Look at the comparisons, Emile Hirsch's Matthew Kidman is the trope of the kid who is more nerd but is still good looking, is just like Tom Cruise's Joel.
Elisha Cuthbert's Danielle who turns out to be a porn star is similar to Rebecca De Mornay's prostitute. Timothy Olyphant's Kelly a porn movie producer is essentially similar to Joe Pantaliano's pimp. Similarly while Joel is trying to get into Princeton, Matthew is trying to get into Georgetown University by winning a scholarship by best expressing moral fibre. In Risky Business, Tom Cruise needs to make money fast to pay Joe Pantaliano and he ends up getting his friends together with DeMornay's and ends up making money which helps with a business class that he's taking. In this film, Matt needs to get money fast to replace money which was stolen to bring a Cambodian teen genius to the US.

The cast are very likeable relative newcomer Emile Hirsch in his first major lead role is just the right side of bland, Elisha Cuthbert who had just hit it big as Kim Bauer in 24 is just the right side of cool and sexy. Timothy Olyphant is clearly having fun as the porn producer. There are good supporting turns from Christopher Marquette and yes that is Paul Dano (There Will Be Blood). Also keep an eye out for a credited appearance by Olivia Wilde (just as pretty as a blonde as she is as a brunette).

Overall this is an amiable and enjoyable comedy, which contrasts well with other teen comedy of the year Mean Girls. Where as Mean Girls changed the field with it's focus on school life for girls and the politics of High School. The Girl Next Door as said already gave us a throwback to the 80s. I said at the start that it has John Hughes sensibilities because while it is risque, the riskiest it gets is breaking an entering and one scene of drug use and in particular the upbeat ending is very much the style of a John Hughes teen comedy.

This is a must watch for any up and coming directors who want to get into the teen/High School genre, this film deserves to be seen. It may be the noughties version of Risky Business but that doesn't make it any less of a satisfying and a well made film. That's my opinion, watch it and decide for yourself.
½ June 6, 2015
The first perks of falling inlove with a pornstar. The story has a good old school progress and twists.
June 1, 2015
This is an average comedy, but it's got a great line to live by, "Is the juice worth the squeeze?"
April 30, 2006
The best teen sex comedy since American Pie.
½ May 1, 2015
This film is a hour longer than it needs to be . old rom com recipe . Tired. going to bed
April 9, 2015
There were nudity and swearing, yet it was funny and suspenseful, and there was a good message in the story too. All in all, it was kinda cute and lots of exciting things happened.
Wouldn't recommend watching it with your grand/parents or young kids, but it is a fun film.
January 25, 2013
Another one that got on top during a long distance from high school time graduation, also can be viewed as the worth movie, that deserves to be seen again!!!
½ February 23, 2015
Um nerd acaba se apaixonando por sua vizinha maravilhosa que também gosta dele... porém o mesmo descobre que ela já foi porno, e está para regressar ao mercado após eles brigarem... o mesmo arruma uma baita confusão para tirar ela desta furada...
September 29, 2007
i want to see it just cos elisha cuthbert is in it, i miss her from 24
December 29, 2014
Not bad.. But not be seen around kids..
Page 2 of 567