Envy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Envy Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Annlee Ellingson
FilmStew.com
April 29, 2004
Barry Levinson, Jack Black and Ben Stiller owe us all a major a-poo-logy for this stinking pile of celluloid.
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
May 5, 2004
[A] comedy that lands with a deadening thud.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 30, 2004
The movie is funny, yes, but not really funny enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
April 28, 2004
Our primary companion on this trip is Ben Stiller's Tim Dingman, a character so annoying that I kept wishing he would be vapoorized.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
April 30, 2004
Far too much of it is unfunny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
April 29, 2004
It's a long, long time between chuckles.
| Original Score: C
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
It's a long, long time between chuckles.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
April 30, 2004
You start to wonder what would happen if someone sprayed some Vapoorizer on the screen.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
May 3, 2004
... one of the worst comedies I've ever seen.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 29, 2004
If Ben Stiller and Jack Black switched parts in Envy, it'd be more interesting. Not good, mind you, but more interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Austin O'Connor
Lowell Sun
April 30, 2004
...meanders and stumbles before arriving exactly where we expected.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
March 30, 2004
The license plate that reads "Caca King" in Barry Levinson's Envy nicley sums up this dreadful "money vs. friendship" comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
May 8, 2004
So much of what was taking place onscreen was so odd and so completely NOT funny that it became, in a way, interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Victoria Alexander
Movie Reviews in Croatian
April 30, 2004
Pity, not envy.
Full Review
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
May 10, 2004
The most disappointing release of the year so far.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
April 30, 2004
Even with a bevy of talented people and a funny premise, the stinky Envy quickly "Vapoorize"s into thin air
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 6, 2004
Stiller and Black have a few good moments scattered about more or less at random, and Walken once again has fun slumming in a role unworthy of him, but they and director Barry Levinson are unable to make sense of Adams' insane mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
May 3, 2004
The story repeatedly drifts away from the things which work and gets mired down in the things that just don't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
April 29, 2004
Colorless and flat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
March 5, 2007
With so many dubious elements at play, even the half-good ideas get lost in the shuffle.
John Lekich
Georgia Straight
August 21, 2004

ComingSoon.net
May 8, 2004
Page 1 of 6