How to Train Your Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Alex Zalben
Filmcritic.com
March 25, 2010
The problem with Dreamworks Animation's latest foray into soulless smirking anachronism isn't the training, or the dragons -- it's the How To part that kills it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
March 24, 2010
Honestly, it would take several more dimensions to craft something special out of this adequate but unremarkable animated tale.
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
March 26, 2010
The one interesting aspect of the movie, apart from the design, is that it puts so much effort into projecting a moral, such as it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
March 24, 2010
Embedded among the standard platitudes of parental tolerance and teens finding their own way, is the notion that we should try to understand our 'enemies' instead of engaging them in perpetual, passed-through-generations warfare.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
December 8, 2014
This is the best animated film since Coraline. It proves that adventure can be fun and still say something.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 26, 2013
It's a familiar story of friendship between man and beast, but it's also one that never grows old.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Andy Lea
Daily Star
December 8, 2014
Instead of relying on dizzying gimmicks, Dreamworks' new animated feature simply revels in the sheer heart-pumping pleasure of watching action unfold through those Buddy Holly-style glasses.
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
October 1, 2012
We may have seen such a story before, several times before actually, but somehow the creative team behind this film still manages to make it feel fresh, while keeping us engaged in its plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Adam Charles
Film School Rejects
December 8, 2014
Everything from the angle of the shot to the speed of the editing projects an end visual that feels like you're either on Toothless' back or you get an outsider perspective of just how fast he's flying.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Christine Champ
Film.com
May 6, 2011
It's a Harry Potter-meets-Avatar adventure that should delight most children and adults.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
April 4, 2011
The result is fun and thrilling, and plenty of snappy jokes and sight gags will keep audiences of all ages entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
November 19, 2013
Smartly dispensing with the usual hubbub of pop references that dot many of these films, the movie offers touching, quiet moments and imaginative, high-flying beauty. It's fantastically entertaining.
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2010
Each time I go to the movies, I'm dying to feel once again like my seven-year-old self; overcome with exhilaration. For a few brief, shining moments, How To Train Your Dragon was able to do that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
October 24, 2010
Snappy one-liners, interesting side characters and cracking action scenes - including a thrilling final battle - elevate this above its slightly corny premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrew Hedley
Flicks.co.nz
December 8, 2014
It looks very cool, especially in three dimensions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jane Haase
Liverpool Echo
April 2, 2010
How To Train Your Dragon has invention and emotion in abundance and will delight audiences of all ages with its lush visuals and smart script.
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
April 1, 2010
Is it breaking new ground, the way Pixar does? No, it's not quite that ambitious. It just wants to entertain for 98 minutes. I was wowed. That's what I was hoping for and that's what I got.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 24, 2010
It's more coming-of-age dramedy or "everything about your world view is wrong" message movie than it is a comedy. And that seems like a waste of a funny book, some very funny actors and some darned witty animation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
March 26, 2010
Full of wonder, charm and dragons not doubling as stand-up comics
Full Review | Original Score: B+
JimmyO
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
March 25, 2010
It respects its audience enough without sticking to cheap shots and bad jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Page 1 of 10