The Thirst - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thirst Reviews

Page 2 of 5
August 31, 2013
Cinematography: 5/10 Insufficient lighting, soft focus, grainy final presentation. There's a bit of jerkiness from the low light and cameras that cannot handle it.

Sound: 10/10 Rather good. Had several tracks that were witty and fitting.

Screenplay: 3/10 Poor. Fifteen minutes of story. The exposition of motivations was terrible.

Acting: 3/10 So many actors, so many bad performances. Jeremy Sisto disappointed as usual. Clare Kramer and Adam Baldwin were a bit of OK, but the rest I could have done without. The coming and going of various accents was a disappointment.

Special Effects: 0/10 Abysmal. The blood sprays and the bursting into flames are laughable.
March 10, 2013
OK, I rented it because of one word - Vampires, but I didn't even make it through the entire movie before putting the disc back into it's Netflix envelope to send back. The acting left much to be desired and the storyline wasn't very good either. This movie could have been done so much better.
December 6, 2011
to be honest I kinda liked this movie, it was a very bloody film I loved it, it was actually better than what I thought, it starred Adam Baldwin and Jeremy Sisto, I would love it on DVD, I loved it
May 18, 2012
i don't really know what to say about this movie it was awesome & werid!! a lot of gore & nudely!! & i got lost in the story in some parts & what up with the sakely camera??? is that to show their hunger or they don't know what going on??? it look like their where on some kind drug or something!! but i like this movie & i'm thinking of watching it agein & maybe i'll understand it more on my sec veiwing!!!
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2012
So-so vampire film about a young woman who ends up not dying from cancer but instead gets bitten by a vamp much to the initial suprise of her boyfriend but he eventually gives in and gets turned into a vampire to and lives with a vampy family led by Jeremy Sisto who can't decide whether he wants to speak in an eastern European, English or American accent. One point he even sounds Irish! To be fair thats the only really shit thing about the film as the director uses some interesting shots and styles, the soundtrack is pretty cool and theres some gore to. Basically the girl and her boyfriend become addicted to blood and don't want to be but are told its forbidden and all that stuff. It wasn't as bleak as i thought it would be actually. I haven't worked out if thats a good thing or not. Not the best and most original vampire movie but not the worst either.
½ April 17, 2012
I've seen worse...I'm sure I have...oh, wait
January 17, 2008
Gotta support ex-Firefly peeps.
½ February 7, 2012
Unlikeable characters, boring story.
January 8, 2012
When Lisa is diagnosed with the terminal cancer, she decides to take her own life, and her boyfriend discovers her dead in the bath tub. But he soon finds out that things are not always what they seem.

The story starts off with quite an arty feel, and then soon begins to borrow ideas from other 'vampire clan' movies, and then ends up in a whole good versus evil bloodbath. The cast all play their characters with glee, especially Clare Kramer who seems to have got mania down to a fine art. The direction is solid, but the use of red lighting in places makes things a little hard to make out and the sound can be a little muffled at times. The gore is frequent, bloody, and there are enough torn out veins and arteries to keep any horror fan happy. This is one of those vampire films that tries to have an epic storyline, but the limitations of the the budget just gets in the way. The story seems to want to get virtually every vampire cliche it possibly can in to one movie, and though it is fun to watch, it does have a habit of running a little wild in places. This would have just been all sorted out if the budget was a little bit bigger and the story was a little more tightly written.
May 3, 2011
I felt no compassion for any of the characters. Even when the funneral happens in the begining it is not well shot so you feel nothing again. To entertain some the decide to have nudity every couple of minutes, some may like it but to me is just ackward. The film moves to fast and then says "what do we do now?" All there effect were unimpressing...
½ December 2, 2010
Characters that you feel no sympathy for turn into even less sympathetic or even interesting bloodsuckers. So bad, it's...well boring.
August 26, 2010
Ironically enough I was either going to watch THIS movie or re-watch Severance (don't ask) and I thought this movie was a SHITLOAD funnier than Severance. Here's the thing, Severance is SUPPOSED to make you laugh and its attempts are doing so are amateurish at best, so the movie isn't really a very effective comedy (nor is it a very effective horror). This movie, on the other hand, isn't supposed to be a comedy (at least I don't think...) but it's absolutely fucking HILARIOUS. TMC on Demand is on quite a role with the awesomely terrible movies. Exit Speed and now this. This movie is just awesome, AWESOME I tell you. It's so horribly acted, so horribly shot, and the gore is so cheesy and corny, it's just something else to be completely honest. This movie's goodness relies completely on how bad it is. I really loved every minute of this goddamn movie. The movie NEVER takes itself too seriously, so that helps. The characters are so goofy and so absurd. Like Jeremy Sisto's character, I'm not exactly SURE what he was supposed to be or where he was supposed to be from but his accent seriously sounded like a mix of a southern man, man from England and a Russian dude. I don't know what the FUCK he was supposed to be, but it really helped with the comedy of this movie, as Jeremy Sisto was AWFUL in this goddamn movie, he clearly didn't give a shit. His accent also leads to the funniest line in the entire movie when he yells 'Now is not the time for fucking!' at these two crazy vampire chicks. I can't really do the line justice, because Jeremy's accent completely makes the line absolutely HILARIOUS. I laughed my ass off. AH and the aforementioned crazy chicks. These females were always fucking somebody (or trying to...hence Jeremy's GREAT line), so anyway these chicks were so absurd. They were always walking around like they were trying to scare someone. I mentioned that they looked like they were dancers from Michael Jackson's thriller music video. These 2 females greatly entertained me. And then there's the main character, he was such a fucking dork. I'm a fan of Adam Baldwin, but even HIS character wasn't the best part of the movie, the movie's just so absurd that I just laughed my ass off at all of it. And the gore, christ the gore and blood is so BAD in this movie. It looks so cheap. But that's what makes it so awesome, so it works. And THAT'S why I thought this movie was funnier than Severance. I ABSOLUTELY loved every moment I was watching this movie. But I can't help but stress that this movie is AWFUL, so don't go in expecting the next great horror movie, because you ain't getting it here. I had no problem with this movie, but it's not a movie I'd ever watch again because the movie's badness wouldn't be as charming the second time around.
Super Reviewer
June 2, 2010
I'm torn between two and a half stars and three on this one, so I'm giving it 3 out of fairness.
it's not the worst film I ever saw, but it certainly does fall short. On the plus side, I liked Clare Kramer's Lisa, an interesting character, (and liked her as an actress on Buffy also). I'm not sure who plays her boyfriend, but he is also fine. The story between them and Lisa's death and return is quite good.
On the downside - the gore. This is a really quite gruesome film. I don't mind horror, but I really don't like blood and gore scenes made to be as disgusting as possible. Also a big downside - the vampire "family" - like a bunch of savages, and played as convincingly. Did not like or buy any of them, not even remotely convincing.
I could not honestly recommend it, but if it interests you, give it a go, you may enjoy it. It is not all bad, but the acting from the majority of the cast leaves a lot to be desired and it is not very nicely filmed either.
½ June 2, 2010
This flub of a film was polluted with unneccessary nudity and sex. The special effects were terrible and the acting was so dry. no thanks...
½ November 10, 2009
This movie is trying waaay to hard. The acting is laughable and the plot is no existent
September 19, 2009
Biggest disappointment! There's a host of Buffy/Angel alumni in this low budget flick which had some interesting ideas but just ends up being a joke. (But not a terribly funny one.) Don't be enticed by the tagline 'Requiem for a Dream' meets 'After Dark." If only someone would make THAT movie.
December 25, 2008
omg. seriously the worst film that I have seen this year, if not ever. was like a cross between soft core porn and overly excessive gore.

since when do vampires drool so much???

if it werent for the fact that it was incredibly boring and dead at work, I would have never even sat through this. at least it made me laugh a few times at its stupidity. for that, it gets one star.
Super Reviewer
March 4, 2009
The bad editing and the camera work really took a pretty bad movie and made it worse. With the people that were actually involved in this movie, it should have looked better. As far as the cast, the acting in this was just as atrocious. Movie was too stupid to follow.
August 14, 2008
I thought it worked as a romantic movie. lol
Page 2 of 5