Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
February 7, 2005
Several of my grand kids were with me at a recent screening and loved the film. Some critics have panned the film, citing the kids were too cruel. I disagree.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 28, 2005
Are We There Yet? is not a great film, but it'll do. Remember, you can do a lot worse this month.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
January 25, 2005
Somehow, 'Life ain't nothin' but diapers and minivans' just doesn't pack the same punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Palermo
Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
January 25, 2005
Are We There Yet? is a bumpy, often infuriating ride. But where else can you see Ice Cube wrestle a deer?
Full Review
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
January 25, 2005
Critics sniff at Ice Cube's movies, but they deliver just what his audiences want.
Paul Sherman
Boston Herald
January 23, 2005
The chemistry between Nick and the scheming kids has a definite flair.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Damon C. Williams
Philadelphia Daily News
January 21, 2005
Does a good job of capturing the aspect of child-parent and child-adult relationships. And although funny, the movie does touch on a few social issues.
Louis B. Hobson
Jam! Movies
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube is the best thing about the movie, but he has to work hard to overcome the inadequacies of this dreadful screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
James H. Burnett III
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
January 21, 2005
The road, it turns out, has a few detours along the way.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
January 21, 2005
Delivers on some pretty basic childhood fantasies -- chiefly, kids seeing themselves in control, and watching adults in comical pain. And it does it too quickly and competently for their grown-up chaperones to mind much.
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
January 21, 2005
Ice Cube is an essentially soft-screen presence despite the assumed belligerence of his shtick. His knotted scowl hides a mushy middle of basic human decency.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
January 20, 2005
The strength of Ice Cube's performance is his willingness to show vulnerability. When he says he doesn't like kids, he means it. But when he cares, you feel it.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 16, 2005
A silly comedy that provides plenty of laughs for those in the audience who are in the single digits or who can make like they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Less amusing than a game of license plate bingo.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
It's a waste of time, and a horrendous attempt at family fodder.
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 19, 2009
With one of the most hackneyed expressions in children-based comedy movies "Are We There Yet?" fulfills every low expectation that its urban target audience will bring to their cinema chairs.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
August 14, 2007
| Original Score: 2/4
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
March 24, 2007
This somewhat schizophrenic comedy may be expressing Cube's own ambivalence about parting ways with his NWA inner bad boy and embracing fatherhood and all of its virtuous authority figure dimensions.
Full Review
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
October 6, 2006
Are We There Yet? all too effectively conveys the claustrophobic horror of being shackled in a small space with two whiny, hateful children.
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006

Sydney Morning Herald
January 17, 2006

Boston Phoenix
January 24, 2005
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
January 23, 2005
Top Critic

AV Club
January 20, 2005
Page 1 of 7