State's Evidence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

State's Evidence Reviews

Page 2 of 3
June 6, 2015
This film deserves less than nothing.
Super Reviewer
April 26, 2010
State's Evidence is a twisted, independent film, with a weird story, and an unbelievable ending. This film moves from one extreme to the other and really threw me for a curve, but the ending is so spectacular that it truly makes the whole movie worth while. Scott Byers (Douglas Smith) plays a young man who has decided to kill himself and if that wasn't bad enough he wants to do it on video for the world to see. Byers tells his friends of his plan and claims that once you know your fate, you are truly free to be yourself and do whatever your heart really desires. Not only does his group of introverted friends buy it hook, line, and sinker, but they ultimately decide to join him. The story eventually takes an ominous turn, when one of his friends darkest desires emerge, putting the whole group at serious risk. This film had a very low budget, so low in fact, that half of the film is shot by the actors themselves, on camcorder. It was a little stranger, but made for some interesting scenes. The cast is made up mostly of young actors who have little to no big screen experience, but you would never know it, because they were terrific. Movies like this can sometimes be a bit unpredictable and the solid performances given by the cast will really have you buying into ever emotion and situation their characters are feeling. Unfortunately, it's not all good news for State's Evidence, because while the beginning was intriguing and the ending was fantastic, the middle of the movie is very slow and seems to drag on, making it a challenge to even make it to the terrific ending. Most of this film chronicles a day in the life of a group of High School rejects and it most definitely has it moments. State's Evidence features a great young cast and an ending that will blow your mind, but parts of it drag on and the film felt a lot longer than it actually was and that's never a good sign.
½ December 4, 2007
This movie plot is refreshingly different, but the ending is very hard to watch.
Super Reviewer
May 9, 2012
AMAZING!!! Kris Lemche has made my top ten favorite actors from this role.
November 12, 2011
AMAZING!!! Kris Lemche has made my top ten favorite actors from this role.
½ December 19, 2010
So bad that all three flatmate found ourselves screaming at the characters
March 12, 2009
sick film but i totally understand the idea tht if u knew u were goin to die then u wudnt b afrad of gettin punished for ur actions........great actin bwt they make it seem so real
April 10, 2009
HOLY SHIT!!!...went into this flick thinking i was going to go along for some kind of ride but damn, this was a great FN ride. Pushing the boundaries, that's what seperates the indie from the mainstream and this def. did that. What starts off as a single person offing himself turns into a pact between friends when they have their own reasons for going along with it. Kris Lemche was def. the star of the movie, his change from normal to just a psycho blew my mind. In a weird way, without giving away the end, just shows that something that may seem as simple as suicide when you add other "elements' can foil/alter a simple plan
November 15, 2008
So messed up!! SO GOOD!! COULD NOT STOP WATCHING.
½ January 19, 2008
A very well done film,
Intriguing, complex, disturbing and yet very satisfying.
great performances, characters and story.
Ending is very heartbreaking.
December 7, 2007
Good movie, very interesting to watch!!
Super Reviewer
September 29, 2007
Interesting film and story, but gets way too preachy at times
Super Reviewer
½ September 22, 2007
a thinker is what this is. makes you think about such issues as the NRA, the ease of getting hold of a gun. actually makes me think back to mr moore and bowling for columbine. is it morre or mann? hmm, anyway, as the kid towards the end says "wake up america". the only problem isnt the guns. being at that age as pictured in this flick is more often than not a very hard experience to deal with and as we get older we adults seem to forget that. it's depressing and the acting is very well done. def don't watch this after you've been drinking whisky all night and feeling down. you'll end up topping yourself! overall though it is very good and not many people seem to have seen it. i imagine most saw the description on the back and thought "too depressing", but sometimes these kinda films do make you ponder over alot. i recommend this to people who arent depressed for obvious reasons. yeh, watch it if you've got over the teenage angst faze and are just bored an old. hmm, where'd i hear that line before? haha
August 24, 2007
this is a really messed up film,what makes this film so messed up is that this does happen in reallity and we do egnore
August 12, 2007
good movie. i would have liked it more under better circumstances
August 6, 2007
This is a dark and depressing look into the lives of high school students. The premise is a kid decides he is going to kill himself, but first he is going to film his last day on Earth. His friends decide to join in on the ?project?, against his wishes. Soon the film delves into each of their reasons for suicide, what they believe it will be like, and what living in a world without consequences will be. The characterizations are great, the acting wonderful, and overall this is a great film. The final act goes places some would find too dark, but still seem eerily possible. Definitely not a popcorn flick, but if you are looking for a dark look at the human condition, check this one out.
½ April 29, 2007
Startling and painfully believable story. Great acting by the young cast. Numerous unexpected turns in the plot kept me very interested. Tragic, poignant and well worth watching.
Page 2 of 3