Rent Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Kam Williams
Upstage Magazine
May 30, 2007
Recommended, but only for shut-ins who can't make it to a local live theater production of the play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
David Noh
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
Crafted with obvious care and deep love by director Chris Columbus and his team.
Clint Morris
Moviehole
January 3, 2006
Even more universally entertaining than "Chicago"....the performances are sensational..you'll be definitely humming some of its tunes in the car ride home
| Original Score: 3/5
December 23, 2005
Despite my frustration at the willful stupidity of some of the main characters, I had to just sit back and let all that beautiful singing wash over me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Brian Zoromski
IGN Movies
December 22, 2005
If you are a fan of the show, you will very likely enjoy the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sean O'Connell
Charlotte Weekly
December 15, 2005
What we're left with, in place of directorial pizzazz, is the sheer impact of the original show.
| Original Score: 3/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
December 14, 2005
Rent features an attractive cast, sharp lyrics, bright music and a storyline that has passed muster for over 100 years
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
December 14, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 8, 2005
If you feed them, beware. They won't leave you alone and they won't sit in your lap and purr, either.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
December 6, 2005
The material is real, and Columbus goes at it head-on, moving from dialogue to song and back again without awkwardness or apology.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Bullz-Eye.com
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
December 2, 2005
"Rent" is worth saving up for.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
December 2, 2005
Columbus has made his finest, most emotionally rich film yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
December 1, 2005
You may not leave the theater humming a happy tune, but if you're a fan of this musical, I'm sure you'll find it a treat.
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
December 1, 2005
'Rent' has so much going for it..a viable storyline, rich, likeable characters, and plenty of toe-tapping, snappy, memorable songs.
Gabe Leibowitz
Film and Felt
December 1, 2005
For those who dig Larson's vision, Rent is a wild, emotional rush through the cold streets and tattered bodies and souls, with gripping music to boot.
Full Review | Original Score: 68/100
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
November 30, 2005
Easy to like and even easier to hum.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
November 30, 2005
while I can admire the film for its efforts, Rent comes across as a somewhat lackluster performance when compared to the stage version that I so dearly love.
| Original Score: 3/4
November 29, 2005
Rent reminds me of the first Harry Potter in many ways, in that it's directed modestly well but without any flair or personality
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 29, 2005
The film captures the beautiful spirit and the raw energy of Larson's play, and it respects the wonderful, gorgeous, life-affirming music.
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
March 3, 2012
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
January 15, 2008
Top Critic
Ben Walters
Time Out
August 16, 2007
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
June 30, 2007
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
October 7, 2006
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006

BBC.com
April 11, 2006
Andrew Pulver
Guardian
April 8, 2006
Top Critic

AV Club
March 18, 2006

Sydney Morning Herald
March 3, 2006

Premiere Magazine
December 13, 2005
Scott A. Mantz
Entertainment Insiders
December 6, 2005

Deseret News, Salt Lake City
December 6, 2005

Boston Phoenix
December 6, 2005
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
December 6, 2005

Baltimore Sun
December 6, 2005
Page 1 of 10