The Thirst

The Thirst

——
  • R, 1 hr. 28 min.
  • Horror
  • Directed By:
    Jeremy Kasten
    In Theaters:
    May 15, 2007 Wide
    On DVD:
    May 15, 2007
  • Anchor Bay Entertainment

Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
89% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

45% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

—— Devious Maids: Season 2
50% Salem: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

38% Believe: Season 1
83% The Bletchley Circle: Season 2
—— Californication: Season 7
83% Call the Midwife: Season 3
61% Crisis: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% The Good Wife: Season 5
86% Mad Men: Season 7
—— The Mentalist: Season 6
—— Mr. Selfridge: Season 2
—— Nurse Jackie: Season 6
71% Once Upon a Time: Season 3
100% Shameless: Season 04
48% Turn: Season 1
100% Veep: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2
100% Orphan Black: Season 2

The Thirst Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2010
I'm torn between two and a half stars and three on this one, so I'm giving it 3 out of fairness.
it's not the worst film I ever saw, but it certainly does fall short. On the plus side, I liked Clare Kramer's Lisa, an interesting character, (and liked her as an actress on Buffy also). I'm not sure who plays her boyfriend, but he is also fine. The story between them and Lisa's death and return is quite good.
On the downside - the gore. This is a really quite gruesome film. I don't mind horror, but I really don't like blood and gore scenes made to be as disgusting as possible. Also a big downside - the vampire "family" - like a bunch of savages, and played as convincingly. Did not like or buy any of them, not even remotely convincing.
I could not honestly recommend it, but if it interests you, give it a go, you may enjoy it. It is not all bad, but the acting from the majority of the cast leaves a lot to be desired and it is not very nicely filmed either.
Adam M

Super Reviewer

April 30, 2012
So-so vampire film about a young woman who ends up not dying from cancer but instead gets bitten by a vamp much to the initial suprise of her boyfriend but he eventually gives in and gets turned into a vampire to and lives with a vampy family led by Jeremy Sisto who can't decide whether he wants to speak in an eastern European, English or American accent. One point he even sounds Irish! To be fair thats the only really shit thing about the film as the director uses some interesting shots and styles, the soundtrack is pretty cool and theres some gore to. Basically the girl and her boyfriend become addicted to blood and don't want to be but are told its forbidden and all that stuff. It wasn't as bleak as i thought it would be actually. I haven't worked out if thats a good thing or not. Not the best and most original vampire movie but not the worst either.
December 25, 2008
omg. seriously the worst film that I have seen this year, if not ever. was like a cross between soft core porn and overly excessive gore.

since when do vampires drool so much???

if it werent for the fact that it was incredibly boring and dead at work, I would have never even sat through this. at least it made me laugh a few times at its stupidity. for that, it gets one star.
Ken D

Super Reviewer

March 4, 2009
The bad editing and the camera work really took a pretty bad movie and made it worse. With the people that were actually involved in this movie, it should have looked better. As far as the cast, the acting in this was just as atrocious. Movie was too stupid to follow.
daniel9x
October 7, 2007
It was as good as can be expected with something of this obvious...quality (or lack there of, depending).
Darcsyde
September 1, 2007
I can't rate this piece of celluoid sewage and lower.
so pointless.
filled with bad lines, bad acting, bad effects, and a bad ending.
It was 90 mi nof my life (although it felt a helluva lot longer) I'll never get abck.
August 31, 2013
Cinematography: 5/10 Insufficient lighting, soft focus, grainy final presentation. There's a bit of jerkiness from the low light and cameras that cannot handle it.

Sound: 10/10 Rather good. Had several tracks that were witty and fitting.

Screenplay: 3/10 Poor. Fifteen minutes of story. The exposition of motivations was terrible.

Acting: 3/10 So many actors, so many bad performances. Jeremy Sisto disappointed as usual. Clare Kramer and Adam Baldwin were a bit of OK, but the rest I could have done without. The coming and going of various accents was a disappointment.

Special Effects: 0/10 Abysmal. The blood sprays and the bursting into flames are laughable.
John W.
April 17, 2012
I've seen worse...I'm sure I have...oh, wait
Syndicated
May 3, 2011
I felt no compassion for any of the characters. Even when the funneral happens in the begining it is not well shot so you feel nothing again. To entertain some the decide to have nudity every couple of minutes, some may like it but to me is just ackward. The film moves to fast and then says "what do we do now?" All there effect were unimpressing...
December 2, 2010
Characters that you feel no sympathy for turn into even less sympathetic or even interesting bloodsuckers. So bad, it's...well boring.
B-horror movie critic
June 2, 2010
This flub of a film was polluted with unneccessary nudity and sex. The special effects were terrible and the acting was so dry. no thanks...
Maddie A.
November 10, 2009
This movie is trying waaay to hard. The acting is laughable and the plot is no existent
Aerialgrrrl
September 19, 2009
Biggest disappointment! There's a host of Buffy/Angel alumni in this low budget flick which had some interesting ideas but just ends up being a joke. (But not a terribly funny one.) Don't be enticed by the tagline 'Requiem for a Dream' meets 'After Dark." If only someone would make THAT movie.
Page 1 of 5
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile