Elegy Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 15, 2011
A proven favorite, the Horny Old Devil Professor - Ben Kingsley in Isabel Coixet's intelligent but weepy drama.
Brandon Judell
July 29, 2011
Your final affection for this literary treat of sorts is how well you accept the finale, which is touching, and intellectually potent, yet possibly one depressant too many.
Mike Scott
October 23, 2009
There are moments when the story sags, as it postures and revels in its own eloquence, but with strong performances and a moving final act, this is still a fine, thought-provoking film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
April 13, 2009
No se ubica entre lo mejor de la directora Isabel Coixet, pero es de todos modos una interesante y sensible reflexión sobre la soledad, el amor, el sexo y la madurez. Gran trabajo de Ben Kingsley.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
April 10, 2009
A film which stays and stays.
Jenni Dawes
FILMINK (Australia)
April 10, 2009
An intelligent tale of aging, beauty, love and loss.
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
April 10, 2009
Coixet has blunted the impact of the novel's ending just as she has softened Roth's misanthropic depiction of Kepesh and, as a result, she's taken flak for being over-polite. I didn't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
April 3, 2009
Ben Kingsley is extraordinary, but Penelope Cruz is just astounding as Consuela. It is really a beautiful film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
April 2, 2009
Beauty, obsession and longing are the central themes of this hypnotic but ultimately flawed drama in which Ben Kingsley's ageing college professor falls in lust with Penelope Cruz' stunning and vulnerable student.
Prairie Miller
March 14, 2009
Penelope's gullible college coed swoons when the lecherous lecturer played by Ben Kingsley confesses that he's fallen in love with her breasts. You've come a long way backwards, baby. Penelope Cruz Boob Fetish Blues.
Pete Croatto
February 19, 2009
runs out of ideas, and efforts to jog the proceedings can't get it back on track
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
November 10, 2008
With his fierce, impeccable craft Kingsley shows us around David's tortured, preening, desperate psyche.
Top Critic
Leslie Felperin
October 18, 2008
Sparse, low-budget drama, helmed by Spaniard Isabel Coixet, intelligently translates Roth's meditation on lust and mortality without soft-pedaling its narrator's brutally honest, unabashedly sexist views.
Top Critic
Ray Bennett
Hollywood Reporter
October 18, 2008
Penelope Cruz is outstanding in an otherwise lame male fantasy.
Rick Kisonak
Film Threat
October 16, 2008
Its tone and style, unfortunately, have little to do with the novella it adapts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Basham
Paste Magazine
October 13, 2008
A seemingly forced ending, keep Elegy from being more than a character vehicle for one of our greatest actors and an opportunity for some creative dialogue on the pitfalls of romance.
Pete Hammond
October 1, 2008
Finally, a film for grown ups.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
September 20, 2008
I could never warm up to any of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Michele Kenner
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
September 18, 2008
This is Kingsley's show from start to finish, as he wraps himself in Kepesh's mantle of singularity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Beverly Berning
September 5, 2008
... another Hollywood-delivered message declaring the ultimate rightness of romantic love between a 65-year-old man and a woman who is decades younger.
Page 1 of 6