The Blind Side - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Blind Side Reviews

Page 2 of 1218
November 6, 2015
This film is about a young African American boy, Michael Oher, who gets abandoned from his drug-abused mother. Based upon a true story, Oher was left stranded and homeless until an American family took him in. With the help of that family, he got access to a roof over his head and a plate of food. From that point, that family changed his entire life. He got the chance to be enrolled in a private school which led him to playing on the high school football game. His new family helped him pursue the football career; getting a scholarship and being drafting in the NFL. Of course there were complications throughout the way such as being adopted into an American family, leaving the poverty community, meeting his grade requirements, and being drafted in the NFL. People doubted him because he was a random African American boy who came into the "rich" community. Towards the end of the film, there were investigators who began to question him and his new family and why they wanted him to become a football all-star at a particular college that the family had history with. In the end, Oher got what he wanted and made his decision without being pressured from others around him. This movie was more about the way people view two different communities with family, love, and support rather than actual sport itself.
½ November 5, 2015
I really enjoyed this movie! Sandra Bullock was a strong character and was able to execute it well throughout the entire film. She played the strong willed Leigh Ann Tuohy. Leigh Ann is married to Tim McGraw's character and they have two children. The Tuohy's live in a wealthy community and even own a multitude of Taco Bells. Michael Oher lives on the opposite side of the tracks. He grew up with a drug addict for a mother and has been living on friend's couches for years. Their world's collide and Michael eventually lives with the Tuohy's. They welcome him into their home despite the negative feedback from the community. Michael discovers his passion for football and gets numerous college football offers. The movie is a feel good movie and does a good job with keeping the plot moving with many tear jerking moments such as a crazy car accident with Michael and SJ the Tuohy's young son. Overall, "The Blind Side" is an excellent movie with a good true story and great actors. Thumbs up!
½ October 28, 2015
Therefore, I said Oscar is valuable no more.
½ October 25, 2015
Great story. The film could have proportioned its focus a little better though. There was too much football game shown and not enough emphasis on the psychological development of the main character.
½ December 24, 2009
091222: Kept waiting and waiting for this movie to take the predictable bad turn. You know, the one that always occurs before the happy ending. Well, it eventually happened but it was short and relatively painless. Nice. A positive message but one that seems to have lost its impact quickly. Still, a pleasant sitting. Loved the Ferdinand the Bull reference.
March 22, 2013
Very few movies are so absolutely devoid of any sort of moral ambiguity or character complexities as The Blind Side. When Bullock is onscreen, the movie becomes much more honest, funny and entertaining...otherwise, it's a completely cornball white-savior narrative.
September 6, 2015
The Blind Side is a good and uplifting movie.
April 18, 2014
A movie that's there to do what it's suppose to. Yep, it makes you feel good, makes you feel inspired, and makes you fall in love with all characters involved. The inspirational tale of a lost, homeless boy taking in by a loving family. Sandra Bullock is fully deserving of her accolades, including a hard earned Oscar. The story moves in a twisted fashion and delves into the past, residency and family of the lost Michael Oher. Need I say more? It's solid entertainment. Of course, there's a falling out, and an excess amount of drama, but in the end... isn't that what we all came to see.
½ August 14, 2015
An above average character study of Michael Oher and his journey into the NFL. Though, it's sports movie cliches weigh it down and make this Best Picture nominee a bit overrated, I do recommend it, though. 79/100
August 8, 2015
Sandra Bullock is fantastic. She shows real talent in this movie, and I give the movie five stars out of five stars. Well done Sandra.
November 22, 2009
I think Sandra Bullock should be nominated for her first Oscar but we all know that won't happen, but this is a very nice and sweet movie based on a true story of a white family who takes in a homeless African-American kid, who may or may not be the next big thing in football, it is a great story with some great acting and an even bigger heart. Well done.
July 7, 2014
The movie can be a lesson for many people around the globe failing to notice a widespread "blind side" hanging from the rotten underbelly of human civilization.
June 12, 2015
You can tell who the best actor is in this movie--Sandra Bullock is a goddamn professional. I also liked seeing all the cameos of the coaches (aided, of course, by my extensive knowledge of college football). All in all, you don't have to be a sports fan at all to enjoy this one.
May 17, 2015
Despite the fact it almost feels like 'Oscar bait,' it's strong performances make it sentimental and encouraging.
½ April 11, 2013
Oh, me and my decisions!

When I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. Similarly, when I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both of those decisions left a bad taste in my mouth.

Perhaps I will post a critique of papaya on some food review site (Rotten Kumquats?), but here I must review films.

Bullock plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, a plucky gun-wielding mom with a lot of spunk (remember what Lou Grant said about spunk?) One day, Leigh Anne notices a behemoth named Michael Oher (played well by Quinton Aaron) walking around shivering and homeless. She invites him to stay overnight in her upscale home.

Now, I don't know about most guys, but if some rich woman that looked like Sandra Bullock invited me to stay overnight in her home, I'd be there faster than a Viagra-laden Superman flying to his date with Lois Lane. However, after a few minutes of listening to Tuohy's junior-high psychology as well as enduring her general all-around annoying personality, I'd be out of there faster than Sarah Palin's ouster from a Mensa meeting.

Then there's Bullock's performance itself. I don't know if it suffered from the fact that she was portraying such an irritating person. I was hoping some hulk from the football team would mistake her for a blocking sled and... well, not really. But maybe the fact that the character got under my skin so much says something about Bullock's acting.

I doubt however that this is what was intended by all those involved in making this flick. But even discounting the annoying main character, John Lee Hancock's dull and tedious direction makes this movie hard to bear.

And, by the way, I'm still waiting for the first great football film to be made (the best of the bunch, Jerry McGuire and Heaven Can Wait, can only marginally be considered football films).

However, I wouldn't be surprised if someone has already made a movie about papaya that is more palatable than The Blind Side.
November 12, 2011
A really good sports drama about an unbelievable story. The story of Michael Oher's is well portrayed by the entire cast. A strong and touching movie, The Blind side should fill your heart with goodness after watching.
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2010
There is a vein of schmaltz, but there's an even bigger vein of feel-good.
May 16, 2015
Nice movie, composing nice story telling elements and a good characer development with nice acting.
March 26, 2015
An outstanding performance from Bullock in this inspirational feel good movie based on a true story. But there is also a lot of depth here too, especially in the first half involving Oher's past and the compassion shown to him by his adopted family. Brought a tear to my eye. AAN
½ March 4, 2014
Sweet, warm and touching, The Blind Side is one of those rare films that restores your faith in humanity's ability to care for one another. Boasting some delightful writing and strong performances, it is a beautiful display of the loving relationship between Michael Oher and Leigh Anne Tuohy.
Page 2 of 1218