Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
71% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

40 Days and 40 Nights Reviews

Page 1 of 417
Eric A

Super Reviewer

August 1, 2011
Romantic comedy with really dry humor.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

March 28, 2007
Michael Lehman's "40 Days and 40 Nights" is a surprisingly funny, smart, edgy romantic comedy with an amazing sweetness to it. This is a feat given some of the graphic dialog, and outrageous sight gags. Credit the star power of Josh Hartnett, the skillful direction of Michael Lehman, and a brisk and "in your face" screenplay by Rob Perez. The movie intends to offend, and we give it permission to do so-- the effect is a fun time at the movies.

Josh Hartnett plays young Dot Commer, Matt, who is suffering since his break up 6 months ago from Nicole (a viciously good Vinessa Shaw). Matt has visions of a Black Hole fissuring from the ceiling whenever he is having sex with women which is very often-- poor guy. Matt confides in his brother, John (Adam Trese), a priest completing his probationary period. John is not the tower of strength and inspiration that Matt is looking for. Then by design, divine intervention, or sheer insanity, Matt chooses abstinence for 40 days and nights until Lent. And this is extreme-- no fondling and... no masturbation. No one believes Matt will last 40 days, much less a week. Among the faithless is Matt's roommate, Ryan (Paulo Costanzo), who betrays Matt confidence and tells his co-workers at Matt's Internet company. They start a pool on a website predicting Matt's demise. In the meantime, Matt pursues a relationship with a great girl, Erica (a beautiful Shannyn Sossamon), who he met at the local laundromat. Also by design it just happens that Erica has a history of dating weirdos, and she works for Cyber Nanny, a company that safeguards against porn-sites. Matt also finds out that Nicole is back from Europe and now engaged, and she will not let him forget this. What makes the movie special is that Matt really falls in love with Erica without sleeping with her, and that he remains abstinent, because he said so... This is refreshing. Josh Hartnett is great here. His Matt is a good-looking, charming guy who makes an insane choice and lives with it. Hartnett also comes across as empathetic, as a man thrust in an almost impossible situation where everyone is betting on his failure. He has a quiet strength about him, is very funny, and totally believable. Shannyn Sossamon is stunning-- you can see why Matt falls for her. And when she wonders if Matt is gay, this is hilarious. Sossamon's Erica is smart and compassionate with great humanity. Playing a woman wondering why the guy she is attracted to doesn't want to have sex with her is not an easy role... or natural.

The humor in "40 Days" is raw, though enjoy the ride. Afterall it is a romance, managed well by Lehman, Harnett, and Sossamon. And we don't mind being offended as long as it is done smartly with style, and that we are ultimately touched.
Alexander W

Super Reviewer

December 3, 2009
I enjoyed the orginality of the film, its your post "teen flick" romance located in New York city which itself is interesting, I just wish they used more local areas of NYC instead of the flats (homes). It wasn't so much a comedy but a "feel good" flick.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2009
Funny at times but really a crappy movie to see only when there's nothing else to do and that's really hard to find these days...

Nicole broke up with Matt months ago and is now engaged to someone else. He's very good-looking and has no trouble finding other lovers, but that doesn't help because he's still obsessed with wanting her back. Then he gets the inspiration that swearing off sex for Lent (all forms of sexual activity, even kissing or masturbation) will give him the perspective he needs. So of course a few days later he meets a woman and they fall in love. Now Matt sees his vow as a personal matter, and won't even tell her about it, but his friends think otherwise, and now the complications begin...
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

June 5, 2009
40 days without sex? have u ever heard of virgins. theyre not complaining... wait yea they are.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 24, 2009
A wank film about someone who can?t have a wank!
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

August 9, 2006
Would a guy his age really go all the way through Lent without any form of sex? Come on...
Dean !

Super Reviewer

July 1, 2007
A funny comedy as a boy gives up all forms of sexual activity for Lent. Will he last, especially after meeting a great girl. Not to mention his colleagues taking bets, trying their best for him to fail.
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

May 19, 2007
I liked this movie. Its worth a try.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

May 6, 2007
a poor excuse for a movie plot. Who in this world really has that hard of a time going for 40 days without sex? in the real world this happens to most people all the time, and they don't end up sweating in a hallucinagenic craze over it.
Megan S

Super Reviewer

February 12, 2007
I'm not sure if Erin will ever get over losing a good parking spot so we could go and see this movie...at least it was free. Another movie that was marketed wrong. I thought it was going to be a cute chick flick but instead it was a raunchy sex comedy that wasn't really funny and didn't have any shots of josh harnett's ass.
Jose Z

Super Reviewer

October 28, 2006
I like it, the acting of Josh Harnett is very good, its a very original and intelligent story
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

October 16, 2006
Really great hilarous comedy film by being desperate on 'sex' after 40 days would be over.
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

May 23, 2006
Not as good as I predicted before...
stevetheman1236
stevetheman1236

Super Reviewer

August 15, 2011
The Hartnett character is funny, as is the script, and despite all of the gratuitous sexual content and puns, the film turns out being pretty charming.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

September 27, 2010
After Matt (Josh Hartnett) gets unceremoniously dumped by his girlfriend Nicole (Vinessa Shaw) he starts to have sex with every girl possible just to forget about her. But Matt soon tires of his empty, sex-filled life. He decides to give up all things sexual for Lent (as penitence) which includes giving up sex, fondling, kissing and even self gratification. Seems easy, right? Oh, wait! I forgot! Josh Hartnett is a guy! It's kind of ironic because Josh is a cutie that all the girls love, and you can't imagine a good looking guy like him would make a vow like that.

As irony would have it, he runs into an awesome girl Erica (Shannyn Sossamon) at the local Laundromat but Matt's vow of abstinence is posted on an Internet site by his co-workers who make a bet that he can't stay true to his promise and now there is a large pool of money gathering for which day Matt will break the vow. Some of the more interesting points are in his not being able to be intimate with Erica and the temptations of his female coworkers. (Look out for the copy-machine girl)

This movie is not for everyone, of course, if you're the type of person who's afraid his/her I.Q points will drop drastically when watching this, avoid avoid avoid! But for those who like wit mixed in with their humor, then this might be your cup of tea. Just sit back and enjoy the ride. I know I did.
Joseph E

Super Reviewer

April 10, 2007
"A Romantic-Comedy in which it suprisingly has alot of comedy, yet just the right amount of that really gushy Romantic qualities that make it an almost unknowingly awesome film"

This is a film fueled by likeable leads, and the most lively performances. 40 Days and 40 Nights is an adult romantic-comedy, that certianly has alot of adult themes. Yet, what is also has it brains. they took the comedy part, and equally equated the romance part into it to make this a really good film in which it isn't all lame sex-jokes, but also is romantic, and sweet, yet doesn't rely on all the romance filled nonsense that causes a tear-jerking feeling(or a vomit-inducing coma for all the guys who will be watching such a film).

So, I would consider this is really good film, and one I definately will remember for years to come. even if we lose our sense of humor, or compassion for the wonderful thing we call love.

True Rating : For me, let's just say, NC-17. Enough said.
Nicolas K

Super Reviewer

December 12, 2007
Shannyn is worth a watch...
Andrew F

Super Reviewer

June 15, 2007
It was okay. I don't remember anything that was laugh out loud funny.
Stephen E

Super Reviewer

November 29, 2011
The Hartnett character is funny, as is the script, and despite all of the gratuitous sexual content and puns, the film turns out being pretty charming.
Page 1 of 417
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile