• PG-13, 1 hr. 45 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Bille Woodruff
    In Theaters:
    Mar 30, 2005 Wide
    On DVD:
    Aug 23, 2005
  • MGM/UA

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Beauty Shop Reviews

Page 1 of 91
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

May 2, 2011
This movie was funny and really entertaining. I'm really liking Queen Latifah. Her attitude is just awesome.
Chris G

Super Reviewer

March 30, 2011
OK, so what's the plot? A hair stylist (Queen Latifah) walks out on her boss (Kevin Bacon). Boss doesn't think she'll make it. She makes it while stealing all of his customers in a comedic process. Meets hot guy (Dimon Hounsou). Boss tries to get revenge.

Yes, you have seen this movie before.

It has a few funny moments, some of them not intentional, but Beauty Shop really is your standard, predictable, recycled film. File this one under "Been there, done that".
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2010
D
KJ P

Super Reviewer

February 6, 2010
WEAK! WEAK! WEAK! Come on, you call this a good movie, it's total rip-off of the exactly same movie, barber shop!
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2007
One of my favorites. Kevin Spacey is so funny in this movie and Queen Latifah is great as usual.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

May 9, 2010
Gina (Queen Latifah) plays a sassy hairstylist whiz who feels under-appreciated by her arrogant racist boss, Jorge who wants to steal credit for her work. A single mother, she decides to open up her own beauty shop fulfilling her dreams in the process. Alicia Silverstone plays Lynn, a Georgia country girl who also happens to be a whiz at styling who goes along for the ride. Not a bad comedy and Queen Latifah is her usual witty fun self to watch.
Andrew F

Super Reviewer

March 6, 2007
It's weird that this movie was somewhat enjoyable. I wasn't expecting much.
Remi L

Super Reviewer

April 2, 2009
Had to watch it because it was about time someone did a film about black beauty shops
divinetrash
divinetrash

Super Reviewer

December 25, 2007
I've been forgetting to watch Near Dark and The Philadelphia Story for weeks, but I don't change the channel when this is on. Seriously, what the fuck?
Lee K

Super Reviewer

March 13, 2008
was ok laughed my ass off at bacon playing the competition
Erin C

Super Reviewer

January 7, 2008
Love her! She always has a happy, upbeat attitude in every movie. This one was no acception :)
Janice :

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2006
Very fun movie!
roxyprincess03
November 27, 2008
this movie is really funny. i watched it today. i love qween latifah! she is my favorite cover girl! LOL! if u havent seen this movie you should really see it. its really good! LOL!
February 8, 2008
Indulgently stereotyped, but hey, it's got Andie MacDowell and Djimon Hounsou. Interesting casting to say the least.
jeannetteg
September 16, 2008
I liked this movie. It reminded me of barbershop. This is definitly a chick flick. Gina opens her own beautyshop after being fed up with her bosses attitude.
firstamb
July 11, 2008
This awful spin-off to the Barbershop saga is just a dreadfully unfunny mess, for the sassy girl set. Queen Latifa gets her own movie, but it is not charming or funny, and just being sassy is not going to work, although it is closer to the standard overacting black American comedies that popped up around it since Barbershop.
StaisilD
May 31, 2008
After being pushed by Jorge one too many times, Gina buys a dilapidated beauty salon in southwest Atlanta and tries to make it on her own. She brings a sweet country bumpkin shampoo girl named Lynn (Alicia Silverstone, Clueless) with her from Jorge's, because she sees that Lynn has skills beyond shampooing. She also inherits some of the shop's previous stylists Miss Josephine (Alfre Woodard, St. Elsewhere), Paulette (Laura Hayes, The Queens of Comedy), and Chanel (Golden Brooks, Girlfriends) all of whom are chock-full of attitude. A few of Jorge's clients follow her as well, including a cheated-upon Southern belle (Andie MacDowell) and a shallow, vapid trophy blonde (Mena Suvari, American Beauty). For eye candy, there's also a handsome upstairs neighbor who's also a good electrician (Djimon Hounsou, Amistad), and a hunky truck driver-turned-braider (Omari Hardwick). Needless to say, Jorge doesn't cotton to Gina's plans to compete with him, and decides to take action. This film has everything sexy black women, sexy white women, sexy black men, a sexy white man, sass, attitude, Rudy, catfish, dirty dancing, one degree of Kevin Bacon. Beauty Shop is a light, fun story of adversity overcome with exuberant talent and persistence.
ejhomer2008
March 7, 2008
Ha this movie is like the movie that i can watch forever! I just have to see this movie but can't find my dvd!! haha needa watch it!
imboop56
January 14, 2008
Cute and funny and FUN. Altho I did NOT like Kevin Bacon's role in this - I am certain I will be watching it again.
Page 1 of 91
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile