2012 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

2012 Reviews

Page 1 of 12
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
June 29, 2013
...seriously, how often do we want to escape into worlds that are hell-bent on ravaging our sense of security with invading aliens and furious natural disasters?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
You cannot say, in the terms of the life and career that Emmerich has built for himself, this is not the apex of his work. The world blows up. The world blows up a lot. The world blows up fantastically. There are worst quests in life.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
September 29, 2012
Emmerich favours hoisting his camera high and dry to give audiences the best panoramic view, but it removes all tension from proceedings - you're always at a safe distance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
September 30, 2011
Two and a half hours of heaving and cleaving and crashing and crunching.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Cusack, with his one-of-the-guys face and his nice way with child actors, does creditable work as an Average American Dad trying to put things right.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
May 6, 2011
2012 is the rare case of a bad film that I'm nevertheless obliged to recommend you see.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Most of all, I liked the airlifting of giraffes to ark safety via helicopter and the bizarrely unreasonable cheeriness of the beleaguered survivors who all but shout "hip-hip-hooray" after billions of other Earth citizens lose their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 3, 2011
Over the top scenes of destruction aside 2012 is generally unimaginative in every way, from conception to execution. It's not particularly bad, but never has the end of the world seemed so quaint.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
September 28, 2010
At points, 2012 was tedious enough to make us feel like we were in the theater until 2012
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
August 20, 2010
A headache inducing mess of apocalyptic proportions, 2012 is a woeful greatest hits package of disaster film clichés, mixed with shallow social commentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
August 9, 2010
In line with the U.S.-centric heartbeat of 2012, most other nationalities, particularly the Russians, are viewed as imbeciles and/or mere extensions of crude stereotypes - clever Indians, honourable Chinese, stylish Italians, and so on.
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
July 8, 2010
You don't have to say more than "it's a Roland Emmerich film" to get the full brunt of the quality of the production. Great visuals, but weak dialogue and scenarios.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
June 2, 2010
It's cinematic waterboarding and there was more than one occasion during the film when I was convinced it was never going to end.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Sam Bathe
Fan The Fire
April 15, 2010
I can't claim to have seen every terrible film in cinematic history, but in my fairly extensive watchography, 2012 is certainly in the top 5 worst ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Annlee Ellingson
Moving Pictures Magazine
March 25, 2010
Action-packed entertainment builds around efforts, not to prevent the destruction of the planet, but to plan for the continuation of the human race.
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
March 25, 2010
It's the end of the world as we know it%u2026 again! But hand it to Roland Emmerich, an old hand at cinematic Armageddon, for making the apocalypse such an entertaining ride.
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
March 15, 2010
The strongest thing about this movie is the "this I have to see" factor. If only the story had the same kind of groove going as the effects.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
March 4, 2010
Berlin Alexanderplatz feels like a Saturday afternoon matinee compared to this.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
March 2, 2010
Even though the extras [on the DVD] are chock-a-block, they are still for a bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
February 8, 2010
The end of the world movie to end 'em all, it turns out to be a sort of cross between the sci-fi camptacular When Worlds Collide and every previous Emmerich movie. Guilty pleasures galore.
Page 1 of 12