Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
41% If I Stay Aug 22
18% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
8% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
15% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
32% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
65% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
86% The Congress Aug 29
67% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

33% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Collector Reviews

Page 2 of 149
luccav78
July 15, 2014
An intricate and terrifying bloodfest-overall a decent film. Can't say I was very impressed, but this film's quality definitely surpasses the bland and mediocre premise of the Saw franchise.
Haravikk K.
July 12, 2014
This is a movie that has a somewhat interesting premise, but with generally poor execution.

The Collector supposedly tests his victims to decide which of them he will "collect", however the film displays very little evidence of this; the man and wife of the family being tormented are simply held in the basement and tortured, which reduces their home being filled with traps to nothing more than an over-engineered means of preventing escape, as the only people to actually fall foul of the traps are people that weren't expected to be there at all. There is no sense that The Collector has planned any of this, or is following any kind of pattern or ritual, which leaves him as little more than a silent slasher villain rather than any kind of true character, and while the fact that he collects people is hinted at, it is never elaborated upon in any meaningful way.

In the end this all results in a film that mostly just glorifies in its gore and trap design, reminiscent of the later Saw films (which coincidentally shared the same writers), but lacks the hook of Jigsaw's twisted sense of purpose. There are no real scares to be had, and limited suspense, leaving us a horror film that doesn't really work all that well on any level besides mindless viewing.

It does however have its moments, such as Arkin, the unfortunate would be thief, struggling between his own survival, and rescuing The Collector's victims whom he had come to rob himself. However, this doesn't make up for the wasted potential of a film that seems to have become little more than a means of introducing a trilogy. There were great opportunities for twists to add some substance, for example if The Collector knew all along what Arkin was planning, and that the house was in fact engineered to test him and not the unlucky family, but instead The Collector's haphazard brutality simply lurches around without any clearly realised plan, just like his film.
ElmosLively
June 14, 2014
Sadomasochistic horror dreck that makes you feel dirty that you've watched it. I can see why it's referred to as "Torture Porn"; this is a truly unnecessary movie. I should have known better when I read that it was written and directed by some of the guys involved in the "Saw" franchise.
June 11, 2014
(Collecting a terrible movie)
Terrible. Well, lets start at the beginning shall we, this film has nothing to offer than a confusing screenplay written by: Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan. It's gory, fake and ultimately it comes on way to strong. It's one that I can't even describe how bad it is. Supposedly this film is about a family that goes on a trip and a guy robs them, but there's a creeper in the house before him just waiting to kill. But when you watch this movie you'll see what I'm talking about. So this one doesn't do anyone any favors here. If I could, I would run Hollywood's film studios in a different way.
September 22, 2012
Interesting goretastic traps, but they have no purpose to the plot considering the idea is that the killer leaves a booby-trapped house to keep people out....but he's not expecting anyone. He basically gets in, tortures the family, THEN sets up hundreds of traps for no apparent purpose..hilarious! These writers are from the Saw and Feast franchises, so it's apparent that they only wrote this film to create horrific deaths, but skimped out big-time on plot. It's really dumb and you'll spend most of the time staring at the screen thinking, "Wha-what?"
April 17, 2014
Nothing amazing, but manages to balance all the violence fairly well, and since its pretty much what the movie aims for, while slightly leaving behind the subplot and other things (mainly for the second movie and ultimately the third one that will come out soon) . The Collector however offers enough thrills and violence for a horror fan whos looking for a fairly good watch, but beware that it wont be anything too new or varied.
March 15, 2014
An intense "cat and mouse game" between a collector and a thief. Butt-clenching tension leading up to quick, deliberate action make this movie great. The cinematography is also absolutely beautiful and each area has a new, unique look and feel to it. People who classify this movie as "torture porn" have no idea what they're talking about and should feel ashamed.
ken karlson
March 7, 2014
Critics really are so full of themselves! They go into a movie and instead of judging it for what it is they compare everything to movies with bigger budgets and clever scripts. Case in point the critiques of "The collector". I thought this movie was certainly as good as the Saw series films. Josh Stewart did a great job as the anti hero put in a bad position by loan sharks and then making the best of a very unexpected situation. This movie was filled with good performances, great lighting, inventive gore and isn't that what we came here for. If you want Forrest Gump, rent the movie. By all means if slasher porn is something that is entertaining to you, see the Collector. I for one am entertained by the special effects and great make-up it takes to keep my attention. This one surely did. Ken K.
Al S

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2014
One of the most insanely creepy and nerve-frying horror films I have ever seen. A stylish, terrifying and wickedly ingenious thriller. It unfolds with big scares and highly inventive new ways to die. The twisted film makers definitely out did themselves here with a film that grabs you and stays with you long after its over. It makes Saw look like an episode of Friends. Josh Stewart is terrific. A sadistically entertaining thrill-ride
February 24, 2014
For a b-grade movie, this actually gets ridiculous enough to start being enjoyable.
More of a popcorn flick.
The Tornado
February 22, 2014
Oh, yeah, it's really sick and gory. But, it's actually not as bad as I imagined. I feared for much worse. This movie had some really effective tense moments but looking at it as a whole, it still is bad.
February 21, 2014
apparently this was suppose to be a Saw sequel.... they missed out cause this is better than most the Saw sequels.
February 4, 2014
Plays like a Cat and mouse game of Five Finger Fillet.
January 9, 2014
Awful movie. The "hero" Stewart was alright but nothing was realistic, the characters were snobby or bitchy so I had no emotional connection to them, and the idea of a killer setting up Saw style traps in seconds is laughable.
December 18, 2013
It's funny when it's not trying to be, bad bad film
December 8, 2013
Quite an excellent little horror thriller.
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

November 25, 2013
Lots of gore. Lots of torture. Sick sick sick....but entertaining at the same time, if you like that kind of stuff. Really bad ending, though. UNTIL I saw The Collection. It is the sequel to this, and started THAT movie with a decent ending tie in. Hence, an extra half a star for their effort.
November 22, 2013
Hmm... Horror Porn...
November 21, 2013
So much fun to watch, if you can handle the sadistic ultra-violence. B-movie that is surprisingly clever.
November 16, 2013
I enjoyed this film, it reminded me of the 1st saw. The actor really played the collector well
Page 2 of 149
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile