High School Musical 3: Senior Year Reviews

Page 1 of 7
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
February 20, 2009
...suffers from precisely the same sort of problems that plagued its two underwhelming predecessors...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
February 17, 2009
Like the burnouts who stick longer than their leather jackets warrant, the shtick has gotten stale.
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
February 15, 2009
Will certainly resonate with its targeted preteen demographic, as its principal cast has returned for a sequel appropriately enhanced for the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
February 13, 2009
A generous, upbeat film that provides lively, unthreatening entertainment for young viewers...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 20, 2009
I'm glad I didn't pay full price to see this, but it is not a bad way to pass some time in a bargain theater or a cheap movie rental.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Michael Dance
The Cinema Source
January 6, 2009
Mostly harmless.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
December 15, 2008
Regardless of whether Disney's G-rated phenomenon is your cup of tea, you have to admire this films boundless will to create fun, inspiring entertainment on a level second to none.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
December 10, 2008
High School Musical 3 overstays its welcome, stretching out about 20 minutes longer than it needs to, thanks chiefly to a final celebratory reel that simply refuses to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
December 8, 2008
A real, honest-to-goodness teen musical throwback, as if Andy Hardy had never died and James Dean had never lived.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Ruth Hessey
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
December 5, 2008
So sweet you'll leave the cinema with diabetes.
Vicky Roach
Daily Telegraph (Australia)
December 4, 2008
This is good, clean G-rated escapism delivered by fresh, talented young performers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Julian Shaw
FILMINK (Australia)
December 3, 2008
Trumping the first sequel, and approaching the quality of the original, High School Musical 3: Senior Year is a truly winning reprise.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
November 29, 2008
There's a likeable freshness about the entire production%u2026 I felt quite energised after watching this contagious, colourful and uplifting musical that merges fantasy and reality together with such zest that we suddenly feel the sky is the limit %u201
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
November 8, 2008
[A] moviegoing public that made "Beverly Hills Chihuahua" #1 at the box office two weeks in a row demands more, dammit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
November 7, 2008
The third installment in Disney's cash-cow musical series is a colorful and enthusiastic %u2013 if not especially intelligent %u2013 film that makes a successful transition to the big screen thanks to some terrific production numbers and the irresistible
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
November 2, 2008
Much of the credit for the movie's winsome genuineness should go to the charismatic Efron, who has filled-out nicely in the years since the franchise began.
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
November 2, 2008
No Disney movie has made me re-evaluate my life like this since D2: The Mighty Ducks. Perhaps HSM 3 is the perfect bookend to my teenage teamwork movie. At least this time I can look back and realize I have made the right choices.
Gary Brown
Houston Community Newspapers
November 1, 2008
That clicking sound in the background might have been my arthritic knees banging together in harmony to the songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
October 31, 2008
The popular Disney Channel series moves to the big screen for a full-fledged movie musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
October 30, 2008
A junior-musical, trapped in a vacuum of utterly self-aware earnestness . . . the vacuum-seal of a pre-packaged Disney product. Wish fulfillment%u2014-what tweeners want high school to be like--that also short-sells a retro American Dream.
Page 1 of 7