The Blind Side Reviews

Page 2 of 1217
March 22, 2013
Very few movies are so absolutely devoid of any sort of moral ambiguity or character complexities as The Blind Side. When Bullock is onscreen, the movie becomes much more honest, funny and entertaining...otherwise, it's a completely cornball white-savior narrative.
September 6, 2015
The Blind Side is a good and uplifting movie.
April 18, 2014
A movie that's there to do what it's suppose to. Yep, it makes you feel good, makes you feel inspired, and makes you fall in love with all characters involved. The inspirational tale of a lost, homeless boy taking in by a loving family. Sandra Bullock is fully deserving of her accolades, including a hard earned Oscar. The story moves in a twisted fashion and delves into the past, residency and family of the lost Michael Oher. Need I say more? It's solid entertainment. Of course, there's a falling out, and an excess amount of drama, but in the end... isn't that what we all came to see.
½ August 14, 2015
An above average character study of Michael Oher and his journey into the NFL. Though, it's sports movie cliches weigh it down and make this Best Picture nominee a bit overrated, I do recommend it, though. 79/100
August 8, 2015
Sandra Bullock is fantastic. She shows real talent in this movie, and I give the movie five stars out of five stars. Well done Sandra.
November 22, 2009
I think Sandra Bullock should be nominated for her first Oscar but we all know that won't happen, but this is a very nice and sweet movie based on a true story of a white family who takes in a homeless African-American kid, who may or may not be the next big thing in football, it is a great story with some great acting and an even bigger heart. Well done.
July 7, 2014
The movie can be a lesson for many people around the globe failing to notice a widespread "blind side" hanging from the rotten underbelly of human civilization.
June 12, 2015
You can tell who the best actor is in this movie--Sandra Bullock is a goddamn professional. I also liked seeing all the cameos of the coaches (aided, of course, by my extensive knowledge of college football). All in all, you don't have to be a sports fan at all to enjoy this one.
May 17, 2015
Despite the fact it almost feels like 'Oscar bait,' it's strong performances make it sentimental and encouraging.
½ April 11, 2013
Oh, me and my decisions!

When I heard all the buzz about Sandra Bullock's performance in The Blind Side, I decided that I just had to rent the DVD. Similarly, when I heard all the buzz about papaya, I decided that I just had to try some. Both of those decisions left a bad taste in my mouth.

Perhaps I will post a critique of papaya on some food review site (Rotten Kumquats?), but here I must review films.

Bullock plays Leigh Anne Tuohy, a plucky gun-wielding mom with a lot of spunk (remember what Lou Grant said about spunk?) One day, Leigh Anne notices a behemoth named Michael Oher (played well by Quinton Aaron) walking around shivering and homeless. She invites him to stay overnight in her upscale home.

Now, I don't know about most guys, but if some rich woman that looked like Sandra Bullock invited me to stay overnight in her home, I'd be there faster than a Viagra-laden Superman flying to his date with Lois Lane. However, after a few minutes of listening to Tuohy's junior-high psychology as well as enduring her general all-around annoying personality, I'd be out of there faster than Sarah Palin's ouster from a Mensa meeting.

Then there's Bullock's performance itself. I don't know if it suffered from the fact that she was portraying such an irritating person. I was hoping some hulk from the football team would mistake her for a blocking sled and... well, not really. But maybe the fact that the character got under my skin so much says something about Bullock's acting.

I doubt however that this is what was intended by all those involved in making this flick. But even discounting the annoying main character, John Lee Hancock's dull and tedious direction makes this movie hard to bear.

And, by the way, I'm still waiting for the first great football film to be made (the best of the bunch, Jerry McGuire and Heaven Can Wait, can only marginally be considered football films).

However, I wouldn't be surprised if someone has already made a movie about papaya that is more palatable than The Blind Side.
November 12, 2011
A really good sports drama about an unbelievable story. The story of Michael Oher's is well portrayed by the entire cast. A strong and touching movie, The Blind side should fill your heart with goodness after watching.
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2010
There is a vein of schmaltz, but there's an even bigger vein of feel-good.
May 16, 2015
Nice movie, composing nice story telling elements and a good characer development with nice acting.
March 26, 2015
An outstanding performance from Bullock in this inspirational feel good movie based on a true story. But there is also a lot of depth here too, especially in the first half involving Oher's past and the compassion shown to him by his adopted family. Brought a tear to my eye. AAN
½ March 4, 2014
Sweet, warm and touching, The Blind Side is one of those rare films that restores your faith in humanity's ability to care for one another. Boasting some delightful writing and strong performances, it is a beautiful display of the loving relationship between Michael Oher and Leigh Anne Tuohy.
½ April 19, 2015
The Blind Side is nicely-acted and sweet, a little too sweet for my taste. It's a friendly movie that doesn't stop hugging you. It's just scene after scene of "Awwwww" and it frustrated me after a while. That doesn't mean I didn't enjoy it. I just wouldn't call it excellently-made.
November 29, 2009
Carino, ma certamente sarą pił apprezzato dagli appassionati di football americano che conoscono Michael Oher.
½ April 3, 2015
Whether you're watching it alone or with your family, The Blind Side is the perfect feel-good movie. The film is based on the true story of Michael Ohre's transformation from homeless to star athlete. Michael is taken in by the Touhy family and treated as one of them almost immediately. The film focuses on the relationships that characters develop, and how these relationships change the characters.
The character progression throughout the movie creates a sense of personality, allowing you to be empathetic towards them and therefore pull you more into the story. The variation of ages and personalities makes the film appealing to everyone in the family because it is easy to identify with one or multiple characters in The Blind Side. The movie portrays the struggles of this unusual family in a comedic yet touching way, leaving you feeling uplifted. The movie does a really great job of reflecting the feelings the real Touhy family experienced during the early days of Michael Ohre's football career and life as part of their family.
Watching the movie alone brings back the best feelings of growing up in a happy family, and makes you appreciate the things you had on an everyday basis that others were not fortunate enough to have. Aside from bringing back memories, the Touhy family is an inspiration through their love and compassion for Michael. Michael returns the feelings in his own subtle ways that prove how grateful he is to his family.
Watching this movie is guaranteed to uplift and inspire all ages. It is one of those movies you can watch anytime and still love the way it makes you feel. Overall, The Blind Side is a great movie that manages to evoke feelings that lead to laughing, crying, and everything in between.
½ March 31, 2015
Sandra Bullock is the best that this movie can offer. This is a story for the whole family, although heartbreaking at times fun by others, The Blind Side remains in the way with an ambitious proposal that definitely could have been better planned. In spite of all, is advisable. 7.5/10
½ November 14, 2009
What a great feel fuzzy all over family movie. The Blind Side is all about love, family and opening yourself up to change. The acting works well, the story and pace are great and that fact that it is based on real people just always makes you want to root for the characters that much more. All in all this movie is safe to show to families yet doesn't suck in anyway, and that will get it 5 stars in my book every time.
Page 2 of 1217