Beach Red - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beach Red Reviews

Page 1 of 2
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2009
Time has not been kind to Beach Red. With one or two notable exceptions, this is 105 minutes of second rate actors playing soldier. I understand what Wilde was trying to accomplish but the endless flashbacks are tediously heavy handed and the film winds up looking contrived and unrealistic.
Super Reviewer
June 20, 2007
One of the best wars films I have seen made pre 90's. Has tons of action on a grand scale.
½ November 17, 2012
76%

"Keep your fat head down and you wont catch no spray."-Gunnery Sgt. Ben Honeywell (Rip Torn)

Mostly forgettable.
½ January 10, 2011
Between a 6/10 and 7/10, Beach Red is so naïve and so clumsy that it nearly falls apart in your hands, but its vision of war as hell has such innocent and soulful sincerity that it somehow never does.
½ May 12, 2007
5.5/10. As a war film, it's not too bad. Lots of action. The performances are fine. I didn't find it particularly convincing though, and the flashbacks to home life are ludicrous. These scenes have a comlete disregard for perid detail. They did not wear capri pants during Worl War II, nor did women wear 1960's hair styles.
½ October 19, 2014
Estreado apenas dois anos após "Naked Prey", o igualmente fabuloso "Beach Red" garante que Cornel Wilde, apesar do curto percurso enquanto realizador, incute nos seus filmes todas as marcas de um verdadeiro autor. Em "Beach Red", talvez até mais do que no seu antecessor, Wilde assume o filme por inteiro ao realizá-lo, produzi-lo, interpretá-lo e até escrevendo a canção folk que toca com os inesquecíveis créditos iniciais (que harmonizam as culturas norte-americana e japonesa numa só expressão). O facto de "Beach Red" ser um filme de guerra sensível aos receios das duas partes no conflito e com flashbacks algo vanguardistas faz dele um exemplo atípico e deslocado no seu tempo (daí que não apareça nos livros em letras grandes nem nada disso). Mas Coronel Wilde é tão credível a montar o cenário de guerra como depois a filosofar sobre o mesmo (através da voz da consciência do seu próprio personagem), e a verdade é que "The Thin Red Line" provavelmente não teria o mesmo peso existencial se não houvesse um "Beach Red" antes.
April 25, 2014
This movie had heaps of potential, just a pity the execution was so clumsy.

Very gritty and realistic war movie, especially for 1967. At that time war movies painted a very romanticized view of war. Here we get to see the horrors of it.

Not only that, but writer-director-actor Cornel Wilde tries to humanize the soldiers, showing them in more peaceful times, and their thoughts and motivations. Even more ambitiously, he attempts to do this for soldiers on both sides, American and Japanese.

However, there's intentions, and then there's deeds. The actual execution is very clumsy. The attempt to show the human side of the soldiers is mostly a failure. The daydream-bubble-like home sequences don't really give away much of the soldiers' characters. It's like watching several unconnected home movies, and very bland ones at that. Plus, Wilde does this so often and for so many soldiers you end up with (bland) information overload, and the interjections become irritating.

There is also an attempt to show nature as counterpoint to war, but this is half-heartedly done.

Performances are mostly pretty poor, and are another aspect that brings the movie down. Wilde is so-so in the lead role. Rip Torn gives probably the best performance of the movie, but still seems one-dimensional. Worst of the lot is Burr Debenning as Egan - incredibly irritating and unconvincing.

Terrence Malick would later successfully execute the ideas of daydream sequences to humanize soldiers and nature as counterpoint to war in "The Thin Red Line" (1998). You can see the influences of this movie in that production. That might be Beach Red's lasting legacy, and that only.
½ November 29, 2013
Friday, November 29, 2013

(1967) Beach Red
WAR

Co-written, produced, directed and starring Cornel Wilde who's actually done something like this before when a person is doing more than just being the star for there's also the exceptional movie "The Naked Prey". Out of many war movies, this one ranks as one of the best since, I as a viewer don't really care too much about sympathizing with the characters when I know for a fact that not all of them are expected to make it back so for a movie to use people's emotions feels wrong. Instead of sympathizing with the characters, this film dwells on what some of the soldiers are thinking about which includes some of the Japanese soldiers who also prefer to stay and hang around with loved ones. To those Japanese who're opposed about joining may end up getting themselves shot, but in the American soldiers case is pretty much the same where their patriotic obligations / duty comes ahead before spending time with family. The film uses many powerful still shots similar to the short 1962 film "La jetée" where the actions of others are much more powerful than showing the action straight up. The anti- war message is very evident here and the huge cast of extras makes the experience much more easier to appreciate.

3.5 out of 4 stars
March 31, 2013
Has plenty of operational mission action, but the real crux of the film is about the men's inner thoughts and memories and their overriding feeling of futility as they butcher each other on an island. This is well represented in a style unfamiliar at this time.
½ March 23, 2013
think this film was nuts sorry the worst war film i av every seen story wud av worked better with out the daft creepy flash back,s it was from 1967 glad i was on laptop
½ November 17, 2012
76%

"Keep your fat head down and you wont catch no spray."-Gunnery Sgt. Ben Honeywell (Rip Torn)

Mostly forgettable.
½ March 16, 2012
Give the director some credit for trying something new, but it didn't work at all. That is the 15 second flashbacks that are constantly interrupting the film and making it essentially unwatchable. I began to cringe everytime I sensed another one coming. Each seemed more unbearable than the last. It left me with some kind of post tramatic stress disorder that lasted approximately two days.
February 5, 2011
I imagine this film was a lot more hard hitting when it first came out. Although the film does not have the budget of "A Bridge Too Far" and is pretty corny at times, it does get credit for being a war film that's not a John Wayne-style glorification of war, but is willing to also show the very ugly aspects of war alongside the heroics. Films like "Saving Private Ryan" or the war films of Samuel Fuller did this much better, but this film is certainly one of the earlier films to to show the real horrors of war. However, the best part of the film is easily Rip Torn as the tough talking, tobacco chewin', gunnery sergeant who has some great lines, such as "That's what we're here for. To kill. The rest is all crap!". A must see viewing for Rip Torn fans!
½ January 10, 2011
Between a 6/10 and 7/10, Beach Red is so naïve and so clumsy that it nearly falls apart in your hands, but its vision of war as hell has such innocent and soulful sincerity that it somehow never does.
September 26, 2010
one of the strangest mainstream movies i've seen. there's something rather endearing though.
flixsterman
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2009
Time has not been kind to Beach Red. With one or two notable exceptions, this is 105 minutes of second rate actors playing soldier. I understand what Wilde was trying to accomplish but the endless flashbacks are tediously heavy handed and the film winds up looking contrived and unrealistic.
November 6, 2010
A poetic war film with an existential edge. Man are the explosions many!

During the midnight screening the numerous explosions kept the crowd well awake.
Page 1 of 2