12th Annual Visual Effects Society Awards Winners

by |

The 12th annual Visual Effects Society Awards were held on February 12 at a ceremony held at the Beverly Hilton, Los Angeles. The VES rewards outstanding visual effects artistry and innovation in film, animation, television, commercials and video games. The Visionary Award was presented to Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity), and the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to award-winning visual effects pioneer and innovator, John Dykstra. The evening also featured a posthumous tribute to effects pioneer Ray Harryhausen. Gravity took home six awards, winning in all but one category for which the film received nominations. Sweeping the animated category awards was Frozen, which went four-for-four. Here is a list of the films and television shows that won:

    Outstanding Animated Character in an Animated Feature Motion Picture

  • Bomba from Epic
  • Mary Katherine from Epic
  • Bringing the Snow Queen to Life from Frozen
  • Eep from The Croods