Opening

97% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $43.9M
61% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
60% The Lottery: Season 1
91% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
91% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Funny Games Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk

For an audience that willingly hands over fistfuls of cash to see men and women savagely tortured in the name of entertainment, Funny Games U.S. is just the director giving the people what they want. Enjoy.

Full Review Source: TheShiznit.co.uk | Original Score: 4/5

October 14, 2012
Wally Hammond
Time Out Sydney

This new version adds nothing novel, but it lacks none of the original's bite.

Full Review Source: Time Out Sydney | Original Score: 5/6

September 12, 2008
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National

If you saw the original, the elements of suprise may be missing, but dread and suspense and nastiness are translated perfectly.

Full Review Source: MovieTime, ABC Radio National

September 12, 2008
Vicky Roach
Daily Telegraph (Australia)

We're left with the nasty taste of our own bloodlust long after the credits have rolled.

Full Review Source: Daily Telegraph (Australia) | Original Score: 4/5

September 12, 2008
Jake Wilson
The Age (Australia)

Registers more strongly than the original as a film about privileged white people...

Full Review Source: The Age (Australia) | Original Score: 3.5/5

September 12, 2008
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald

It's a tawdry kind of horror movie plot, given new meaning by Haneke's considerable intellect.

Full Review Source: Sydney Morning Herald | Original Score: 3.5/4

September 5, 2008
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)

I'm not at all sure that, in manipulating the audience to make his points, Haneke isn't as guilty of exploitation as the filmmakers and the films he's attacking here.

Full Review Source: At the Movies (Australia) | Original Score: 3/5

September 5, 2008
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine

The movie is unforgettable and will cause a reaction from you, whether you like it or not. Me? I liked it's sick, twisted sense of manipulating the audience

Full Review Source: Sin Magazine | Original Score: 3/4

June 18, 2008
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat

After several years of "torture porn" horror flicks, Funny Games sets the counter back to zero, reminding us that torture isn't fun, isn't stimulating, and isn't something we should be getting off on.

Full Review Source: Aisle Seat | Original Score: 3/4

June 9, 2008
Robert Davis
Paste Magazine

In Funny Games, Haneke seems content to ram his thumbs into our eyes and then ask us why we were foolish enough to get within arm's length of his gray, grizzled visage.

Full Review Source: Paste Magazine

June 9, 2008
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses

toso idio me to prototypo, poy aksizei na to deis mono an den to%u0384hes dei, i an theleis na to ksanadeis

Full Review Source: Movies for the Masses | Original Score: 3/5

May 6, 2008
Clint Morris
Moviehole

This is a piece of art. The direction is amazing, the performances are top-notch, and the pot-boiling pace is pitch-perfect.

April 19, 2008
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed

We want retribution, we want reparations, we want revenge, but Haneke refuses to submit to our pleas, because he's the storyteller, and he's the one playing the games...

Full Review Source: Cinema Crazed

April 14, 2008
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner

It's hard to imagine why anyone would want to subject themselves to the harrowing brutality of 'Funny Games,' but give German-born filmmaker Michael Haneke his due - his movie is shockingly effective.

| Original Score: 3/4

April 9, 2008
Wally Hammond
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's not a reassuring vision but that's not the name of Haneke's particular game.

Full Review Source: Time Out | Original Score: 5/6

April 6, 2008
Damon Wise
Empire Magazine

A stylish, darkly satirical horror-thriller, raising serious questions about Hollywood's sanitisation of violence.

Full Review Source: Empire Magazine | Original Score: 4/5

April 6, 2008
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com

At heart, Funny Games is about the totalitarianism of cinema itself.

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 5/5

April 3, 2008
James Rocchi
Cinematical

It's an intellectually and morally challenging film that'll still have you shouting at the screen and lurching in your seat with every jolt.

Full Review Source: Cinematical

March 26, 2008
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters

The movie assumes you know all this already and shows it to you anyway.

Full Review Source: PopMatters

March 21, 2008
Luke Y. Thompson
LYTRules.com

I do recommend the movie for those who like seriously hardcore suspense...The violence is absolutely uncomfortable, but I think that point could have been amply made without the violation of reality

Full Review Source: LYTRules.com

March 19, 2008
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile