Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Less amusing than a game of license plate bingo.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
It's a waste of time, and a horrendous attempt at family fodder.
Cole Smithey
April 19, 2009
With one of the most hackneyed expressions in children-based comedy movies "Are We There Yet?" fulfills every low expectation that its urban target audience will bring to their cinema chairs.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
March 24, 2007
This somewhat schizophrenic comedy may be expressing Cube's own ambivalence about parting ways with his NWA inner bad boy and embracing fatherhood and all of its virtuous authority figure dimensions.
Full Review
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
October 6, 2006
Are We There Yet? all too effectively conveys the claustrophobic horror of being shackled in a small space with two whiny, hateful children.
Peter T. Chattaway
Christianity Today
September 1, 2006
Are We There Yet? is more interested in crass humor than in creating remotely believable characters that we might actually care about.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Bill Clark
June 15, 2005
It's never too early to start that 'Worst of 2005' list, and Are We There Yet? is already a worthy contender.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
David Cornelius
May 24, 2005
Are We There Yet? is the perfect movie for your children, assuming you hate your children.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Michael Dequina
February 27, 2005
What does Brian Levant have against the stars of Boyz N the Hood? First Cuba Gooding Jr. in Snow Dogs, now Cube and Nia Long in one fell swoop.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 22, 2005
That we're supposed to find any of these characters appealing is just one of the mysteries posed by this so-called 'family' comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Matthew Turner
February 19, 2005
The problem is that, if anything, [Ice Cube] is too likeable - he's never allowed to really get angry with the kids, which severely hampers the comic potential of the premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
February 7, 2005
Several of my grand kids were with me at a recent screening and loved the film. Some critics have panned the film, citing the kids were too cruel. I disagree.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
February 3, 2005
The evolution of Ice Cube from 'AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted' to America's Most Cuddly continues.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Angela Baldassarre
January 31, 2005
Mean-spirited "family" comedy with inane script and lack of decent performances.**
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
January 29, 2005
It COULD have been something, but...
| Original Score: 0.5/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
January 28, 2005
None of the film's major events are very funny or interesting, but Cube manages a few delightfully funny and charming small moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
January 28, 2005
Someone should have stolen Ice Cube's car keys to keep him from making this road-movie road kill.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 28, 2005
Are We There Yet? is not a great film, but it'll do. Remember, you can do a lot worse this month.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
January 28, 2005
Ice Cube's torturous misadventures inspire a major laugh or two, but more often than not, the jokes are lame and cruel.
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
January 27, 2005
It's too early and too cynically easy to declare Are We There Yet? the worst film of 2005, but it's awfully tempting.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 7