Strangers with Candy Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 30, 2009
Jerri may be a freshman here, but Sedaris, grotesque and fearless, is already lowbrow homecoming queen
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
A bizarre mixture of streetwise raunch and starry-eyed ingenuousness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Felix Gonzalez Jr.
DVD Review
July 10, 2007
What separates Strangers with Candy from other high school comedies, or from most mainstream comedies in general, is the cast's total dedication to their parts.
March 9, 2007
There's nothing sweet about this very strange character, Jerri, but you still can't wait to see what outrageous thing she'll do next.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Alan Dale
Blogcritics.org
January 5, 2007
[R]eplicate[s] in a raunchy cartoon how the chaos of our experience correlates more than we may care to admit to the chaos of our personalities.
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
October 4, 2006
It roars along with reckless abandon, skewering everything in its path.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Betsy Bozdech
Hollywood.com
August 31, 2006
Amy Sedaris suits up as everyone's favorite former-prostitute/drug addict-turned-high school student in the long-awaited--and quite funny--big-screen version of the cult TV series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
August 7, 2006
A raunchy, subversive little satire about unlikely redemption.
Sean O'Connell
Charlotte Weekly
August 7, 2006
Walks a fine line of comedic self-awareness, and only on occasion loses us in a haze of condescending wit.
| Original Score: 3/4
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
August 6, 2006
Colbert steals scenes as Chuck Noblet . . . The cracked, sordid style of Strangers with Candy half-bewilders and half-appalls you into laughing.
John Thomason
Orlando Weekly
August 3, 2006
Like the classic comedies of Chaplin, Hawks and Woody Allen, Strangers With Candy is more than just a good subjective comedy -- it's a great objective film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
August 2, 2006
[T]here's demented, and then there's the plain sick and twisted tastlessness and hilarious audacity of this afterschool special gone horribly, wonderfully wrong.
Toddy Burton
Austin Chronicle
July 23, 2006
Fans of the show will rejoice and a few newbies will become converts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 21, 2006
I laughed my gluteus maximus off while watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
July 21, 2006
Audiences should find the film brilliant or repellent. At the most interesting moments, it's a bit of both.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
July 21, 2006
The highlight is Sedaris, unflinching as she throws herself into Jerri's clueless optimism.
| Original Score: 3/4
Ward Triplett III
Kansas City Star
July 14, 2006
We get Colbert, and we get Sedaris as Jerri Blank for just a little while longer. That's enough for us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
July 14, 2006
Everyone but the terminally tight should find themselves laughing. And all should be awestruck by star Amy Sedaris.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
July 14, 2006
If Steve Martin was right, and "comedy is not pretty," then Amy Sedaris' Jerri Blank must be the funniest character on the planet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
July 14, 2006
The school is like none you've seen on screen before. Mary Katherine Gallagher would 'love, love, LOVE!' it, as do I.
| Original Score: 3/4

Baltimore Sun
August 5, 2006
Page 1 of 5