Opening

20% The Identical Sep 05
20% The Longest Week Sep 05
71% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
72% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.1M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.9M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.6M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.3M
37% The November Man $7.9M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $6.0M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.6M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Alvin and the Chipmunks Reviews

Page 1 of 1039
John M

Super Reviewer

December 30, 2009
I actually laughed a bit at this and my daughter simply adores it. the fact that i loved the chipmunks as a kid helps make me get thru the bad parts of this one.
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2013
A CGI-charm but a slacking curse. Alvin and the Chipmunks is a treat for kids but as a film does nothing but provided simplistic humor and cute spark. 2/5
KJ P

Super Reviewer

January 15, 2010
I didn't think I was going to like it as much as I did, but it was predictable! Alvin and the Chipmunks is cute, funny, and a fun family flick. It's not very original, but who cares, it's a harmless kids film that nobody should have a problem with, because it is just trying to be exactly what it is. The music is fun, the story is charming, the adult humour is still in there, and the conclusion does it's job well in trying to change the way children should think about pop stars, and how they are just regular people. All in All, I had loads of fun watching this funny kids flick!
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

February 28, 2011
Alvin and the Chipmunks could have been very promising but they just waste talent in order to make a cheesy kids movie, I do not recommend this film.
Directors Cat
Directors Cat

Super Reviewer

October 28, 2011
Just what you'd expect by looking at the poster. A stupid film with bad jokes for kids who know no better.
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

July 8, 2011
A cute, funny family comedy boosting the classic Chipmunks into live-action. I have seen it at least three times (once in theaters), and it still keeps the laughs going.
Matt G

Super Reviewer

January 22, 2011
I liked this quite a bit. I laughed plenty of times and found the story interesting and kept my attention for the whole film.
michael e.
michael e.

Super Reviewer

May 10, 2011
cute, funny, and entertaining plus very good singing and acting
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

July 17, 2010
It was both entertaining and corny. Jason Lee's acting was pretty lame. He looked just as animated as those chipmunks (but I do loved those chipmunks!). This movie wasn't that boring. I liked all the musics. Especially the one in the end How We Roll. I think most of the adults will find this ridiculously overrated. So yeah, a great movie for the kids and for the whole family to watch it (these days most of the movies seem like porn movies I tell you).
Movie Monster
Movie Monster

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2010
It made me smile and laugh a few times but overall it wasn't the best. I know that critics hated this film but this was highly overrated by the public.

I was shocked when this one the Kids' Choice Awards for Favorite Movie. Kids have no sense of movies and rather chose this over the other nominees:

-Transformers
-Pirates of the Carribean 3
-Are we Done Yet? (Still sucked but better than this!)

The sequel was much worse. Read my review below. To make matters worse, they're making a third entitled "Alvin an the Chipmunks 3D!!" Can people get any stupider??

Despite my negativity, its a good film to view as a family.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2010
C
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

December 24, 2007
brilliant who'd of thought little animated chipmonks would be so entertaining !
Funny cute and a really good movie!
Phil H

Super Reviewer

January 6, 2008
haha OK this ain't too bad, I thought it would be awful but its actually pretty close to its source material which is rare to be honest haha the cast all work well and aren't too annoying, actually lee is quite nice and you feel happy for him by the end.the chipmunks are very cgi and you can tell but they do look cute. The main worry was the voices haha I remember from the cartoon after awhile the voices were just soooo annoying, especially the female chipmunk, but its not too bad, I think they must have turned down the pitch haha anyway the story is pretty basic and cliched but kids will like it and as I said I enjoyed it too, dunno why. Why they have to resort to all this pop culture and rap crap for the music though is anyones guess, its terrible, the chipmunks are suppose to love rock n roll, maybe one mistake from the cartoon there.
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

December 19, 2007
When the box office figures for the US came in this weekend I was absolutely horrified! Sure I expected I Am Legend to do well, but the amount that Alvin and the Chipmunks got ($40+ million!) seemed absurd. Added to that the fact that it had earned more than Golden Compass did in its opening weekend just seemed ludicrous. The trailers I had seen seemed very mediocre and I wasn't looking forward to seeing it that much. So what a surprise, and a delightful one, to say how much I really enjoyed the movie. Sure its a kids movie through and through, and if you're not into talking animals then you will come out of this movie and criticise its plot, script and usual more adult things that critics criticise about. But if you go in willing to sit back and enjoy the movie you will realise there is a lot to enjoy. The three leads themselves, Alvin, Simon and Theodore if you've never seen the Chipmunks before, are all very likable and have some hilarious moments. The movie features consistent humour that ranges from fart jokes for kids, to some really subtle references, most notably one to Die Hard where for one moment I thought Alvin was going to complete his Yipee Kiyay moment and make the parents gasp in horror, he doesn't so don't get too excited. The script itself is pretty decent, there are the obligatory clunky sentimental bits, but generally the movie is consistent and full of laughs. It does outstay its welcome admittedly and feels that little bit too long, but these are mere quibbles as this is a movie that is bound to entertain many kids and adults alike, and the fact this did better than Golden Compass no longer frustrates me, as this is admittedly a much better movie than Golden Compass.

The three leads of the movies are CGI creations, they are also surprisingly voice by Justin Long (Alvin), Matthew Gray Gubler (Simon) and Jesse McCartney (Theodore), though you'd never know as obviously their voices have been morphed so they sound much more like the Chimpunks. Anyway their voices sound perfect, Theodore's being the most distinct and will make many audiences world wide sit their and go awww. Alvin is a great lead and has some brilliant moments. Simon is the most dull of the three but has some pretty funny moments as well. But its when the three start singing the movie just comes to life, the Chimpunks Christmas song definitely gave the older members of the audience to relish in, and their rendition of Funky Town is by far the highlight of the movie. The actual adult cast themselves are pretty decent. Jason Lee, from My Name is Earl, is a decent enough lead and at least does better than the adult actors in Garfield who seem almost asleep. When the sentimental stuff kicks in admittedly he does stumble a little bit, but generally Lee is on top form and definitely isn't always overshadowed by the chipmunks. David Cross does the traditional villain role pretty well, although he does start to irritate after a while and when he goes into pure evil mode later on in the film he just seems a bit silly. But by far the worst character in the movie has to be Claire, played by Cameron Richardson, she is out of place in this movie and the romance thing never plays off at all.

Where Alvin and the Chimpmunks succeeds where movies such as Garfield and Scooby Doo have failed is the fact it succeeds in the comedy department. Sure the movie has its nostalgia factor, but if it wasn't funny then the movie would be a disaster. Thankfully this is a very funny movie. The fart jokes are obviously aimed at kids, but thankfully there aren't that many of them, in fact when you compare this to something like Garfield you realise how well the scriptwriters have done keeping this to a minimum. Slapstick is obviously a big part but done very well and there are many set pieces that will please audiences. The songs as I have said are definitely the highlights and as I've said before the Funky Town rendition is just pitch perfect. There are many one liners to be found as well amongst amongst some of the clunkers that appear later on. The sentimental scenes also are not as horrific as some more recent family movies have been. In fact some of the scenes generally do warm your heart.

Overall Alvin and the Chimpunks is a surprisingly good movie that is definitely something parents should take their kids to see this Christmas. While maybe not as good as Enchanted this is definitely better than Golden Compass, and kids will lap this up.
Stuart B

Super Reviewer

October 8, 2009
sh**
Jason O

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2009
Surprisingly well done and entertaining!
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

December 18, 2007
While it is nice to see Jason Lee in something not related to Kevin Smith or My Name is Earl, this movie is just too cutsie, too derivative, and too formulaic and predictable for me to enjoy it.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

December 20, 2007
"Here comes trouble."

Alvin, Simon, and Theodore are back in director Tim Hill's computer-animation/live-action hybrid following the further adventures of the world's most adorable singing trio. Songwriter Dave Seville (Jason Lee) has been struggling to gain recognition in the music industry for some time, and despite the fact that his former college roommate (David Cross) is now a high-profile powerbroker at Jett Records, Dave still can't manage to get a break. Things soon start to look up, however, when Dave discovers three singing chipmunks hiding out in the branches of a Christmas tree in Jett Records' world headquarters. Realizing that these woodland crooners cold prove to be his ticket to the big time, Dave does his best to transform Alvin (Justin Long), Simon (Matthew Gray Gubler), and Theodore (Jesse McCartney) into the next great pop sensation. As adorable and talented as they may be, though, these bouncy little critters aren't quite domesticated just yet; they still have a wild streak in them a mile wide, and it isn't long before Dave's life, home, and career are in utter chaos. But staying mad at such lovable little creatures is next to impossible, no matter what kind of mischief they might get into.

Review
There are films that inspire and there are miserable attempts of folly. Alvin and the Chipmunks falls into the latter category. Here was an 80's series that had it all: snappy beats; great humour and fantastic stories. Take that perfect vision and translate it into a full-length feature film and your idea would look a little different than the gruel Tim Hill came up with. Perhaps he never saw the series? We have Dave, a lonely, bungling artist in a world that's hard on soft bachelors. One day he happens to meet a group of talking Chipmunks. It's that simple. These are no ordinary little animated characters however ? they sing and they talk. So our intrepid musician writes their songs and gives them shelter. The Chipmunks are a huge hit ? America loves them. But can Dave protect them from being exploited by ruthless, greedy men? I advise kids ? and only very young kids ? to see this with their parents. This is not a film worthy of being considered for adult or post-kindergarten entertainment.
Bobby H

Super Reviewer

November 22, 2008
This movie was pretty great.

The only complaint I have about this movie is how quick there relationships formed. On day one he wanted to throw them on the street and by night two he was becoming a father figure. Was not so convincing to me...

Considering though this is a childrens movie it was an interesting concept to bring Alvin and the Chipmunks to the screen nearly 50 years after there creation. The effects in the movie were good, the movie was funny, and even the songs were okay!

I liked it and would probably watch a sequal if they make another one.
arashxak
arashxak

Super Reviewer

September 12, 2008
Cute & fun but nothing special about it
Page 1 of 1039
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile