Police Beat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Police Beat Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
September 28, 2012
"Police Beat" is a slight but somewhat compelling slice of life movie with a little stream of consciousness thrown in for good measure. Z.(Pape Sidy Niang) is a recent immigrant from Senegal who works as a bicycle cop in Seattle while dreaming of owning an apartment building. While devoutly religious, he really has no faith in his girlfriend Rachel(Anna Oxygen) who has gone camping with her roommate Jeff(Elijah Geiger) because Z. hates camping. Instead, they have agreed to go lindy dancing, presumably when she gets back. Part of Z.'s concerns about his relationship with Rachel arise from what he witnesses on the job, a good deal of which involve misdemeanors of varying perversity.(As the epigraph says, they are based on true cases. Why am I not surprised?) Separately, they are no big deal. Together, they might form a disturbing pattern for an outsider, especially considering Z's partner Swan(Eric Breedlove) being involved with Mary(Sarah Harlett), a prostitute, while others might form a different opinion of Z. just based on the color of his skin or his uniform.
½ April 7, 2011
A stinker. If you can make it past the first 15 minutes you're a stronger man than I.
February 20, 2011
Amazingly compelling and remarkable sad. Beautifully done all around.
June 14, 2010
Great cinematography. Attempts to make Seattle both the objective accounts of the police reports it takes its story from, as well as the subjective playground for its protagonist. The problem is, there's not much more to it than that.
½ May 17, 2010
beautiful. i think if i had seen it before zoo, i would have gone crazy about it. but seeing after zoo, i can't help but feeling slightly underwhelmed.
½ July 11, 2009
Poetic, beautiful, disturbing.
½ July 5, 2009
Very good. Depicts Seattle and the human condition beautifully, tragically, unflinchingly.
January 23, 2009
It gets 2 stars for being a ''real" indie film. Another star for its creativity and subject matter source, and the 4th star is because it is Seattle.
½ January 14, 2009
This was a pretty distinct movie.
Cinematically, it's both a startling and sparse view of Seattle. The bike police officer aspect is both enlighting, because you can see the mundane aspect as well as the intimate. Apparently everyone of the encounters is a variation of something that has actually occured in Seattle.
The other aspect of the movie is how Z is trying to stay the course in his personal life, but the movie does a great job showing how a man's psyche can get all screwed up when it comes to insecurity in dating.

The pacing of the movie is slow, but I really enjoyed it otherwise.
½ August 28, 2008
Despite it's intriguing premise of following a guy around as he handles problems taken from actual police reports, it doesn't ring true for a minute. Bad supporting acting and bland photography further hinder the quest.
August 27, 2008
i love that all of the strange occurances he finds himself in are based on true happenings in seattle. it's quite interesting, but it's a bit slow. some really funny moments. character development of z is very good.
August 7, 2008
An amazing film about an African police officer dealing with his love for a woman who isnā??t around while trying to live his life in such a disgusting world. This is easily one of the best American films I have seen in years. The cinematography is absolutely perfect and incredibly gorgeous. The fell in love with the lead character and really cared for him due to a great script and subdued performance. This is independent filmmaking at its absolute best.
½ July 13, 2008
Incredibly good all along, but the end just didn't do it for me.
June 28, 2008
Loved Z, and had a personal interest in hearing so much Wolof, liked the slow pacing, but it didn't flow the way it should have, the way they wanted it to. Some very funny moments and a nice change from the formulaic.
June 19, 2008
Stunningly photographed, quietly disturbing mood piece.
November 24, 2007
Liked seeing the perspective from a bike-riding police officer. That moment where he smiles/ when he makes contact with his girlfriend, and hope is found, is brilliant!
½ March 4, 2008
Unusual and challenging. I want to like Robinson Devore as a filmmaker more than I actually do. (I have ZOO Tivo'ing soon.) Still, he's got a distinctive voice and it's fairly compelling to watch. The acting's a bit stilted, save for the central performance of Pape Sidy Niang, and his heartfelt voice-over holds the film together. Other pluses: simple but gorgeous Seattle photography (this is a very green film), and some haunting underscore. Minuses: Overreliance upon quirky/unexpected happenings, and, even at 80 minutes, a bit of a meandering storyline that peaks too often.
March 3, 2008
Soulful performance by non-pro Pape Sidy Niang as the bicycle-riding police officer Z, gives the film a poetic tone, but cumulative impact is diffused rather than enhanced by the fractured form.
February 1, 2008
Depressing and disturbing at times, but good.
Page 2 of 2