Me and Orson Welles - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Me and Orson Welles Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Nicolas Rapold
Film Comment Magazine
September 24, 2014
This deceptively modest movie is smartly not a curated compilation of Wellesiana, but rather a warmly observed look at the theater and those souls who live for the arts.
Jason Best
Movie Talk
August 1, 2012
The film's Welles is a mix of huckster and genius, thanks to an astonishing performance by little-known English actor Christian McKay, who captures his boundless self-confidence and energy. Director Richard Linklater gives his cast the chance to shine.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 3, 2011
A smart and charming backstage theater film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
September 25, 2010
Thanks to Linklater and McKay, we get a rendition of Welles that gives vital pulse to the man, the myth, the legend.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Giles Hardie
Sydney Morning Herald
August 8, 2010
Christian McKay delivers a stand out performance in two of the best escapist hours you'll experience this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Marc Fennell
Triple J
August 6, 2010
You're not going to have huge laughs or terrible sadness or excitement. It's a bittersweet love letter to thespians of old.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Tim Martain
The Mercury
August 5, 2010
Me and Orson Welles is a potentially wonderful film damaged by the presence of a lacklustre Zac Efron.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Anders Wotzke
Moviedex
July 30, 2010
McKay is magnificent [as Welles]. Not for a moment did I doubt that this was the man who went on to make Citizen Kane.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
July 30, 2010
The film is beautifully, factually detailed. There's much to love here.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
July 29, 2010
The sheer dynamism of Welles in full flight -- an exasperating, yet awe-inspiring figure around the clock -- is brought to life with an incredible performance by unknown British actor Christian McKay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Dent
Sunday Mail (Australia)
July 29, 2010
Me and Orson Welles has plenty to offer fans, be they of theatre, old movies, or High School Musical. If you can tick at least one of these boxes then you're in for a good time.
Rhiannon Sawyer
Concrete Playground
July 29, 2010
Though you may see the end coming somewhere towards the beginning, this is a highly enjoyable film with an excellent support cast, witty and fast-paced script and brilliant performances.
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
July 29, 2010
Me and Orson Welles, whilst slight, should appeal to stage and screen buffs.
Craig Mathieson
sbs.com.au
July 29, 2010
It's not as far from the small town '70s Texas of Dazed and Confused to backstage at the Mercury Theatre on opening night in 1937 as you might think.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 29, 2010
The legend which is Orson Welles and his passion for the theatre are beautifully portrayed in this breezy period drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
July 28, 2010
With its wonderful period details, strong performances and fascinating characters, Me and Orson Welles is an incredibly enjoyable film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Gavin Bond
Sunday Times (Australia)
July 27, 2010
Thanks to McKay's mesmerising performance, Me and Orson Welles also stands as a fitting tribute to the abundant talents of its larger-than-life title character, an icon of stage, radio and screen.
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz
July 22, 2010
McKay does a spectacular job of nailing the booming voice, quivering jowls, quick-tempered impatience and larger-than-life presence of Welles.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
July 22, 2010
Welles, wonderfully characterised by Christian McKay, is the centre of his universe, and he has no doubts about his genius..What the film does well is the effortless creative talent that drove Welles and the negative aspects of it..
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
July 22, 2010
A wonderful coming of age story, intricately set in the world of theatre, Me and Orson Welles is a seductive film about dreams and betrayal. There is much more than a career on stage at risk
Page 1 of 8